We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Even Greater Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Axel-Springer-Strasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #106 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Even Greater Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently returned from our 30th wedding anniversary trip to Berlin where we stayed at the Courtyard in downtown Berlin. The hotel lobby, restaurant and our room (we had a junior suite) were very attractive and were maintained with meticulous care. Even better than the hotel however was the service we received.

The hotel General Manager, Jan Mul, welcomed us personally on arrival and could not have been more cordial and accommodating. He even stopped by our dinner table twice, during our one week stay, to chat with us about Berlin. He shared with us a number of personal observations about what to see and how to best get around the city.

We have traveled all over Europe over the past three decades, staying in numerous upscale hotels and apartments. Jan and his staff were the best we had ever encountered. From Kosta, Sandra, Katrin and Verena in the restaurant to Maureen and Kristy at the front desk, every employee we met shared Jan's positive "can do" attitude towards customer care.

Remarkable hotel and staff. No wonder Marriot's rates this a 5 star property. Thanks Jan and thanks again to your staff. Paul and Patricia

Room Tip: Upgraded to a Junior Suite if possible--it is worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    354
    77
    10
    6
See reviews for
90
242
63
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for 3 nights in September. We arrived early and our rooms weren't ready but there was no problem leaving our luggage and going out for awhile. We we arrived back I figured it was still too early to get our rooms so I didnt' even check. a couple of minutes later someone came up to us in the lobby to say that we can have our rooms (at 12 noon). Our room was fine and the complimentary bottle of water was a nice touch. My only complaint is about having to go to the lobby for WiFi and having to ask for extra shampoo and soap. I never understand why when the room is ordered for 2 people there is only one set of soap and shampoo! Also what was missing was body lotions - all of the other Mariotts that I've been to had them. I didn't bring with me being certain i would find in the room - no major problem - went to a drugstore and bought. the hotel was in walking distance to quite a few good restaurants - one of them being Augustiner am Gedarmenmarkt (see separate review).
Have no major complaints and would probably stay here again. we had breakfast included and there was enough choice to make it worthwhile. What they don't tell you is that if you ask for special coffee (cappucino) they make it for you gladly - if not they bring the regular coffee to the table (not hot enough for me).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything worked fine - hotel could be anywhere in the world, its a bit like McDonalds, its pretty much standardized so you dont have to worry about any surprises This practice of renting only a room without breakfast and wifi is always irritating - but its of course cleary spelled out. The internet must be pretty good business for the hotel. But it was working well so OK to pay for.
Neighbourhood pretty boring and thanks to that also quiet, there is Lidl on Leipziger Strasse for basic provisions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here in september 2013 and got surprised of the size og the rooms. Really big. The location from the airport and the center is great. Walking distance to a lot of the sights in Berlin. A quiet location too - so no party outside the hotel. One thing though - get surprised that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms - only Down in the hotel lobby. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The building is rather anonymous but the hotel is comfortable.The staff at the reception is usually friendly, gentle and helpful- only exception a rather sour receptionist.
Rooms are nice,comfortable bed,TV, a/c, fridge and facilities for the/coffe.
Bathroom is spacious,excellent products such as soaps,shampoo...
Breakfast is very good indeed,wide selection and everything of the highest quality,lots of fresh fruits,fresh bread,croissants and delicious little cakes
The hotel is very central.walking distance from several places of interest
Very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and its normally ok. The staff were friendly on check in. The room I was allocated was not great and due to being full there was no chance to change. The view was of old style panel buildings next door which are pretty much run down.

The restaurant this time was nothing special. A lot of Marriott classics were missing from the menu. Service was poor. I cannot be sure but I was ill the rest of the evening after eating here. I was originally scheduled to stay for 2 days but checked out early and moved to the full price Marriott.

I'm still waiting for the hotel to contact me about this....

I'd probably give it another go if in the area. I've had better stays here. This one however was not great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June using my Marriott points. It was a nice courtyard, similar to others in the Marriott chain. We stayed there and walked throughout the city so it was handy to have it so close to attractions. The rooms were pleasant and clean, no surprises as is normal with Marriott. The lobby was well lit and did seem to appeal to business travelers. The desk staff went out of their way to provide directions and even went so far to call a few BMW motorcycle dealerships in the area for us. My husband was interested in visiting dealerships to obtain t shirts to take back home and the desk staff was so nice to call and translate their business hours to us. We were unable to make it work to travel to the dealerships, but I cannot say enough about the lovely service the front desk provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center

Address: Axel-Springer-Strasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#80 Business Hotel in Berlin
#89 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Berlin City Center is in walking distance to many famous Berlin attractions such as Friedrichstrasse, Alexanderplatz, Gendarmenmarkt, Checkpoint Charlie, Memorial of the Berlin Wall and popular Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Berlin City Hotel Berlin
Courtyard Berlin
Berlin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Berlin City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.