We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very helpful staff, but wherei s my reservation?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juncker's Hotel Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Juncker's Hotel Garni to your Saves list
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Grunberger Strasse 21, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Bedford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location, very helpful staff, but wherei s my reservation?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

On arrival, they could find find no trace of my reservation, which could be their mistake or an error by Booking.com. With it being a weekend they could only only accomodate me for 1 of my 2 nights, but very quickly made arrangements for me elsewhere . I had not been in the room more than 5 minutes when reception called to say they had made arrangemed my second nights accomodation at Hotel 26 ( just accross the rodad-very nice & also reviewed ). It was more expensive, but Junckers would pay the difference. Excellent service!

Junckers is in a good location it a funky part of town with lots of good bars and places to eat. You are never far from the bus/train/tram in Berlin but buses stop right outside, trams stop at the end of the road and the U-Bahn is only a few minutes walk.

The hotel itself is OK for the price, but you don't get breakfast included. My room ( a single ) was on the small side, but had everything I was going to need. Bathroom, also on the small side, but everything worked and was very clean. Recepetion was quite modern and the breakfast/bar area behind was well kept, but other areas of the hotel looked a bit more old fashioned, but everywhere was clean and well kept. The real highlight here though are the staff who were always helpful.

All in all, I would stay at Junckers again if travelling alone. I would just double check direct with them they had my booking confirmed. If travelling with freinds/family/partner and wanted a bit more comfort, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

You get what you pay for. For some 25 euro per person in a single room, you should not expect luxury. Indeed, the part of the entire establishment I got accomodated in, was located in the backyard and called "pension", not the "hotel", which seemed more upgraded and cultivated. The room I was given was very small and basic (just a sink) with shared WC&bath facilities. It was something of a one star spot standard. Adequate for 25 euro, but obviously disappointing, if you would still have hoped to stay in a real hotel for that price.
The good thing about the hotel was an unlimited coffee and tee usage at the reception during the day (at least, that is was I was told). Another positive issue is its proximity to the Ostbahnhof train station, as well as to the U-Bahn line: 2 and 1 tram stops, respectively.
All in all, rather recommandable but for short stays, only when you don't need much more than just a bed to lay down at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend. The place itself is pretty quaint, and just a couple minutes walk from some useful train stations. The room was pretty basic and clean. What impressed us most was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. For example, we found the room a little hot for our first night (there was some sort of heat wave in Berlin) and without much trouble we were able to get a nice fan for the second night.

If you're looking in this price range, definitely keep this place in mind.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

i stayed here with my mother and grandmother when visiting my sister who lives in berlin.
the hotel is a small one right in the heart of friedrichshain. it's very clean, they serve good breakfast and you get free coffee and tea at the lobby all day long.
the interior and furniture are a bit old or rather old fashioned but every thing is clean and comfortable. the staff is very friendly. there's a bus stop right in front of the hotel so it's easy to get there and go anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed at Junckers for four nights in july. It has a good location, clean rooms, friendly staff and a reasonable price. We didn't bother the breakfast - it costs 8 Euro extra. During the night there were some noice from the backyard and the surroundings. The bigges problem was the beds - they were just to hard and uncomfortable. If they just could fix the beds, I would choose Junckers again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0Gudrun0, Manager at Juncker's Hotel Garni, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Hamar!
It´a lot time ago, since you were in our hotel in Berlin! unfortunately we have still hard beds, but we have 6 apartments in totally with new beds :-) ! perhaps you would like to visit us in the future again and try it in one of our apartments! that would be great!
Yours sincerely
Iratxe Erana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The room was comfortable, although the bathroom was across the hall, it was large and I had been advised of this before booking in. It is in the middle of Friedrichshain, close to the underground, trams and s-bahn. I found the staff hugely helpful and when I requested to leave one day earlier, they were extremely cooperative. This hotel has a really comfortable and safe "family owned" feel, which was very important for a solo female traveller.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steiermark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

During a two-nights stay at Juncker's Hotel Garni I got the impression that this is a pretty normal three-stars hotel. The double room where I stayed as a solo traveller was rather small and even more so was the bath room. The rather unattractive furniture fulfilled its purpose and was in good condition. Couples may be dissatisfied by the two single beds instead of a double bed, whereas for me this was, of course, irrelevant. Although I like firm beds, even by my standards the bed in my room was much too rigid. What I appreciated, on the other hand, was the desk equipped with a decent lamp, which rendered working in the evening quite comfortable. There were a few minor shortcomings. First, when stretching out the legs under the desk the feet got entangled in the maze of cables lying on the floor. Second, there was nothing where I could put the soap and the shampoo in the shower.

Since my room (as most others of this hotel) was directed to the inner court, it was perfectly silent at night. In the morning I could even hear the birds twitter. This quietness may rather have had to do with the fact that the adjacent rooms were either empty or that the guests staying there produced virtually no noise than with the sound insulation of the building, because in the evening I could once hear a guest in a neighbouring room snoring.

In contrast to most hotels nowadays there is self-service only for coffee, tea and cereals, but no buffet breakfast. Instead, a plate with meat, cheese and some vegetables is served along with butter, jam, honey, different kinds of bread and a glass of orange juice. In addition, the staff offers freshly boiled eggs as well as yoghurt, and tries to fulfil any special withes. This is the characteristic of Juncker's Hotel Garni: Its owners and the staff are always helpful and friendly and try to make the stay as convenient as possible. This creates the hospitable atmosphere that is the hallmark of this hotel. As a drawback to be mentioned it is a bit pricey compared to other hotels of a similar standard.

It is situated in an area that is neither pretty not ugly but in between. According to some locals, safety would sometimes be an issue there. However, I did not experience any problem of that kind. A favourable feature of the area is the wide variety of bars and restaurants in particular in Simon-Dach-Strasse. Furthermore, this hotel is well suited for users of public transport due to the large number of connections available at the near U-Bahn and S-Bahn station Warschauer Strasse.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juncker's Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juncker's Hotel Garni

Address: Grunberger Strasse 21, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel in Berlin Friedrichshain, closed to east side gallery and O2-Arena. We have 17 double rooms and 15 single rooms as well as 6 apartments. Next underground station: "Frankfurter Tor", S-Bahn stations "Warschauer Str." or "Ostbahnhof" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Juncker's Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junckers Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juncker's Hotel Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.