We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing design hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stue

Save Saved
You added Das Stue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Das Stue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 664 hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing design hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just came back from a weekend in Berlin, staying at Das Stue. It is a stunning design hotel housed in the old Danish embassy, overlooking the Zoo. We had a spacious suite which was beautifully designed, had all the mod cons and Diptyque toiletries.
We normally tend to go out for breakfast when we are on a city break but I am glad we didn't on this trip. The breakfast was amazing! Great selection and great service. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but we did have pre / post dinner drinks. The bar was lively and the staff were very attentive. Good selection of wines and great snacks.
The location was ideal. A lovely walk through the park to get to the Brandenburger Tor and not that from the Kurfurstendamm for some shopping.
Absolutely loved it and will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the Zoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having stayed at our hotel and for sharing your experience.

Happy to hear you enjoyed and appreciated our breakfast so much and that the location was ideal for your weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    42
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
126
15
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our first time in Berlin and what a perfect hotel. The 40th Berlin Marathon was run whilst we were there and I think some of the participants where staying at Das Stue. Celebrations gave the hotel a festive feel but management made sure that it did not spoil other visitors enjoyment. The suite we had was spacious with all the finishing touches to give it a luxurious feel. Food was excellent especially the Eggs Benedict. The tapas served in the bar where exceptionally good as we're the many cocktails they served. Situated next to the Zoo and ten minutes walk from the main shopping centre. You can walk through the park , visit the shops or take the tour bus round the city. I could write more but suffice to say you should go and visit the Das Stue yourself. We certainly will.

Room Tip: Choose room overlooking the zoo and park quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing this on tripadvisor.

The marathon weekend was a great event and we are happy that it all turned out so well.

We do hope to welcome you back soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, clean, the staff is amazing, and the rooms are very nice. It's a bit off the beaten path but well worth it. The only con I would have to say is their food and wine; you definitely don't get what you pay for there. It is VERY expensive. For instance their cheapest glass of red wine by the glass is 7 Euro for a mere 2oz, YIKES!!!! Buyer beware!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very happy to hear that Das Stue was the best hotel you ever stayed in and thank you for sharing this.

I am sorry to hear that you find out FB offering expensive. We do serve a high quality of wine and also like to offer a larger serving than found normally in other bars! I do hope though you enjoyed it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Das Stue shortly after it was opened. The building and interior is just amazing, from the lobby over the restaurant to the rooms, the architects did an amazing job of combining modern and historic flair.

The rooms are very spacious and well designed. Although we had a junior suite with panoramic windows to the zoo gardens, we were shocked to learn that there was no bath tub. We asked for a room change, which was arranged from the second night - we moved into a suite at the street side which had a bath tub, but this time the windows were so small that we could not look outside. But for both room types the interior design made up for the shortcomings.

Breakfast, although expensive, is excellent. They put great attention to detail in the selection of locally produced ingredients and beverages. We also liked the glassware from the Lausitz region. Service was excellent, we mixed up our timezones and showed up at 12:30 PM, and we were still served - very nice.

We had dinner at the restaurant, and the food and presentation was really good.

The pool is nice and large enough for actual swimming. Since we stayed in the winter, we would have preferred a heated pool. There is a sauna, with awesome design, but the oven was underpowered, and it did not heat up sufficiently.

Overall the service was very nice and attentive - many of the staff seemed a bit nervous, but probably that was because we visited just after opening.

During checkout we had a somewhat unpleasant experience with the spa staff. We were charged a cancellation fee for a spa session we never booked. One day we had asked what time the spa opens in the morning, and apparently they took that as a booking. Eventually it was taken off the bill, but it required quite some discussion. The misunderstanding itself is forgivable, but there shouldn't be a cancellation fee in the first place, and definitely no bickering.

One drawback is the location. Although quiet, it is a bit difficult to get to the main parts of the city, unless you use a taxi. But in the end we enjoyed our stay at this special location and will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive review and having stayed with us. Indeed you had stayed when we just opened and perhaps as you mention was why some of the staff was a little nervous. They are now all much more confident.

Not all our rooms have bathtubs, I am happy to hear though we were able to have one for you. Our pool is now warmer and the sauna is now working properly. We do apologise for the spa incident.

We do consider our location more of an advantage being in between East and West Berlin and only 10 minutes walk from the famous shopping street the "Kudamm". The taxis are luckily inexpensive and of course Berlin is also great to bike around.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Das Stue is an amazing hotel. Quiet and unassuming where nothing is too much trouble. We had 2 Jnr Suites interconnecting and they were lovely, large and airy! Gregor absolutely made our trip. He bent over backwards to ensure that we had the best visit possible. Great location near Tiergarten and Berlin Zoo as well as the main shopping area. Word of advice, book for the restaurants before you arrive. We were there for 3 nights and they were booked out so we ate out but Gregor recommended some great places to go. We are definitely going back. Thanks again Gregor and your team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Am very happy to hear that you were so well looked after and especially by Gregor. Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and having shared your experience on Tripadvisor.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door of Das Stue we knew we were in a special hotel. Everything was just amazing. Probably the friendliest staff of any hotel I have been to, nothing was too much trouble. The concierge Gregor, spent time with us planning our days and recommending places to eat. We had a room overlooking the zoo so every morning from our bed we could see the Ostriches and Antelopes! Where else can you get that? The interior design is just spectacular, our room was fantastic and the bar is very cool, yet comfortable with delicious cocktails! I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, and the next time I'm in Berlin I will definitely stay here. In fact I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the zoo. Although if you are a light sleeper staying on a Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Very happy to hear that you enoyed your stay so much and that our staff's friendliness was especially noted. Glad to know that you appreciated our Zoo facing rooms as well.

Thank you for having stayed with us and sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is excellent in every way. The location in the Tiergarten allows you to jog, walk or bicycle at your leisure and take in the lovely park. The design is very modern but functional, beautiful and comfortable. The lounge feels like being in a large but I intimate living room with superb service. The service at the front desk by all staff was attentive and efficient. Special attention is payed to all guests and Tess was the lovely young women who did that for us. Gregor the concierge was exceptional and looked after every detail for us, large or small. We ate elsewhere but the food did look excellent. Our stay was most excellent due to the friendliness of staff and comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: Balcony during the summer would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for having stayed at our hotel and for the positive review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and particulary that our staff was so friendly.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Address: Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
79 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Perez.Other facilities include a spa by Suzanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.