We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is, truly, the "Cat's Pajamas"...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cat's Pajamas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cat's Pajamas to your Saves list
Cat's Pajamas
Urbanstr. 84, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place is, truly, the "Cat's Pajamas"...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hostels are a dime a dozen, folks, but this one's a WINNER! The Cat's Pajamas is a fabulous place to stay in Berlin! Located in the funky Kreuzburg area, it's a little off the "beaten path", but it is easily enough accessible via U-Bahn (Hermannplaz). They have a superb, friendly, and helpful multilingual staff. Plenty of power outlets available, particularly in the common areas. A good, typical "German Style" breakfast is provided free of charge in a HUGE kitchen (and they do the dishes!). There is a Karstadt conveniently located across the street for grocery shopping.

The rooms here are small, but are very clean with each bunk boasting its' own power outlet, recessed shelf, and light. The shower areas in the rooms are nicer than those that I have found in many of hotels that I have stayed in (love the "rainfall" shower heads), especially with the toilet being located in a separate room from the shower stall! This is easily the nicest hostel that I've ever stayed at, and IMO, is far superior to many/most "discount" motel chains found here in the States. Will *definitely* stay here on my next trip to BER. Thanks, Cat's Pajamas! See you again, soon!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a four-bed dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    36
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
35
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hostel was modern and immaculate but with so much character. Really friendly staff and great value considering breakfast and wifi were also included. U-Bahn just around the corner so good connections. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here with a friend over the new year period, it was our first trip to Berlin,so we had lots of questions and knew very little about the city but the staff were always friendly, happy to answer our questions and gave us advice on where to visit! This place is stylish and comfortable. Free WiFi is always a bonus. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Andre, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

That's probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in. They have everything it takes to host greatly: it's super clean, modern, spacious (even the rooms are big enough), comfortable and clean beds, sheets and towels, wifi in the rooms, nice and modern common area, huge kitchen very well equipped, nice space outside in the back to hang out during the day. It's in a great area, the trendiest in town, Neukölln, almost across Hermannplatz u-bahn station, which meand you are just a few stations from the city center (or you could rent a bike in the hostel itself).

Besides, the staff is great, very friendly, out of their way to make you feel comfortable with everything you need, and the price for a night is really, really good.

Ah, not to mention the free breakfast, very decent, with two kinds of bread, butter, jam, nutella, cheese and salami.

I would recommend to any kind of traveler, because they even have private rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Located in Kreuzberg, lots to do in the area with underground station next door. Really nice helpful staff always around to give directions/ideas for things to do. Hostel is well kept and great sociable kitchen/lounge area so always something to do. Would definitely recommend staying here and staying in Kreuzberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the best hostel we stayed in during our entire 2 months travelling. The room was clean and fresh, and the bathrooms were spacious with good showers. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The kitchen was really well equipped (it even had an oven) with plenty of room to sit around to eat and drink. The breakfast was very simple but still enough to fill you up, with cornflakes, coffee and bread with jam. The hostel was really close to the metro station and there were lots of supermarkets / takeaway shops nearby. Free wifi Lockers in the room as well as big lockers for free downstairs to store your backpack if you need to.
Can’t really complain about this hostel as it really was the best one we stayed in. The only things I would say is the twin room had bunk beds instead of a double bed which was annoying as we went as a couple. A bit too far out of the city centre in an average area but luckily the metro is really close (although it takes a while). Also, it was very noisy at night as the hostel is on the main road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, great vibe, spotless room, big shower which is not the norm as I noticed while in Europe. Super friendly staff - especially when they had to explain the cool window/door in our room! I kept joking I wanted to move in permanently but I just loved it there. Huge kitchen, great music, coffee and beer for sale! It was the last place we stayed in our 2 weeks abroad and it was a great place to finish. I definitely plan on returning to Berlin and staying here again! It IS the cat's pajamas lol

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cat's Pajamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Pajamas

Address: Urbanstr. 84, 10967 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cat's Pajamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat's Pajamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.