We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel with helpful staff - don't expect luxury tho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alte Feuerwache

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alte Feuerwache to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alte Feuerwache
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldow Strasse 1, 13053 Berlin, Germany (Lichtenberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #387 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Sheffield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel with helpful staff - don't expect luxury tho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

We went for a very cheap break (flights only £40 return for 2) so was looking for a very cheap place to stay that wouldn't ruin our stay. This hotel did this and more. Only £26 per night for a double. Basic spec but very clean, and had TV, double glazed window with view of TV Tower, good heating, and very nice en suite. Didn't have breakfast, which was £8 extra, but ate at restaurant on last night and was much nicer than other local establishments. If you do stay here, don't eat nearby, eat at the hotel or go into town.

Hotel is quite far from town and aiport (Taxi from airport 33 euro) but is on main tram route, only about 15 min to town and quite regular, and runs up to 2am in week. If travelling cheap, get a 2 zone Berlin Welcome card (covers all travel and some museum discounts) get Airport Express train to Alexanderplatz, then get M5 tram from Alexanderplatz toward East Berlin and stop for hotel is FreienWalder Strasse.

Hotel is in quiet district, and according to map has park lakes very close (but didn't see). Staff helpfull. Reception manned until about 11pm but room key alows access.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, NI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

This Hotel is as described on the website. My mother and I visited in November 2007 for a 5 day trip and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff are very friendly and their English was very good, however it helped I spoke a little German as some colloquial phrases are not understood. It is not as central as described although there is a great Tram service running along the front of the hotel. This was not useful however when trying to get there from Schoenfeld Airport, taxi cost €40 and driver didn't seem to know where it was after looking at our print out of the address! Got there eventually! Food in the hotel was nice however was slightly overpriced and not a great portion, menu changes with season and there is a menu in English which you have to ask for. Great cocktail list and staff enjoy making them and recommending them!! If the food is not to your liking there is a great "Argentinian/Italian/Mexican" (not joking!) Restaurant 500m down the road, portions are huge and staff are lovely!
Breakfast in Hotel was lovely and you could stay as long as you liked and eat as much as you liked also! really set you up for the days sightseeing!
Rooms are very nice and clean,although the slanting ceilings could be a nuisance if you are tall! Decor is neutral which is good! Be warned - the lift only goes to third floor and there are stairs to fourth floor which isn't easy with a suitcase each!
Area is quiet even though tram runs until 3am you rarely hear it even with the window open. Pillows and bed were super comfy and at times I didn't want to get out of it!
Overall, great stay and would go back again without hesitation!

  • Liked — Old Fireman Outfit in Bar
  • Disliked — Location not central
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorking surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

The staff were all polite, helpful and friendly even when translation
was a problem. We cannot fault them.

Our room was a twin, but the two beds were joined together and crammed into an alcove under a sloping roof, a bit of a problem if you wanted the loo at night. The only windows were skylights and they
opened near a noisy vent. One of the three light fittings didn't
work and there was no light near the bed anyway. The bathroom was fine.

The selection at breakfast was extensive although normally the only hot items were boiled and scrambled eggs. You could have anything from soused herrings to chocolate gateau. The evening meals we had on three nights were good, but you do need to book ahead on busy nights. The "bar" was just a couple of perches in a corner of the restaurant plus a few seats along the bar, and we didn't notice anybody stay long if they only wanted a drink.

The building was once a fire station. It also appears to house a music school, some kind of youth club, and a centre for people with learning difficulties, but these were separated from the hotel. The side street at the hotel was pleasant suburbia but the main road was drab and the tram ride to the city centre (taking 20-25 minutes)could fairly be called uninspiring, although it runs every few minutes all day and evening and, less often, throughout the night.

We had good value for money and felt that we were valued guests. We would recommend this hotel for people who don't mind being a little way out.

  • Liked — staff and food
  • Disliked — in a drab area
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We have just returned from a four day break in Berlin. This hotel was a great find. We have to travel on a tight budget and require little from a hotel as we see it as simply a base from which to explore. However it would be unfair to describe this hotel as simply that.
Its location is a bit remote but it is the reason this hotel is the price it is. It is, however, very easy to get to being right on the M5 tram route (small tip you buy tickets for the tram once on board; save you wasting time looking for a machine at the stop as we did! and you need change) You need to allow about 15mins to get to Alexanderplatz and from there you can reach all parts of the city.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful. The breakfast was, even by European standards, fantastic and well worth paying the extra for as we ate little else all day. The rooms were warm clean and spacious enough. Overall it was a lovely hotel in a very quiet area. We would stay here again.
One more tip-we felt leaving our luggage at the hotel would waste too much time on our last day and were told there was a left luggage at the main station at Alexanderplatz. These turned out to be lockers and were all taken. There was nowhere else and my poor boyfriend had to carry a 14k rucsack round all day!Either leave enough time to travel back to the hotel or do a bit more digging to find another left luggage!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

I stayed here with my Mum for 5 nights, to see the Christmas markets. We booked the hotel through bookings and got a really great deal, that included breakfast., it is great breads, meats eggs, cheeses, cereals and juices (multi-vitamin juice is a must) and it will set you up for a days sight seeing.
The room was big and very clean with a bathroom and fresh towels every day. There is TV in the room but with limited English speaking channels, but you can read a weather map in any language. The hotel staff are friendly and willing to help with any questions you may have. They do all speak English, but try and speak to them in German they do appreciate it. There is a bar and restaurant at the hotel which is excellent, the portions are big and the food is fantastic the fillet steak is to die for.
You are on the M5 tram route at the hotel,( you can buy travel passes at reception) walk out of the hotel to the main road and turn right for the tram stop that takes you to Alexanderplatz from there you can get to anywhere in the city on the S-Bahn/U-Bahn, on foot or by tram. On the way back to the hotel on the tram get off at the Freinwalderstrasse stop.
This really is a hotel that is worth staying at and we will be back!

  • Liked — The great food and friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

The room overall is small but clean. There are separate beds for a double room. There is a shower, toilet and hair dryer in the room but they do not have soap or shampoo, so make sure you bring your own. The room has a TV with satellite channels, incl. British CNN and BBC.

Breakfast is not included but recommended – only 10 euros per person. It consists of eggs, breads, cured meats, cheeses, cereals and juices (apple, orange rotate but multi-vitamin juice always there – and recommended).

Parking is available if you have a car and is most likely across the hotel. As we did not rent a car, we cannot comment on charges for parking but their website states that parking is free.

Some restaurants are within walking distance, as is a Laundromat if needed (be sure to read about use of these machines prior to use as all instructions are in German).

There is heat but no AC, so you'll have to keep the window open in the summer. You may also want to bring ear plugs just in case to block out ambient street traffic and tram noises. There is no refrigerator in the room but an alarm clock is present.

The neighborhood is in the heart of old East Berlin so make sure that if you are going anywhere to add sufficient travel time to your destination. The hotel staff also sells passes for public transportation and these can be billed to your room, although the staff prefers that you pay cash.

Room rates are approx 60 USD as of early OCT 2005 (subject to exchange rates). Staff speaks English and is very helpful. Also, an internet cafe is located in the hotel but from 1200-2000 hours.

This was our first trip to Berlin and this hotel was a great place to stay. The breakfast carried us through the day and this hotel is one of the best kept secrets in Berlin. If you are only sleeping at your hotel and need a place to shower, sleep and start your day, this is the best value for the couple on vacation to Berlin.

Advice on how to use public transit to the hotel. Depending on which airport you use to arrive in Berlin, take the S-Bahn/U-Bahn system to Alexanderplatz. From there, take the M5 Tram towards Zingsterstrasse and exit at the Freinwalderstrasse stop. Cross the street and walk 300 meters to your right and the hotel will be on your left hand side. This will save you a hefty taxi fee.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alte Feuerwache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Feuerwache

Address: Waldow Strasse 1, 13053 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alte Feuerwache 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Alte Feuerwache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Feuerwache Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alte Feuerwache, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.