We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sickinger Hof

Save Saved
You added Sickinger Hof to your Saves list
Sickinger Hof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sickinger Hof
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beusselstrasse 44T, 10553 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #579 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Belgrade
1 review
“Pleasant staff, good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Young couple from Serbia, stayed in Sickinger Hof for four days in January 2009 - the hotel is a great solution if you're coming to spend most of the time walking around Berlin and need a place to stash your stuff, sleep and have a shower and breakfast. The people working in the hotel are all very pleasant and helpful, and they all made our stay as comfortable as it could be. The hotel has a great traffic connection - it has TXL bus stop accross the street and a S-bahn station 50 m away. Guest entrance to the hotel is possible 24h a day. We would reccomend it for a short tourist-oriented stay in Berlin as a good value for money.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Room commodity, but OK for money paid
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    20
    8
    19
See reviews for
4
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I booked a double room with a shower - got one without. The staff said they could do nothing about it, but didn't even apologize. The room was so small that it was clautrophobic. The photos on their website don't show the reality.
Breakfast was the same for the four days that I stayed there - and I mean THE SAME - not even one part of it was different.
The hotel was very clean - that's the only plus.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

There is no good reason to stay at this hotel. It's miles out of the city centre in a run-down area, next to a four lane main road and a rail intersection. We thought we'd got a bargain but we were wrong. We got to the front desk and could see the hotel was shabby and in a state of disrepair. We were shown first to a room overlooking the noisy traffic-filled street and it was really substandard: the beds were old with creaky broken springs, the acrylic floor covering was so old it had dissolved in places into black stains, the room smelled of smoke, the sheets were clean but old and the room was cold. We asked to move rooms and the second one was marginally better but the beds were still old, and it was cold and was generally a very depressing place. When we left we were charged €100 of our €150 cost for three nights as we had arrived after midday. The guy on the desk reacted as if this was a normal occurrence. I'm sure they make more money from cancellations than from people staying. Be warned! Why stay here when for €20 more you can find a new hotel room in a much better area. We didn't take photos as we couldn't wait to get out!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

Since this was our 3rd trip to Berlin, we needed a room for one night. We made reservations for this hotel through the Venere website. Hotel cost was 50 Euros with an additional 5 Euros for use of the hotel parking lot.

Since some of the rooms don't have bathrooms, we reserved a room with a bathroom. Furthermore, we specified late check-in between 9:00 and 10:00 PM. Upon our arrival, we discovered that our room had been given away. Our room did have a sink but no toilet. There was a community shower and toilets for both sexes. Unfortunately, the women's WC reeked of urine. However, there was plenty of soap, paper towels and toilet paper available.

Our room was small and comfortable. Perfect for our short stay. Although there were only 2 of us, our room could have been used as a triple.

Breakfast was simple with coffee, tea and juice available. Hotel staff was exceptionally helpful with directions. Furthermore, they didn't have a problem with us leaving our car in the hotel parking lot while we toured Berlin. Bus and S-bahn stops are half a block from the hotel. Be sure to pay for an S-bahn ticket. While riding the S-bahn, we were asked to show our tickets.

The only drawbacks for this hotel were the bathrooms and the issue with our reservation. Otherwise, this hotel is fine for a short stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sickinger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sickinger Hof

Address: Beusselstrasse 44T, 10553 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sickinger Hof 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sickinger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sickinger Hof Berlin
Sickinger Hof Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sickinger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.