We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always return here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Funk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Funk to your Saves list
Pension Funk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fasanenstrasse 69, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will always return here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pension Funk is an absolute gem, like time travel of sorts to anyone who loves a touch of the old days. The atmosphere was totally unrivalled to anything I've ever experienced before. Being a fan of the silent movie era anyway, it was also quite exciting to think that I was staying in a place that used to be Asta Nielsen's home in the 1930s.

Also in my opinion Pension Funk is quite inexpensive, as the room (I had a single room with toilet&shower for 4 nights) was just beautiful (absolutely adored the antique furniture!), very clean and tidy and a nice breakfast was included in the price. Being a solo female traveller, I also felt very safe here. It instantly felt like home.
I rarely write reviews but this time it was absolutely necessary. I highly recommend this lovely hotel and I'm sure I will always come back here when I'm in Berlin in the future. Thank you so much!

p.s. There are no bathroom amenities, so be sure to pack some travel size toiletries of your own. Also, take a look at their website, there are lots of great pictures and for example my room looked exactly like it did in the photo. This rarely happens with hotels. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
35
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our third stay at this unique Pension in the heart of Berlin. There is a range of accommodations, so be sure and select one that fits your needs. Some rooms have only a shower and sink in the room, with a shared toilet in the hall and some rooms have full bathrooms. The full baths are more expensive. The rate includes are very nice breakfast buffet. You are only a half block from the Ulandstrasse U-Bahn station and a 10 minute walk from the Berlin Zoo S-bahn station. Staff was very helpful when we needed assistance. The rooms are showing a little wear, but are clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing an interior courtyard are very quiet, but we face the street and didn't notice any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel, old apartment, is amazing place to stay. With wonderful athmosphere of living in old apartment with other guests, where each posess one room, having breakfast together in Fruhstucksalon with beautiful schandelier. I always stay there when travelling to Berlin. There is no place in Berlin with such an athmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Lake, MB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very good option for reasonably priced accommodations with first rate service and a great breakfast. Room was clean and comfy and hotel is located in a clean, easily accessible area. Great restaurants nearby and just a short walk to a major train station. The history of the building makes it a perfect way to get a real German experience. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Requires some stairs. Hotel was quiet so room selection might not be that important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Pension Funk Aug 18 - 21, and found it to be just we what expected and wanted; comfort, a good breakfast, and in a quiet location but where we could easily access the things we wanted to see in Berlin, by bus or train. Just across Fassenenstrasse we found a great restaurant, Literaturehaus. We would definitely recommend Pension for all travelers, especially families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Pension Funk on the recommendation of a friend who ALWAYS stays there when he travels to Berlin ( 3 or 4 times a year.)

The building is very grand - starting at the staircase and lift. It reminded us of so many of the movies set in war-time Germany.

Our room was large and comfortable - a nice big bed and table and chairs set near big windows looking in to the courtyard.

Breakfast was excellent and the we received lots of good advice and help from the staff.

The Pension is situated in a very convenient and quiet area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We liked the historical feel to the building, and as others say - the buffet spread at breakfast is very nice. Everyone at reception was extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Funk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Funk

Address: Fasanenstrasse 69, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Funk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Pension Funk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Funk Hotel Berlin
Funk Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Funk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.