We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiso Burger

Shiso Burger
Auguststrasse, Berlin, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 5,981 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was easely the best burger I had in a long time.
I eat non fast-food burgers a lot, and this one was outstanding.
Run by Vietnamese, they offer burgers with an asian twist. Ofcourse a veggie and a tuna burger were also on the menu. I ordered a chili lime burger with fresh cilantro. Asked how I like it cooked, bloody was the answer. The meat was very good.
A big plus were the sweet potato fries! A bit crunchier would have been nice, but thats the difficult thing about sweet potatos.
Seating was simple on pick-nick tables. They also have a small sitting area with lounge chairs.
The open kitchen offers you a glance at the work done on your food. I always appreciate that.
The Burger, fries and a beer set me back about 14 euros. Very resonable in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Gourmet burgers in the Gallery district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We tried this place out on a Monday night, and it was pretty busy. We managed to get a seat in the place, and turn over seems to be pretty high so you wouldn't really need to wait too long to get a place to sit. The burger was pretty good, it's more a smaller gourmet burger then a big artery clogging type that you would find at some of the other burger locations in Berlin. Everything was fresh and looked quite good. The bun was soft which can be a bit difficult if it starts to soak up all the liquids at the bottom of the wrapper. They server all the dishes in the traditional dim sum bamboo dishes. The fries were quite nice and a break from all the generic frozen deep fried varieties. They do pay attention to details here. As noted elsewhere the burgers are a bit small, but a good size, some people get two burgers and a side or vice versa. I left feeling full but not stuffed which was nice on just one chili lime burger. side of fries and a beer.

We did notice the lighting was somewhat harsh, which leads to people not sitting around so much and feel the need to leave after eating (which is both good and bad). We didn't sit and have another round of beers there but opted to go to another location for some drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great burgers, great style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Tried 3 of their burgers - lemon-chili, toad and bulgagi and all were great. My gf also tried the veggie and enjoyed it very much. The dishes might be a bit small, but reasonably priced and when accompanied by one of the best home fries dishes I ever had, it did the job. The atmosphere and concept bring in a twist that transform this place from a simple burger joint to a stylish street food place. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton.Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“burger with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We came across it as it was very near our hotel and we didn't want to walk far.
We only wanted a simple evening meal.
It was good quality, simple food with a twist, would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Burgers with a Japanese touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice place and very good food. Go for the menu during daytime. Find a table outside during the hot days.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiso Burger also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Shiso Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiso Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.