We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad - keep away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ansbach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ansbach to your Saves list
Hotel Ansbach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ansbacher Strasse 4, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #464 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very bad - keep away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This could have been a very modest student style hostel... But no, this was one of my biggest disapointments. First - reception - a rude lady, who was somehow keen to convince me that my (perfectly working) credit card was inactive, hence I owe them more money for no-show, late payment, or whatever....(totally untrue). Room quality is below any standard - extremely old furniture, dissapointing view of early 80-es student dormitory...
And the worst thing - they would do whatever they can to collect your money even if you are dissapointed and refuse to use their services. No such thing as customer care or client satisfction policy - all they care is collecting your money (ipossibly including extra payment for ridiculous reasons). Just stay away - there are many decent hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Just chose another place nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
5
14
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The rooms are very small and some even no bathroom. The internet does not work above the second floor, TV is 10 years old at least and all in german, and the breakfast is not that great. The location is very close to the metro which was a positive thing, and a grocery store near by. The beds are made every day but towels are not replaced and even if you ask for a new towel the lady at the desk will just tell you no. The beds are horrible and you can feel the springs in them, and they are very small.. If you ask for simple tasks such as internet access she wont even respond to you and just coldly slap whatever you asked for on the counter without a word. (ofcourse after waiting a minute or 2 for her to finish on her computer). the elevator is rediculously tiny and you cannot fit more than 4 people in it. (its one of the that does not have automatic doors and takes FOREVER). Food was terribly boring and none of it was hot food, just room tempreature (including the milk,eggs, and yoghurt). Its not a luxurious hotel, Iv'e stayed at hostels that are better than this.

Room Tip: -Upper floors have bad internet connection -Vending machine is on 1st floor (1.50 euro for a drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated right in the heart of Berlin. It took just just few minutes to get to KuDam and I really felt like being in the centre. Although our room was very small and the bathroom was shared It was all clean and I had no problem with it. Even the breakfast was a surprise for me - there was everything I need for a great start. Recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. I've attached some photos of our room and breakfast. Overall, it's a great value with solid basic accommodations and perfect for travelers who spend most of their time outside exploring the city.

Location
- The hotel's best feature is probably its location. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the Zoo subway station, which is one of the central stations that many subway lines connect to. Also just down the street from Bus 100 stop, which takes you in a circle to the main sights of Berlin (Victory Column, Brandenberg Gate, etc.) - definitely ask about this bus because we didn't discover it until our last night in Berlin! Further down the street is another subway stop, Wittenbergplatz, as well as a supermarket and drugstore.

Breakfast
- The included breakfast had an assortment of meats, cheeses, and breads, and yogurt, milk, cereal, fruit, and juice and coffee. We stayed at several hotels in Europe that were all in the same price range, and this hotel definitely had the best breakfast (on top of that, it was free!)

Room
- Our room had 2 beds, a table and 2 chairs, a sink, mirror, and wardrobe. I don't think there was anyone else staying on our floor because it was very quiet and comfortable. I don't think there was anyone else staying on our floor, so it was very peaceful. The furnishings were a bit old, but the room was clean. There is also a small TV, but we never turned it on because we spent most of our time outside the hotel. Towels were also provided. The shared bathroom was down the hall and had a few shower stalls and bathrooms. It was also clean and had no issues.

Internet
- The Wi-Fi connection in our room was pretty much nonexistent. I think the signal is stronger if you stay in a room on the second floor closer to the lobby.

Accessibility
- I would not recommend this hotel if you aren't comfortable with stairs. There are about 10 steps outside leading to the front door of the hotel, and the elevator inside the hotel is small and slow. We only used the elevator when we were bringing our luggage in and out of the hotel.

Front Desk
- There's 24 hour guest service, which is great if you get in late or leave early. We checked out of the hotel at around 4am to catch a train and had no issues. There was a very handy Berlin map available at the desk that proved to be the best map we had of the city. The front desk people did not actually know much about sightseeing around Berlin and could not answer many of our questions.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Hotel is perfect for a trip to Berlin. The Hotel is located great, 2 minuts from the KaDeWe shopping center and the Kudamm with amazing shops, supermarkts, the Zoo , Aquarium , the subway station U2 Wittenbergplaz and different busses.
Our Hotel room was very nice and clean, the staff was very accomodating and friendly, the breakfast was delicious.

Conclusion = Perfect hotel, great price, we will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Well a short review, because we weren’t that satisfied about this hotel. The best thing to say about this hotel was the location, it was perfect. BUT

The room was very small, and the beds were very old, the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom. The room was dirty and had spots on the walls and dust everywhere. The breakfast was not good at the all, all the things you normally chilled wasn’t and I normally do not like warm yoghurt. The staff of the hotel was very impertinent and when we paid for our stay, we could only do it their way, and they made jokes about us not having any money on our credit cards.

Overall a much to expensive hotel with dirty rooms and impertinent staff, choose another hotel for your stay in Berlin

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Location is very good, but that's the only good thing about this hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable. The TV didn't work. The internet connection was very slow and crashed every 15 minutes. The breakfast was very poor. I stayed there in the summer, it was impossible to stay in the room during day time because it was hot as hell and it was impossible to open the window! The worst thing is the staff: they were so tough and never smiled, as if they were military officers. When I tried to explain to the receptionist that I was very unsatisfied with the hotel, the uncomfortable bed, the very hot room, bad internet connection and bad breakfast, she didn't even want to listen. She refused to let me speak to the manager and she said I can always go to another hotel. That's exactly what I will do in my next visit in Berlin, and that's what you should do too. Stay away from that hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ansbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ansbach

Address: Ansbacher Strasse 4, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ansbach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ansbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansbach Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ansbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.