We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Das Stue to your Saves list
Das Stue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was lucky that my company booked me into this hotel on my last trip to Berlin. My room was a bit on the small side but not a problem as I was traveling solo and it had everything I needed. Staff was extremely helpful. Thank you for the nice stay, i come back with my hubby :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review and we are also happy that your company chose our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back with your husband.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    58
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
184
22
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Earlwood, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in Berlin for five nights, and found Das Stue through the Design Hotels group. We were instantly drawn to it's beautiful fit-out, location and great reviews.

Service - the Germans know how to deliver great service. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. Across the duration of our stay we interacted with the reception, concierge, restaurant, bar and door employees - all with a smile and an eagerness to please.

Our room, Junior Suite from memory, was well-equipped with modern technologies and comforts - an Apple monitor as a tv (in two rooms - the bedroom and lounge area); comfortable chair and seating, great bed (although I will say the pillows - giant as they were - were too soft for my liking); shower with multiple heads (I know, right).

When booking, ask for a room overseeing the zoo - everyone does and its' certainly the room you want - although don't be disappointed if you miss out, there are plenty of places to get a view of the animals from around the zoo gardens.

We'd had breakfast there every day (after thinking we had it included in our cost, which we didn't - d'oh!) which offered quite a selection; we ate at the casual restaurant once (it was nice, but I'd pass it to explore Berlin's other foodie stops) and we skipped Paco's 5 resturant (the reviews seem slightly mixed - plus it's Spanish and we just spent two weeks in Spain!)

Would we stay there again? Hell yeah. We had a great time and again, the service was fab. If you're willing to fork out the funds (it ain't cheap), do it - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your most positive review and for having stayed with us at Das Stue. We are very happy to read that you appreciated all the hotel's facilities and especially the service.

Next time though, do try our Cinco restaurant. It does have a Spanish influence, but the food is exceptional and very creative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is one of those places where you long for returning. Hospitality, atmosphere, rooms , bar and garden lounge as well as the position and calm surroundings make this hotel THE ONE AND ONLY! We visited many hotels in Berlin but this one is definitely the best!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We just love to be called the Best! Thank you for shaing your experience with us. We are happy to read that we exceeded expectations in all departments.

We do really hope to welcome you back very soon to our special place.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a very nice design/boutique hotel in a great central location in Berlin. The rooms are very cool (good luck finding all of the cupboards!) and the bed was extremely comfortable. Downstairs area is also very nice, outside sitting area, bar and restaurant all great and the staff very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your very positive review on our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon


With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Das Stue ("Living room" in Danish) is the old Danish Embassy, right at the Tiergarten and park.

Service is amazing, rooms are great, and the location is perfect and quiet.
We ordered breakfast for the room, and it was very delicious and plentyful.

The gym was not the best, but it had standard equipment.

All in all, a great hotel that I absolutely can recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your great review and we are really happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed our gym is a little on the small side but we hope that there was enough equipment to provide a good work out. I also hope you were also able to take advantage of the Tiergarten park on our doorstep... The park offers amazing runs as you may well know.

Thank you for having chosen Das Stue and we do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel was originally an embassy so you know it's going to have some quirky aspects to it.
The hotel was superb easily one of the best we have stayed in and a favourite. Not many rooms which means service is exceptional, faclities always available and very well located for exploring the city of Berlin.

Our room had everything we needed (best shower ever) although the apple TV was a little slow and difficult to use at first.

I would highly recommend this hotel and is best for couples looking for a child free romantic weekend retreat.

Book a stay, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your positive experience at Das Stue. Yes the hotel used to be the former Danish Embassy and this does add to the special atmosphere.

We are happy to read that the service was exceptional and sorry to know that you felt the tv system took a little long, I do hope it did not cause too much inconvenience and hope it was an isolated case.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Unique and wonderful hotel located in the heart of the Tiergarten. Our rooms overlooked the Berlin zoo and it was delightful to wake up every morning and watch them coming out of their houses. The rooms and tech were top notch design and the lobby/lounge area very well designed.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of zoo are unique with our without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most positive review and for sharing it. Indeed our Zoo facing rooms are very popular as they do offer a unique view over Berlin's zoo.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you for having chosen Das Stue,

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Address: Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
79 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Perez.Other facilities include a spa by Suzanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.