We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming decor is deceiving, this hotel does not work with customers an tooS are filled with smoke and noise from the inner co” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zarenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zarenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Zarenhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eichendorffstrasse 4, 10115 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming decor is deceiving, this hotel does not work with customers an tooS are filled with smoke and noise from the inner co”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

This place sucks & when I wanted to check out early they said they would bill ms 80% of all nights reserved even though we did not stay any more than 1 night! Horrible customer service And terrible refund policy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
26
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My ground-floor room contains a double bed, a closet, a set of drawers with a television on top, two upright chairs, and a tiny desk with a phone and a tray of bottle of mineral water and wine, leaving not even enough room for a laptop. The windows have a view of the bicycle racks and dumpster in the courtyard.

The bathroom is huge and wheelchair accessible. But unlike most wheelchair-accessible bathrooms, it does not have even a shower curtain; there is just a showerhead on the wall, suitably far from everything else. The hot water is reliable. The mirror is lit only from the right, so I shave the left side of my face blindly.

There is insufficient room between the desk and the bed for comfortable seating at the desk (definitely not wheelchair-accessible), the lighting at the desk is poor, and there is no open outlet nearby for a laptop or cell-phone charger. I obtain a power-bar from the front desk, but have to run the cable across the bathroom door. Eventually, I rearrange the furniture, moving the desk to a space on the other side of the room where there is an open outlet, and leaving the bottles and phone on the floor.

But nonetheless, for an average of just €45/night (including fast and reliable Internet) over my six-night stay, it's pretty good overall for the price. The bed is comfortable (though the pillow is the standard large-but-mushy kind that Germans seem to favor), the room is very clean and quiet, and the front-desk people are helpful.

The hotel promotes the quality of its breakfast buffet (€11). Overall, it's about average, but in my experience the standards for breakfast are high in German hotels, so even average is actually quite good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I've stayed at the Hotel Zarenhof during my last two visits to Berlin and definitely have no regrets about it.

The hotel itself is more like a privately-run enterprise, located in one of the multitude of old building blocks central Berlin is made of. And while it is located within what seems like a quiet residential area, you're still within easy walking range of both the next subway station (about 400m) and the railway (about 300m). Even a leisurely walk to Berlin Central station will take you only 15 minutes.

The whole thing apparently has been refurbished from former residential city-block to hotel/guesthouse, but that ain't a bad thing. According to the traditional architecture for living quarters in Berlin, all rooms face the inner courtyard of the building complex and are separated from the street by another layer of walls and an outward facade.

Upon checking in, you receive the key for your room, which also doubles up as the key to enter the building via the main entrance (separated from the lobby), so it somehow feels like you got an apartment of your own where you can come and go as you please.

The rooms are nothing to write home about, but they are big enough and clean. Breakfast is served in a dining-room that seemed to be a bit small to mine eyes, but the buffet had just the variety I'd expect... if not a bit more.

All in all, great value for money, if you're looking for a no-frills accommodation!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Extensive renovations, very noisy at times, banging and drilling all over the place and you have to go under the scaffolds to get to the rooms and the breakfast area.
Total confusion among the receptionists, most of them inexperienced , far from the center, even taxi drivers have a hard time to find it.
The breakfast is nice, but the same everyday. Was given a better room for a supplement of €20, which I think should have been (at least) or compensation for staying there through renovations. Asked for a late checkout and was asked €75 for up to 16:00...ridiculous!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

A nice hotel in Berlin Mitte, well situated, although you need to take the S- or U-Bahn for any places you want to visit, except for Bernauer-Str. Wall memorial (right next to hotel).
The place is quiet and clean, and it is a bit quaint but in very good ways. For example, they don't have a lift, so I was offered a small room on the ground floor, or a large one on 3rd floor. I took the latter, I don't mind stairs, and the room was huge; its corridor would qualify as a room on its own. Another good quaintness is the breakfast, you get blinis and caviar and salmon as advertised. Of course you probably can't have caviar for breakfast day in - day out, but the breakfast is not to be missed, at least once.

One complaint I have was their wifi internet, it only functioned for one evening, and then it was terribly slow. All the other evenings I could not even connect to it. I wanted to use the net for some adhoc trip planning, and the hotel allowed me to use a computer in the lobby, also very slow. Had I known, I would have just left the laptop at home and done all my planning in advance (as I usually do.) So, be advised: if you need internet, stay someplace else. But if you don't, save yourself the trouble of carrying the laptop around and stay at this hotel, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

This hotel is in a great location if you are travelling the train systems. In a unique Eastern Berlin neibourhood. Close enough to walk to the Berlin Tower but get there early ! Nice modern rooms, clean and spacious. Friendly helpful staff. This is also an apartment complex with courtyard access to all buildings. This made for a amphitheatre effect of the residents partying all night, both nights we stayed there.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hotel combo with apartments
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I was at first a bit amused that we got room 10 which was just behind the reception. However this eventually turned into fustration because of the noises from this area. Especially the second night was awfull because a strange reoccuring buzzing noise which kept us awake for most of the night. It is quite annoying to get a room which is best characterized as one they only use when they are fully booked. It is not what I would expect from a middle-priced hotel! I can only reccomend that you choose another hotel!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zarenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarenhof

Address: Eichendorffstrasse 4, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zarenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the heart of Berlin lies in aquiet side street, just 400 metres from the Nordbahnhof S-Bahn Station and 200 metres from the famous Friedrichstrasse Boulevard. It offers free W i-Fi internet access via hotspot. The hotel is decorated in a luxurious traditional Russian Empire style. Features include wood panels and gold details throughout. In the morning, a breakfast is served offering Russian specialities. The Zarenhof is just 400 metres aw ay from the Naturkundemuseum Underground Station. The Friedrichstadtpalast Revue Theatre is just 700 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zarenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarenhof Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zarenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.