We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great area, convenient to transport and airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Johann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Johann to your Saves list
Hotel Johann
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great area, convenient to transport and airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I was here visiting a friend and she recommended as she lives in Kreuzberg. This is a great area for restaurants and not a far walk from a lot of the major sights. I ended up just walking to the DRR museum one day and to Checkpoint Charlie. Transport is good - a bus and train to the airport in about 45 minutes. Just buy a 2.70 euro ticket, easy! I went running on the canal one day as well.

Hotel was good, basic but rooms were a good size. My favourite bit was the fact that they had underfloor heating in the bathroom. There is no kettle in the room or safe. Breakfast is good; lots of choice. It's very quiet in the rooms. Beds were nice and firm - two twins pushed together, which I prefer to be honest. Free wifi but a bit spotty.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    74
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
99
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wasserburg am Inn, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

This is a nice, modern, sometimes stylish furnished hotel.large and airy room! I liked it`s breakfast very much. You can find cerials, cheese, eggs, a great variation of bread, jam, marmalade, fruit-salad, vegetables, yoghurt, salami and, and...
Friendly stuff, we liked everything. I?ll surely come back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

What a lovely hotel! Great location in a very quiet road in Kreuzberg - walking distance to Oranienstrasse (about 20 mins) though also within easy reach of the U-Bahn (10 mins) and lots of local buses in the road parallel. Very friendly welcome and lovely staff in the breakfast room, too. Oh - the breakfast was amazing - fresh, great choice, excellent quality and always stocked up throughout the 3 hours. Our room was lovely - comfy bed, good wifi (free), TV, heated bathroom floor, very clean and quiet. Check-in and -out was super quick - perfect. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

This small hotel makes you feel like home away from home.True gem at backstreet of normal living area.Our rooms were big,airy and very comfortable,WiFi free and it works at rooms also and good breakfast.

Room Tip: our room was on a street side,but stil very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Great service, great breakfast, and a nice, quiet, back-street location. Surprisingly large and airy room, though without a safe or a minibar (both supplemented downstairs at reception). Beds and wifi are only OK. If this is the area you need don't hesitate to stay here

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful and our (double) room facing the street was very comfortable (especially the cosy bed and the large bathtub). The breakfast was good and we especially appreciated the long breakfast time (until 10:30 on weekdays, 11 on weekends). The location is handy, there are a couple of underground stations nearby - although we much enjoyed the Kreuzberg area itself. They also rent bikes and we highly recommend Berlin by bike.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and one could hear the occasional noise of the traffic. Someone who doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This hotel is really clean and nice. The staff couldn't be better. They give %100 to make you happy during your stay. The only bad thing I can is that the WIFI in the room wasn't strong enough. If they can improve that, I think they deserve a better rank on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Address: Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Berlin
#41 Business Hotel in Berlin
#64 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johann 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Johann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Johann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.