We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johann Hotel

Save Saved
You added Johann Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Johann Hotel
Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #33 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Johann Hotel. The room was pretty small but it was clean and the bathroom was good. The staff were kind and very helpful. It's tucked away in a pretty quiet area of Berlin so we had to walk a fair bit to get around (we don't mind that though). Overall it was a good place and good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    68
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
92
34
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Johann for a weekend in October. It's in a quiet area, though close to a U-bahn stop and some lovely restaurants (try Grimmstrasse around the corner). It's not been called the bargain travellers' choice for nothing. It was beautifully decorated, the breakfast was generous and in a nice sunny room, the beds were comfortable and the underfloor heating in the bathroom a real treat - all for only about €100 per night. It's not right in the centre, but only about 15 minutes by U-bahn to get to the middle of Berlin. Well worth it, we thought, for a quieter stay. Only downside, and a small one, was that our room was a bit too big and therefore became chilly at night when the heating was off. But when you're complaining that the hotel room is too big you really don't have much to worry about! HIghly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent hotel, in a very easy going neighbourhood, with clean and quiet rooms and a wonderful bathroom. Excellent breakfast buffet!!! We also like the bar and the reception staff were very helpful. Definitely to be recommended for young couples...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was again so surprised at how quiet this place was, we felt like the only guests there. We slept at night with the windows open to the courtyard. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of options. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Staff helped with everything, they rent out bicycles! Walking distance to lots of things! Our first trip to Berlin, couldn't have been better taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A nicely furnished hotel with quality breakfast which stars in terms of its quality service at all times - each member of staff on the desk went out of their way to help with our queries. It is not in a central location but the M41 bus was easy to access and was in the centre in minutes; the train station not too far away.

Room Tip: If you want a roomy room, pay the extra to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Johann Hotel in Berlin. As it was my first time in Berlin I was briefly quite bewildered by all the transport options and connections. However the staff was quite helpful first in guiding me to the hotel from the Frankfurt Hbf and later in guiding me to reach various places of interest. I'd like to make a special mention of Karina who's a part of their staff. She was friendly, patient and helpful in guiding me thru all the sights that Berlin has to offer.

The breakfast was good and the rooms themselves were clean and cozy just like the rest of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Hotel Joahnn is located in johanniterstr. But here ends my knowledge of Berlin! It is in a residential area, very quiet and across the road of a nice river and a park/garden - great for bycicles or for a relaxing walk.

The hotel does what a hotel should do, great mattress to sleep on (firm as it should be), nice bathroom with a shower of a decent size ( where you can turn around easily and wash!), the room size is very good but I got a double for single use, so I would not know how large is an actual single room; slightly disappointed on the breakfast, names shown only in German and some stuff which was unknown to me required a translation, also kind of 'not much on the table' but could have been my impression.

Overall a good hotel, in a nice position (approx 5 mins by taxi to Charlottenstr and Under den Liden), slightly expensive on the whole.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johann Hotel

Address: Johanniterstrasse 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#38 Family Hotel in Berlin
#53 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#99 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Johann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johann Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.