We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and Good !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue Berlin to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue Berlin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emser Strasse 19-20, 10719 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #526 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bad and Good !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read some other reviews prior to our visit, we were wondering what we were going to find. I notified the hotel of our expected arrival time and they confirmed it would not be a problem to drop our bags off. We arrived at our expected time (1100hrs) and our room was ready, our friends wasn't but this was not a problem. The hotel is in a very good location, with many local shops, bars, restaurants nearby. The room was large and clean. The furniture was old, and the décor left a bit to be desired. The shower could also do with re-grouting, the curtains didn't quite cover the window, but this added a bit of quirkiness. The bed was good, the heating excellent and even though it was close to a school, there was little noise in the rooms.
Breakfast was typically continental and there was a good choice and it was all fresh and tasty.
Value for money is excellent, as long as you get past the taste in furniture.
We were there for the Christmas markets and to be honest left at ten in the morning and got back at about ten at night.
All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and all spoke good English.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    19
    11
    29
See reviews for
19
28
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just spend two days here...Dont make that mistake !.
We booked and prepaid for a comfort room at Hotel Bellevue`s own homepage. Arrived to get a very bad welcome - and a very bad room...very very long away from the picture you find on the hotels own homepage and from the standard of Berlin hotelrooms in generel. This is outwarned old and smelly group of room- lying on the second floor. The negative tone and unfrienldly staff is doing there best to ruin you stay.
Staying in Wilmersdorf and Berlin you can do so much better. Believe you me - I visit Berlin at least five time a year and this was my first big hotel mistake.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I would never ever stay in that hotel again. Rooms are horrible, grandma style, looks like no changes have been made since the 50s, location is good, but value for money terrible, invest a bit more and you get a really nice hotel and room. It's not worth staying there.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when it was still owned by the previous owners, and returned last week as we had had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the kitsch retro decor and lovely staff and service. On arrival last week we were informed the management had changed, as we peered around the decor although freshly re done was tacky and cheap looking. After they took our payment for stay WE WERE THEN INFORMED that the hotel was fully booked and we were being sent to another hotel for the first night of our 3 night stay, in a less convenient location. The receptionist called us a taxi and instructed us to get a receipt and they would reimburse us the fare when we came back the next day. I asked when we would need to check out of other hotel and comeback and she said whenever we wanted to. On arriving at the other hotel we were pleased to find it was much nicer that Bellevue and were shown to a lovely room, despite it's beauty it was a very noisey building with the constant noise of the plumbing through out the night. The next day we get a call from reception saying we have to vacate room as check out time (a misunderstanding as I had thought we were at leisure from conversation at BelleVue). On returning to Bellevue we gave them our cab receipts we were told to hold on to them and wait for an English speaking member of staff.
The room was drab, the beds were comfy, it really was just an overpriced hostel, no charm, no style, no comforts.
Eventually after a few attempts to get our cab fare refunded we were informed the management said no as it was only a short distance he did not have to refund us. Rude and dishonest. It was about a mile or two away, far enough to need a cab when carrying luggage, not the point anyway as they had said it would be refunded and we did not ask to stay in two hotels, that was down to their poor booking management.
I would not recommend this hotel, it's over priced, tacky and with rude management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked something called "comfort double room" and I was quite surprised how small it was and expected something else (wondering how does the regular room look like?) But the bed was comfortable and room was clean with a nice bathroom. We didn't pay for breakfast (although they have very nice breakfast room) because there is a bakery just downstairs and we like to sleep in :) Staff was nice.

Room Tip: I noticed a vending machine on our floor so you probably want to make sure you don't have a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First impressions of the room was that it reminded me of a 70s Seaside boarding house, high ceilings and flowered wallpaper. Shower and toilet were clean and the double bed just fits into the narrow coffin like room.
It's a hot summer in Berlin this year, the rooms have no air conditioning or fans and the windows are designed to open about two inches only and allow no air flow. The management just shrugged their shoulders when I asked for a fan. I slept with a wet towel over me. Breakfast is typically continental and adequate, however, everyone shares a single two slice toaster. It is very reminiscent of Germans, towels and sun beds, except with pieces of bread in the toaster.
I have travelled a lot in many parts of the world, and this hotel ranks low even compared with those two star hotels in Third World Countries. It really is a budget hotel and just one notch up from a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Berlin

Address: Emser Strasse 19-20, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.