We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family room for three, excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anhalter Strasse 2, 10963 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #144 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice family room for three, excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We travelled with our 1-year old daughter and enjoyed the spacious 30 sqm room that even had a partition cutain between the queen-size bed and the third bed, a full bed that could also be used as a sofa. The hotel was only recently built and therefore is very modern and tidy. The room layout is very well thought through (e.g. shower AND bath tub in the bathroom) and the room has a fridge, microwave, electric kettle to boil water. Breakfast is extra, but there is also an espresso machine and free muffins by the reception at breakfast time. The S-Bahn Station Anhalter Bahnhof is just across the street nad Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburger Tor or Checkpoint Charlie are within a ten-minute walking distance, making this hotel an ideal starting point for city excursions. Excellent room rates if you book online well in advance over the Accor website or other e-booking websites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    641
    162
    32
    17
See reviews for
568
282
67
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were quite satisfied with the hotel, its standards an cleanliness.

However, we desperately needed internet in our rooms, and the internet was available but extremely slow and inconsistent.

During our stay we seriously considered moving to another hotel because of this issue.

Regards,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Suite Novotel worked perfect for our family of 4. We had a family room which had a double bed and 2 singles. One of the singles was a trundle bed that came out from under the double. This worked great for our 3 year old since it was close to the floor. The location is excellent. We were able to walk to Checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg gate. There's also plenty of public transportation in the area. We didn't eat at the hotel, but did buy a few drinks to take back to the room and the staff was very helpful.
If your kids get tired of siteseeing like ours did, go to the Lego Discovery Center at the Sony Center for a couple hours of fun! (maybe a 10 minute walk) We also had lunch and a movie there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been staying in a hotel room for 6 weeks as part of an art residency in the north of Germany. I decided to visit Berlin at the end of my trip and booked a room here being familiar with the company´s Sofitel brand. I wanted a simple suite with a small kitchen so that I could eat something besides restaurant food and have a little more than just one little room for a few days before heading on. But I get to the hotel and they tell me rather too cutely that they have good news and bad news for me. No, it´s all bad news. I don´t care where you put me, if I reserve a room, I want THAT Room. Traveling alone as a woman, I want to know when I get where I am going, I am where I told my husband I would be in case of something crazy. This is just a bad policy. I am hoping to be moved back to this hotel tomorrow, but I will never book another Accor hotel again. Perhaps I can update then as to the amenities and service, but at this point, it is colored by a very bad business policy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel has come to age and a renovation is hopefully in planning. The location "Potsdamer Platz" implies it is located at the Potsdamer Platz. Well, it is not. In Summer this may be a nice walk, on a cold winter day it is too far.....
The price is, as in Berlin not unusual, rather attractive. So be prepared to find lots of families, young people and even groups of children in the Hotel. At least on a weekend as we stayed there.
The shelves in the room, at least in the one we stayed, are now free of dust. However, one would expect to find them clean when entering the room. On the good side: Bathroom and toilet are perfect ! The room spacious and the bed of good quality and also this: Very clean ! If they manage to clean the shelves, they are up for a top rating ;-)
The restaurant in the next door "Ibis" impressed us: The design is nice and the service is very very friendly and made us visit it more than once. The people from Berlin are some of the most friendly and helpful persons !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off I have to say this hotel was not chosen by me, but my husband's company. The first impression was terrible, as I called in to extend our stay for another day beforehand, and not only this reservation wasn't done, there was also no apology or any kind of explanation for it, the staff member (a middle aged man) was quite brazen, but he told us that he'd be reserving the room for us right there. The rest of the staff, especially a younger male and a young female was friendly and helpful during our stay. Unfortunately when asked about the reservation which had been done at site 2 days before, it still wasn't showing up in the system, we're lucky it wasn't busy season, or we might have ended up on the street.

The rooms were moderately clean, the bed was small but comfortable, the pillows were awful. If you are used to a good pillow, bring your own. The whole decoration looked quite old fashioned and some parts of it showed a lot of wear, the rubber tabletop, a huge stain on the carpet (looked like vomit...) and the worst part was the odor that came from the sink in the bath/shower area, this was the unmistakable smell of something dead that filled the room every-time you turned on the tap. I mentioned it to the staff, but I doubt I was the first guest to notice it, it was quite strong. If it hadn't been for the stains and odor the room would have gotten a 4 star from me despite being old, it was quite cozy. For the prices they charge, they should be maintaining the rooms better, and sack the rude and downright incompetent staff-member. Conclusion, there are much better hotels at better prices.

Room Tip: If you like a nice clean room, don't bother with this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spacious and clean room. Great location in walking distance from Bundestag and Brandenburger Tor. Also just next to a S-station. Not very charming neighborhood but quiet and safe. Varied and fresh morning buffet with a good selection of bread, youghurt, juice and cheese.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Address: Anhalter Strasse 2, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Berlin
#110 Business Hotel in Berlin
#146 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the historic centre of Berlin, a short walk from Potsdamer Platz,Checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg Gate.13 km from Tegel airport.229 inviting modular suites with airconditioning, 30sqm in size.Friendly atmosphere. 24 hour services include Boutique Gourmande gourmet food counter, gym, WiFi, business corner with WiFi access and free high speed Internet. Bar, complimentary massage on Thursday evenings, private undercover car park. Accessible for persons with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Suitehotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.