We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel we've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cat's Pajamas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cat's Pajamas to your Saves list
Cat's Pajamas
Urbanstr. 84, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel we've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week in November and we were really impressed: friendly staff; clean private room with comfortable bed; en-suite with great high-pressure shower and heating in the floor; plenty of storage space including a clothes rail with hangars; free breakfast (bread rolls, cheese, salami, honey, tea/coffee); plenty of kitchen equipment and space to cook and eat; quirky modern decor; great location near to Underground station, plenty of kebab/falafel places and cosy candle-lit bars (on Weserstrasse).

The only minor downsides are: 2 single duvets on a double bed; need to change lines on the Underground to get back from anywhere other than the main stations (Alexanderplatz etc.); and that's it really!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
33
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

For every little detail in this hostel, it's as if the owners ensured there was an insight behind each.

- Need to charge devices or read on your bed? No problem, you have your own light and socket.
- Is the room too dark or bright? No worries, adjust the remote-controlled window.
- Not enough hangers/hooks in the room? Okay, let's put a lot in the lockers, room and bathroom!
- Want to cook your own meals? Go ahead, everything is provided for in the communal kitchen. Just label your food in the fridge.
- Are you shy to hang out in the lounge area? Don't be. Check out our comfortable, quirky seats made just for you!

And the list goes on...just check out what the others have written.

I just had minor issues during my stay:
- Although near a metro station, the hostel is still located quite far from the main sights. Make sure you have a day pass because you'll be taking a lot of metros.
- The wi-fi didn't work in my room which was at the end of the hall.
- It was noisy at night, but I guess they can't do much about street noise. (Soundproof windows would've been better than remote-controlled ones, don't you think? Just a thought.)

One more thing I noticed was there was a big group of teenage travellers during my stay. Maybe I'm just used to being with 20- and 30-somethings during my hostel stays, but if you want a slightly mature crowd, simply go out and explore the nearby bars/pubs.

Overall, Cat's Pajamas is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Pros: clean, friendly, spacious, complimentary breakfast, towels and sheets included, relatively cheap laundry(about 4 euro total), huge kitchen, and a shower with great water pressure and it drains! The showers are separate from the bathroom and they are in each room.

Con: location. It's not in the best neighborhood, but I went with a girlfriend of mine and we're both mid-20s and we were perfectly safe, even going to the bar.

However, it's right near the metro and if you ask around you'll find that there are some pretty good bars and restaurants near by.

We went to a few cities before stopping in Berlin and no other hostel came close.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the Cat's Pyjamas for 5 days in September and had a wonderful time. The hostel is immaculate and the staff very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The common room and kitchen were always a social place to be and the other travellers we met were fantastic.
Location was not completely central but turned out to be very easy to navigate to main attractions. I would definitely recommend The Cat's Pyjamas to other travellers and stay there again myself should I ever return to Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howth, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having stayed over about 10 years in around 100 hostels and about the same hotels - this was in the top 5 of both. It was spotlessly clean. The staff and service was great. The showers rocked.

I stayed for business and it is conveniently located next to a metro and in the new chic/trendy/cool area of Berlin. I can recommend trying local bars and restaurants if you wander the side streets heading towards the River Spree. The breakfast was substantial and tasty. And I know from other guests that the free breakfast and free linen was pretty unique for a hostel in Berlin. A thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I can recommend the private rooms as only slightly more expensive on a per perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cats Pajamas for 4 nights and were very pleased. It's located in very short walking distance from the Hermannplatz train station and is also located across the road from a department store called Kastardt, on the bottom floor of which is a supermarket, which was very convenient.

Upon our arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. The size of the room is good compared to many other hostels and the staff tidy the room and the bed for you, which I had not expected and it was a very nice touch. My only comment is that labels (pictures) on the kitchen drawers would be helpful to make it easier for guests to find things. Also be advised though that at nighttime the local restaurant options can be a little bit limited, dominated by Turkish take aways and seedy casinos. But get on the train and explore Berlin! Public transport is cheap and easy to use. The Cats Pajamas is a great base to see a great city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The title of the review is what you need to know about Cat's Pajamas. The owners have created a masterpiece when it comes to modern hostel living. Clean, friendly staff, large common area. But it's in a tougher neighborhood (but close to mass transit).

Although the biggest issue I had was the ages of the groups staying at the Hostel. This isn't only for people in their 20s-Early 30s, be warned. We had a large group of 13-16 year old kids with adult supervisors. We also had some 50+ year old men staying solo. It's not terrible, but it limits your social opportunities if you're looking to meet people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cat's Pajamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Pajamas

Address: Urbanstr. 84, 10967 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cat's Pajamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat's Pajamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.