We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Johann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Johann to your Saves list
Hotel Johann
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On a small recreational trip to Berlin (to see a rock show at the nearby C-Club), we decided to stay at the Johann Hotel, based on the location close to C-Club, and on the previous recommendations here at Tripadvisor.

The weather was all snow and grey but the staff was friendly and warm. The standard room was quite funky with a brick wall behind the bed, beautiful wooden floor and LOTS of electric outlets, as opposed to many other hotels - no problem charging your phone, computer, camera, whatever (at the same time). The room was spacious and immaculately clean and the view from the window reminded us of being home in our own big city. The breakfast buffet is small but plenty and varied, and the tables are set beautifully with fresh (!) flower decorations.

If you wish (and dare), bicycles are available for rent.

Only thing I was missing was proper internet (my PC was unable to connect to the internet, but the iPhone connected just fine via the free wifi). An electric kettle in the room would have been nice too, to make ourselves a cup of tea.

The receptionist recommended a cute little place to have lunch or dinner, the very-nearby Brachtvogel restaurant. We ended up having dinner there every night, wonderful staff and great menu.

We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EsterGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here +10 times on business. Great looking, clean and comfortable rooms. Most staff very friendly and helpful, except for one woman who is always complaining about you not paying in cash - to be fair many businesses don't take credit cards in Berlin but I've never experienced a hotel that charges extra for this before and even then wants you to feel bad about it. But apart from her behaviour everything is great. Great rooms, wifi, breakfast and bar. Great location for exploring Kreuzberg on foot and two different U-bahn lines within 5 minutes provides easy access to the rest of the city.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPontus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sondrio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very friendly atmosphere and very nice people.
Simple clean and full of light room. Tasty full breakfast.
Ten minutes on foot to reach nearest U-Bahn, but Kreuzberg is quiet and not dangerous at all
and with many restaurants, caffè etc..

Room Tip: Our room ( 301 ) was silent and full of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friendly, welcoming staff. We stayed in a lovely, big, spacious room which was nicely furnished with exposed brick ceilings and walls. We actually really liked the sliding door arrangement for the bathroom unlike the previous reviewer and took photos of it with a view to doing something similar to our ensuite back home! We had delicious buffet breakfasts every morning including herring salad and black bread, peppers, salami, cheeses, eggs etc. in a lovely, light breakfast room. The hotel has a very laid back, relaxed feel to it which is lovely when retreating from all the city has to offer.
It's in a very unprepossessing area but just a minutes walk brings you to the canal where about 1km further on brings you to a part reminiscent of Paris with beautiful town houses either side of the canal.
Only negatives - tea/coffee facility in the room would have been nice and quite pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 754sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nicely located in a residential street, and just a short walk from the "music theatre" HAU. The room, breakfast, and the bed was very good. The bathroom freshly designed. However I cannot understand why a hotel install such a door in a room one´s supposed to share. It was a sliding glass door but it is hanging on the outside, and cannot be closed properly. You have full insight to what´s going on in the bathroom -and of course you hear "everything". I think I will never return to this place just because of that. A shame really, and I urge the hotel manager to put in proper doors!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very friendly hotel, nice rooms and good breakfast. Quiet and comfortable. But not very close to the centre of town and in a very residential area. Fairly expensive also, for what it is (we paid 00 Euro per night for a twin).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights recently. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly on arrival and during the stay. The rooms were great, modern minimalist type style which was fitting for the part of town the hotel is in. The breakfast was spot on also. The hotel is slightly out of the central Kreuzberg area so it can be a bit of a longer walk to some areas, albeit we were there in winter. Would absolutely recommend a stay here, especially for longer visits due to great value and large sized rooms. The larger rooms with wifi gives you the opportunity to relax and unwind after a long day sight seeing etc

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#4 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#5 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Moevenpick Hotel Berlin
Moevenpick Hotel Berlin
#29 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#10 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#33 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Address: Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg , Köpenick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Family Hotel in Berlin
#48 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johann 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Johann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing