We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin)
Trebbiner Str. 9, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
49 30 / 90 254-0
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$98*
and up
Ranked #23 of 404 Attractions in Berlin
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The museum presents a broad spectrum of old and new technology. Permanent exhibits include rail transport, navigation, writing and printing, aerospace, film technology, telecommunications, textile and road traffic.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A heaven for technology enthusiasts, this place has an inventory of some 50+ real, full size airplanes and trains which make you wonder how the hell they managed to put them all together in this place. Trains section is remarkable with authentic 150+ years exhibits at place. real size aircrafts are also shown, including Messerschmitt, Junkers and an amazing Douglas C-47 Skytrain hung up at the top of the building. In addition, there is a never ending collection of Photography articles which goes back to early 1900s. you need at least 2 days to really discover the thousands of items this fine place has to offer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    167
    50
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Technical Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent display of railroad equipment from the very first in 1832 to the latest. Also houses communications equipment. They provided a wheel chair for me. The restaurant in the museum lobby is good, serving traditional German food, but watch out for the bio-potato salad, which is not at all traditional. The railroad display areas are housed in semicircular roundhouse settings which were dark on the rainy day we were there. Remnants of the pre-war Anhalt station are incorporated into the Museum's construction and displays.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited the Museum for Science and Technology in Chicago last year and were very curios about this museum in Berlin. The museum is located in a pretty weird part of the down, behind railway tracks. But it was a nice atmosphere. I was a little disappointed in the size of the museum, since the one in Chicago kept us busy for almost an entire day, I guess I expected the same from this museum, although this was not the case, we spent around 3 hours in the museum, it was time very well spent. The vintage car exhibition was really nice!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK, not the best technical museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was interesting to wander through here, but certainly not the best technical museum we've been to. Not enough hands on stuff for the kids. Also, it seemed to be just a big collection of items, a little hard to follow.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect for adults and kids alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Such a great range of exhibits - cars, trains, chemistry, beer brewing, photography, suitcase making, etc. I wish two things - that I'd allowed more than two hours to check it out, and that I'd gotten the English audio tour. Roughly two-thirds of the exhibits are signed in German and English both, but I'd have loved to get full benefit of the remaining third. Still, a totally worthwhile trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin) also viewed

 

Been to German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.