We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel - but needs some attention...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katharina-Paulus-Strasse 5, 10557 Berlin, Germany (Moabit)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A good hotel - but needs some attention...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This new InterCity hotel located adjacent to Berlin BHF (main railway station) is really in an exceptionally good location.

Room rates are OK - but, if having to pay for the self-service breakfast too, maybe the rate may not be so attractive, because breakfast is only just adequate. Perhaps, because the staff are all newly recruited, you can forgive the sloppy service (or lack of it) during breakfast. Tables are not cleared, thus adding to the congestion and disorder (sometimes) in the morning. Staff prefer to chat amongst themselves and totally ignore requests from their customers! Maybe a bit more training is needed in this area? It would be nice (at least) to be shown to a clean table.

Reception staff (although mechanically polite) fail to make the guest feel welcome. Definitely no smiles or "chit chat" from these receptionists. Unfortunately, their efficiency is also questionable - lots of mistakes on our bill - and even the simplest of compilations was not met with ease here. (I get the feeling that the reception staff were thrown in at the deep end and are just muddling through.)

The public areas are good and nicely decorated - very simplistic in style.

The restaurant is adequate with a fair menu for this grade of hotel, albeit a bit overpriced - but the service here is very friendly and efficient.

The bar staff too are friendly and efficient.

The rooms are good - style and décor is good. Beds are comfortable. Pillows are awful. One pillow per bed - so you have to request more pillows from reception.

The air-conditioning is a BIG, BIG problem at this hotel...

Although the air-con is working (it's quite noisy) it doesn't throw out much cool air. I can't imagine how anyone would be able to sleep at all here in the summer months, because I woke up on numerous occasions each night (5 nights) "sweating like a pig" in October. Windows, which can be opened very slightly, let in the noise from the railway station - so this is not an option. The company needs to sort this out because, if they don't, I can't see them having any repeat clients.

Bathrooms were very good. No bath - but a very good shower. Towels, on the other hand, were of poor quality and only the size of a very small bath towel - no bath sheets at this hotel! Toiletries were minimal - one "on the wall" bottle in the shower and one near the washbasin.

The lack of tea and coffee making facilities was a nuisance.

Hotel security was very good. Key-cards had to be used in the lift: (Swipe the key-card in the slot provided and punch in your floor number.)

Lifts were big and efficient - no waiting around for the lift.

The crowning glory of this hotel is that it gives you (on arrival) a transport ticket for use in Berlin - Zones A, B & C. This is a definite positive for tourists - although maybe not so attractive for business travellers (?)

Maybe, because the hotel is so new, there are some teething problems - but the company needs to iron these out as soon as possible.

All in all, there are many positives for this hotel - but the air-con problems over-ride these positives and, until they are sorted out, I would (sadly) not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    142
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
129
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it has a great location for sightseeing and is reasonably priced especially as they give you a transport pass that can take you out to Potsdam. The hotel is new and the air conditioning is poor/ not working properly and the reception team are aware of this and they act like it doesn't matter - you can't open the windows as you are by the station and its noisy - so yes it does matter.

Breakfast is self service with a good selection of food but the waiting staff struggle clearing the tables

Am sure once they are open a bit longer they will have ironed out the issues as this could be a great place to stay

Room Tip: Request a room that faces inwards so you can open the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As of mid-October 2013 the hotel is brand new. It is not a five-star luxury hotel, but it is modern, clean, quiet and comfortable. Decor is hip and modern.

Check-in was fast and efficient.

The already fair rate included free wifi and free passes for the public transit. The room had a kettle and tea and coffee.

Its best feature is it is only one block from the central train station, making a perfect base to start or complete a train journey. It is a solid 10 or 15 minute walk to the Brandenberg Gate and the Mitte shopping and restaurant area.

An iron and ironing board would have been handy but otherwise everything was taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is new - with others still being built all around it. It is very close to the Hbf station (not East as in other review) with trains passing close to the bedrooms but you can't hear them if the windows are closed. The room was pleasant enough but there were some odd quirks which lowered my score
- you had to use your door pass in the lift to get to your floor, and then again to get from the lift lobby to the rooms corridor. All nice and secure I suppose but very irritating with bags
- no kettles in the room (seems to be a German hotel thing) and none could be provided. Was told to order tea from the bar (at cost)
- when we checked in we were told we were in room 210. Went to it but couldn't get door to open. Went back to reception and a different man said we were in 107. Keys worked for that but how does that confusion arise?
- we'd booked and paid in advance so were rather surprised to be told that there was a bill to settle when checking out. I assume this relates to the earlier room 210 or 107 mix up so presumably the people in 210 got a freebie. Managed to produce paperwork to show that we had already paid but not impressed that I had to.
- they provide smoking areas in the hotel so why do you have to push through a crowd of smokers on the doorstep? Needs somebody in the hotel to get a grip

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Katharina-Paulus-Strasse 5, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In October 2013, we have opened our biggest InterCityHotel right in the middle of the pulsating metropolis Berlin, set directly at the main station. Within spitting distance, you can find some excitement here in the beautiful city centre with its important sights like the Federal Chancellery, the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gate, the shopping centre Friedrichstrasse or the legendary Ku'damm. From the centrally located InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, you find the best connections to all forms of local public transport within walking distance. Therefore, you can reach all of the interesting parts and sights of the city in no time by using your FreeCityTicket, as a special service of the hotel for every guest, included in the price of the room. Regardless of whether you are in the city on business or for pleasure, you will immediately feel at home in one of our 412 delightfully furnished rooms with their modern colour concept. All the rooms are designed in warm brown and beige tones and topped off with stylish accents in terra cotta. Why not start the new day with a great range of delicious breakfast treats available from our sumptuous breakfast buffet. For the remaining meals you will certainly find something tasty in our restaurant or Bistro Lounge. It is our utmost pleasure to welcome all our guests in a warm and friendly manner, as with pleasure we strive to create a superb experience to all our clients visiting Berlin. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.