We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a city break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juncker's Hotel Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Juncker's Hotel Garni to your Saves list
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Grunberger Strasse 21, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very spacious dorm room with plenty of storage and extremely comfortable beds, which is essential due to couping after nights of drinking. Set within a community neighbourhood with various shops and bars nearby. The location was good as it was only a sort walk to the nearest supermarket, tram and monorail. The shared bathroom facilities where adequate but would not be suited to very large individuals. Perfect place for a base for a short trip with a group of friends. Would without a doubt stay here again. Very reasonably priced!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
13
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

While the Juncker's also has a hotel section, I stayed in the "pension" section - so this review doesn't cover the hotel.

The room was extremely reasonably priced, but barely worth the money. It was very small with a single bed, a small desk and a sink in the room. The window went to a courtyard, so I hoped for a quiet night - but alas: there seems to be a bar of some sort in the square and quite possibly (I couldn't tell), the smokers go out back. Needless to say: rest without earplugs was a no-go.

The bathroom is off the hallway and is shared by all rooms on that hallway. While there are separate toilets for men and women, the showers (2) are not separate - not sure how that works. I had to get up early, so I had no competition for the shower, but I can imagine that during rush hour, this can get quite annoying. I counted 5 rooms on the floor.

The bathroom was in general quite run-down, though it seemed clean. The only irritating thing was a hole in the wall of the men's toilet with what looked like mouse droppings around it.

I didn't bother with breakfast so I can't comment on that.

All in all, I don't recommend this place. I've stayed for even less in small hotels that offered the bathroom in the room and - while you certainly can't expect a posh room - seemed to offer more in every respect.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "pension" - the hotel might be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0Gudrun0, Manager at Juncker's Hotel Garni, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,
I´m sorry for the inconvenience during your stay last october...In the meantime we haven´t got any Pension any more...It has been rebuilt into apartments and a room with own bath room!. As you mencioned in your review, we have also a hotel in the front side and more apartments. We would be pleased to welcome you again in the future in our hotel! Yours sincerely Ira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not the cheapest option available, but for a two-person room very reasonable, especially given what you get for. The location is quite peaceful side-street just a couple of minutes walk to the tram and some more to the subway. The surroundings area is not that polished, but shows people living there. The hotel itself is quite small, around 30 rooms maximum in an old building and operates with quite a small friendly staff. Because of this the reception is closed during the night. The room as the hotel was clean and everything operated as expected. For people in wheel chairs this might not be an option, as there are always at least few stairs, even to and from the elevator. The only minus I could say was that there was some metal workshop across the yard and during the workdays they started to make some noise early in the morning and the window needed to be closed (it was open because of the heat). The breakfast is not included in the default price, but you'll need to buy it separately. It is plenty and good, but still the price (8e per person) is a bit steep considering the overall price.
When travelling again to Berlin, I will definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Most reviews were pretty old, so I didn't quite know what to expect when I chose this hotel only for the price, but I was pleasantly surprised. My single room was small but clean and nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. Beware the reception is not open at night, though it's not a problem as long as you contact them about late arrival.

It might not be extremely central but communications were good and there was a lot of reasonably priced restaurants close.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

On arrival, they could find find no trace of my reservation, which could be their mistake or an error by Booking.com. With it being a weekend they could only only accomodate me for 1 of my 2 nights, but very quickly made arrangements for me elsewhere . I had not been in the room more than 5 minutes when reception called to say they had made arrangemed my second nights accomodation at Hotel 26 ( just accross the rodad-very nice & also reviewed ). It was more expensive, but Junckers would pay the difference. Excellent service!

Junckers is in a good location it a funky part of town with lots of good bars and places to eat. You are never far from the bus/train/tram in Berlin but buses stop right outside, trams stop at the end of the road and the U-Bahn is only a few minutes walk.

The hotel itself is OK for the price, but you don't get breakfast included. My room ( a single ) was on the small side, but had everything I was going to need. Bathroom, also on the small side, but everything worked and was very clean. Recepetion was quite modern and the breakfast/bar area behind was well kept, but other areas of the hotel looked a bit more old fashioned, but everywhere was clean and well kept. The real highlight here though are the staff who were always helpful.

All in all, I would stay at Junckers again if travelling alone. I would just double check direct with them they had my booking confirmed. If travelling with freinds/family/partner and wanted a bit more comfort, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

You get what you pay for. For some 25 euro per person in a single room, you should not expect luxury. Indeed, the part of the entire establishment I got accomodated in, was located in the backyard and called "pension", not the "hotel", which seemed more upgraded and cultivated. The room I was given was very small and basic (just a sink) with shared WC&bath facilities. It was something of a one star spot standard. Adequate for 25 euro, but obviously disappointing, if you would still have hoped to stay in a real hotel for that price.
The good thing about the hotel was an unlimited coffee and tee usage at the reception during the day (at least, that is was I was told). Another positive issue is its proximity to the Ostbahnhof train station, as well as to the U-Bahn line: 2 and 1 tram stops, respectively.
All in all, rather recommandable but for short stays, only when you don't need much more than just a bed to lay down at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend. The place itself is pretty quaint, and just a couple minutes walk from some useful train stations. The room was pretty basic and clean. What impressed us most was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. For example, we found the room a little hot for our first night (there was some sort of heat wave in Berlin) and without much trouble we were able to get a nice fan for the second night.

If you're looking in this price range, definitely keep this place in mind.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juncker's Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juncker's Hotel Garni

Address: Grunberger Strasse 21, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel in Berlin Friedrichshain, closed to east side gallery and O2-Arena. We have 17 double rooms and 15 single rooms as well as 6 apartments. Next underground station: "Frankfurter Tor", S-Bahn stations "Warschauer Str." or "Ostbahnhof" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Juncker's Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junckers Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juncker's Hotel Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.