We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and OK for Berlin.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Berlin

Save Saved
You added Maritim Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Stauffenbergstrasse 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Value and OK for Berlin.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here. The rooms were fine and there were no issues at all. Overall the hotel needs refurbishing, this was last year, and the staff were very good in all areas, especially at breakfast which was very busy as there was a conference on at the time in the city. Good value and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your visit and your positive review. We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our service and value. We hope, we can welcome you back on any future visits in Berlin.

With best regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    232
    70
    21
    5
See reviews for
37
128
55
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and the food at breakfast was decent for a hotel buffet.

The main problem was a party being held on Saturday 28 December. We were awoken from an afternoon nap by music. We are on the 4th floor and the ballroom was on the ground floor. When we inquired at the front desk if this is what the evening would be like, we were told the music that woke us was just the "test" volume. The party would be going until 2am and would be louder. I asked how they can justify keeping a whole wing of the hotel awake until 2am and they said there was nothing they could do about the music volume.

They did move us to another room for the night, which was a good solution. However, I question what the outcome would have been if the hotel was full. I also wonder if the organisation that rates hotels knew of this policy when they granted them 4 stars.

We requested an iron and ironing board and it did arrive after 3 calls to housekeeping, and 24 hours after our initial request. There was no soap in our room, so we stole it from the 2nd room they gave us for that one night. These are the sorts of issues and inconveniences you don't expect from a 4 star establishment. I would say this is an inflated rating.

Room Tip: Inquire about the parties being held during booking. They do have a wing of the hotel which isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel. Very sadly we have taken note, that we could not meet your expectations and you were rightly annoyed due to unfortunate circumstances and shortcomings.

In fact, there was a concert held on the 28th December in our event area on the ground floor in which it came to an unusal noise pollution, which we have not anticipated this way. Please be assured, that this was an exception and does not meet the everyday situation of our hotel.

Furthermore we regret, that your request for an iron and ironing board has not been fulfilled immediately. We have discussed this matter with our Executive Housekeeper to avoid recurrences in the future.

Unfortunately we can not undo what happened but we do hope, that you accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused and maybe give us a second chance by visiting us again someday.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a very nice, clean, and perfectly located hotel for a long weekend in Berlin. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and very comfortable. The staff was really helpful and we appreciated the on sight parking, though at 25 euro a night it was a bit expensive. Not terrible for a city though. We only wished to have had better wifi internet options. The other reviews mentioning the old tv's were correct, but we weren't in Berlin to watch tv so it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guests,

With much pleasure, we have taken note of your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very thankful, especially for your understanding regarding the known deficits, which were mentioned also in other reviews here a few times before. Due to contracts our hands are still tied in terms of TV’s and wifi, but we will improve these offers as soon as possible for us. Our parking costs are in the middle price level compared to other car parks in Berlin.

In the hope, that you will visit us again, whenever your next travels brings you to Berlin, we send our best regards,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was clean, convenient, and reasonably priced. As others have mentioned, the breakfast buffet was particularly extensive, and the rooms are a good size. I thought the wardrobe was particularly well-configured and offered plenty of hangers. The staff is very nice and helpful and there is an indoor poor & sauna available.

Be prepared that a "queen" or "king" bed is actually just 2 twins pushed together. This is fine for a single traveller but couples may find it uncomfortable. The TV is very old and small. The wifi is unworkable - you have to buy service from t-mobile and the connection drops constantly. If you just need to briefly check email you'll be ok, but trying to do anything for work was impossible.

If you like museums, there are plenty in the area. However, there isn't much in the way of nightlife. We mainly ventured to other parts of town for dinner or drinks.

Room Tip: Elevators are on one side of the building, so a room on the opposite side includes quite a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking the time for an evaluation here. We have read your comments very interested and are pleased, that you were satisfied basically.

We can understand your criticisms regarding the wifi and TV offer and assure you, that these points belong to our priorities. As mentioned here before, we are still under contract at the moment, but we hope to be able soon, to offer contemporary solutions.

Our beds are in fact mostly 2 twins, but we also have rooms with king size mattrasses. Please ask for it at an eventual next reservation.

If you prefer a more lively area for your next time in Berlin, we like to recommend our sister hotel Maritim proArte at Friedrichstraße, near the Brandenburg gate, with many shops, restaurants, theatres etc. in direct neighbourhood.

We hope, we can welcome you back as a guest occasionally in one of the Maritim Hotels in Berlin.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel foyer is absolutely wonderful and it doesn't stop there. The rooms were lovely and a very good size, the beds were comfortable and there was more than adequate storage.
A very short walk from the shopping area.
The breakfast was unbelievable - what a choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for this fabulous feedback and are very delighted, that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel. In the hope, you will visit us again in the future, we send kindest regards,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I was last at this hotel last week. This is a great hotel with very nice rooms, and great service. The breakfast has the largest option that I ever had. The amount of food and quality is outstanding. The only drawback is the TV set that is very old. Other than that the hotel is perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,

A big thank you for visiting us and for your kind review here. We were very pleased about it. Your criticism regarding the TV set is understandable and it is one of our priorities to improve this service in the near future. As mentioned some times before here, we are still under contract at the moment, but hope to be able soon to replace the TV sets. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again, whenever your travels brings you to Berlin.

Kindest regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

lovely room, excellent customer service. If you can afford it go for the premium rooms- the VIP food and wine selection makes it worth it. Excellent breakfast. Short walk to shopping area with choice of othe restauramts if desired.

Room Tip: high floor premium room for excellent food and drink in the VIP lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,

With much pleasure we took note of your positive assessment regarding your stay in our hotel. Many thanks for the recommendation. We hope you will stay with us again on your future visits in Berlin.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Address: Stauffenbergstrasse 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Berlin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#68 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#96 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.