We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johann Hotel

Save Saved
You added Johann Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Johann Hotel
Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 663 hotels in Berlin
Lafayette, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Although the Hotel Johann's location is rather remote from any of the usual Berlin sights, it is located in a pleasant residential area and is three blocks from a bus line that can take you to several major U-Bahn stations; there are also two U-Bahn stations within a ten-minute walk.

We had a large double room, which included a sofa and desk. The decor is spare but attractive, and the bathroom is spacious. The frosted glass door dividing the bathroom from the bedroom is not a problem for privacy.

The breakfast room is large and bright, and the breakfasts are outstanding. The buffet provides cold cuts, cereals, pastries, fresh cut fruits, tomato with mozarella, yogurt, and soft-boiled eggs, and probably the best coffee we had in Europe.

The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The hotel has the Berlin Welcome Card, and we would recommend that you get it if you are staying for three days or more, especially because it covers several museums and makes it easy to use the bus and U-Bahn and S-Bahn systems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    65
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
88
32
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I really enjoyed the modern style of this hotel. It's location was excellent. While not in the center of it all, it was well positioned to take advantage of Kreutzberg, and was not far from the U-bahn station. The staff was friendly and helpful. I loved my small room, which had a contemporary style. Free WiFi is a plus. Overall, highly recommended unless you are expecting luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice and relaxing hotel in a quite area of the city. Our room where located towards a quite courtyard.

The hotel where really nice and clean. Good breakfast and nice personnel.

Only negative is that the door to the bathroom where in glass, so everything that happens in the bathroom will be heard in the other room.

But over all a wonderful hotel.

Berlin is a nice city, we had some good sightseeing, food and really good clubbing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here in June 2012. Loved my stay and would definitely book again. Room was neat, tidy and modern - had everything one would require. Location is decent (metros are close enough). Staff were friendly and willing to help. The whole place has an intimate feel. Finally, the breakfast was delicious with something for everyone! Great value for what you pay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay - the rooms are very clean, agreeably designed, big and filled with light and air, breakfast was a huge delicious buffet with lots of choice and quality, and the reception was immensely helpful. The terrace at the back with tables & chairs was a nice spot to relax and we couldn't be more centrally placed - you can go to Checkpoint Charlie by foot! The swimming complex 10mins away by foot is amazing - a great place to go with kids. Highly recommed it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (especially the coffee) was delicious. It was -6 outside but the rooms were lovely and warm, the bed was comfortable, and the location was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On a small recreational trip to Berlin (to see a rock show at the nearby C-Club), we decided to stay at the Johann Hotel, based on the location close to C-Club, and on the previous recommendations here at Tripadvisor.

The weather was all snow and grey but the staff was friendly and warm. The standard room was quite funky with a brick wall behind the bed, beautiful wooden floor and LOTS of electric outlets, as opposed to many other hotels - no problem charging your phone, computer, camera, whatever (at the same time). The room was spacious and immaculately clean and the view from the window reminded us of being home in our own big city. The breakfast buffet is small but plenty and varied, and the tables are set beautifully with fresh (!) flower decorations.

If you wish (and dare), bicycles are available for rent.

Only thing I was missing was proper internet (my PC was unable to connect to the internet, but the iPhone connected just fine via the free wifi). An electric kettle in the room would have been nice too, to make ourselves a cup of tea.

The receptionist recommended a cute little place to have lunch or dinner, the very-nearby Brachtvogel restaurant. We ended up having dinner there every night, wonderful staff and great menu.

We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johann Hotel

Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin
Address: Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Berlin
#44 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Johann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johann Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.