We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place We've Ever Stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Das Stue to your Saves list
Das Stue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Place We've Ever Stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Upon our arrival, we were welcomed by the nicest young doorman. Our whole time at the hotel felt like the ultimate experience of lovely employees who seemed truly interested in our having a good time and really getting to know Berlin.

Our room overlooked the ostriches and horses. But the neatest thing about it was the design. All the closets and storage spaces were integrated into the walls in a very contemporary way. The bathroom was cleverly designed as well. Our room was not big, but just right for us.

Our "business breakfasts" were a pleasure as the breads and fruits were fresh and the omelets custom ordered to our morning desires.

Our concierge could not have been more helpful. Plus, the neighborhood is in a most interesting area for walking -- woods one way, a canal another way and beautiful embassy buildings surrounding the area.

Room Tip: A sk for a room with a view of the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    59
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
188
24
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I just loved everything in that hotel (well... almost).
Beautiful interior design, very nice staff and amazing view.
Only thing that still need a little improvement is casual restaurant, because food was good, but not so great.
But after all this hotel was simply fantastic!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent hotel. Everything very well done. Breakfast was great, decor was sleek and whimsical in a historic building, and staff were marvelous -- especially Tobias, he is a rock star.

But the star of the show was our room overlooking the zoo. It was crazy. It was our favorite on our nearly three-week vacation. We left the windows open and watched the ostriches and antelope-like things and all their little offspring run around and put on a show.
Simply brilliant.

Room Tip: Grab a bike and go. It's Berlin, that's what you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent a hundred $ extra and upgraded to a junior suite and it was beautiful. The regular rooms looked very nice and good-sized but the junior suite was HUGE with a gorgeous bathroom, exceptionally comfortable bed, view of the animals in the zoo, tons of storage space, etc. Could not have been happier and would suggest you try and upgrade if you're exploring Berlin for the first time.

This hotel rents bicycles and locks. We didn't realize how bike-friendly is Berlin. From the hotel's location just outside the Tiergarten, it is central to everything. A 15 minute bike ride in any direction and you were at a great museum. So we spent two full days riding bikes, visiting museums, exploring East Berlin, riding to hip neighborhoods, the palace, the art galleries, the Holocaust memorial. We truly could not have had more fun!

The hotel is a great base camp. The bar is wonderful. There's a very nice outdoor space for beer and a smoke. The restaurant tries very hard. The food is okay but it's presented well and thoughtful. And the staff could not have been nicer explaining ways around town, good restaurants etc.

This was our first trip to Berlin and we didn't want to leave. Half of that had to go to Das Stue who made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The other half to the wonderful people of Berlin and their beautiful city. We will definitely be back for both.

Run, don't walk. Das Stue is a keeper!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your very positive experience at Das Stue. It is great when one can both enjoy the hotel and the wonderful city of Berlin. We agree that the city is perfect for cycling around. And we are happy you were able to enjoy our hospitality so much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

From the moment I arrived I was greeted by the friendly door man. My first night I had a zoo view room. I wanted a room with a bathtub to soak after my long travels so they were kind enough to move my room. The beds are so comfortable. Wonderful bed linens & soft pillows as well. The staff were incredibly accommodating. I was very sick when I arrived to Berlin. Room service prepared a nice soup for me even though it was not on the menu. The hotel arranged for a doctor to visit me in the comfort of my room. They went to the pharmacy & delivered my prescriptions to me. What fantastic service! Not only were the staff so kind but it's a beautiful, unique hotel that's wonderfully decorated with a mix of modern and retro inspired furnishings. The owner of the hotel has one of the best collections of black-and-white photography so wonderfully curated & displayed around the hotel. I could call Das Stue home. They exceeded all of my expectations in a hotel from design, location, customer service, comfort and hospitality. Hands down one of my most enjoyable stays anywhere in the world!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having shared your wonderful experience at Das Stue. We are very proud to read your review and so happy that you felt like Das Stue is your home. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was lucky that my company booked me into this hotel on my last trip to Berlin. My room was a bit on the small side but not a problem as I was traveling solo and it had everything I needed. Staff was extremely helpful. Thank you for the nice stay, i come back with my hubby :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review and we are also happy that your company chose our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back with your husband.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlwood, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in Berlin for five nights, and found Das Stue through the Design Hotels group. We were instantly drawn to it's beautiful fit-out, location and great reviews.

Service - the Germans know how to deliver great service. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. Across the duration of our stay we interacted with the reception, concierge, restaurant, bar and door employees - all with a smile and an eagerness to please.

Our room, Junior Suite from memory, was well-equipped with modern technologies and comforts - an Apple monitor as a tv (in two rooms - the bedroom and lounge area); comfortable chair and seating, great bed (although I will say the pillows - giant as they were - were too soft for my liking); shower with multiple heads (I know, right).

When booking, ask for a room overseeing the zoo - everyone does and its' certainly the room you want - although don't be disappointed if you miss out, there are plenty of places to get a view of the animals from around the zoo gardens.

We'd had breakfast there every day (after thinking we had it included in our cost, which we didn't - d'oh!) which offered quite a selection; we ate at the casual restaurant once (it was nice, but I'd pass it to explore Berlin's other foodie stops) and we skipped Paco's 5 resturant (the reviews seem slightly mixed - plus it's Spanish and we just spent two weeks in Spain!)

Would we stay there again? Hell yeah. We had a great time and again, the service was fab. If you're willing to fork out the funds (it ain't cheap), do it - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your most positive review and for having stayed with us at Das Stue. We are very happy to read that you appreciated all the hotel's facilities and especially the service.

Next time though, do try our Cinco restaurant. It does have a Spanish influence, but the food is exceptional and very creative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Address: Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
79 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Perez.Other facilities include a spa by Suzanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.