We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful like a dream!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Das Stue to your Saves list
Das Stue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful like a dream!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Das Stue is surely the best hotel in Berlin, close to the main park of the town with the silence and the parfume of the nature. I will come back also because in this hotel everyone is really kind and polite. Our room is a dream !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

We are overjoyed to be described as the best hotel in Berlin and I am also particulary pleased to hear that you mention our staff as being polite and kind which really makes the difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    89
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
66
318
35
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Das Stue has the best location imagineable, great architecture and design, the friendliest and most attentive staff ever, and not only wonderful rooms, but immaculate service and... it is QUIET! I have never been able to sleep well in hotels... until now. The cocktails at the hotel bar, which welcomes a relaxed and chic crowd (not only hotel guest, but also locals) are wonderful, as is the food. The casual restaurant is very nice, situated in the breakfast area. Behind it is restaurant "5" (try the Wagyu - delicious!) with its wonderful, knowledgable and discreet staff. A wonderful address!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review and having stayed with us. We are happy to know that you appreciate the finer details that Das Stue has to offer. Being able to sleep well in a hotel is a very important factor and that we were able to satisfy you in this respect is well noted and makes us proud. Michael and his bar team also work hard to ensure we serve the best cocktails in Berlin and good food is also one of our strong points which Paco Perez and his team strive for.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best hotel me and my wife have stayed in to date, which is quite a statement for very picky guests.

The exceptional experience begins upon arrival when viewing the former embassy from the exterior. A beautiful almost regal stone building, with the glass ceiling to floor entrance giving it a modern lift. The attention to design and detail continues inside with a beautiful lobby, where you are met by the most friendly of staff who make check-in seamless and personally escort you to your room. Once there you are shown the facilities within the room which include an apple mac computer with free wifi and digital room temperature control settings. The room itself is very spacious, modern and clean (and kept that way throughout your stay by the the hotel maids) with large windows that open fully onto a view of the Tiergarten ( Berlin's Central Park).

Being lazy travellers and often not getting up in time for Breakfast, I cannot comment on it's quality but if the sumptuous dinner we had at the restaurant is anything to go by, I 'm sure it will be fantastic.

The local area is very quiet and calm which is just what we were looking for, but if you want to be amongst the crowds at Berlin's main attractions then the Hilton is probably a better bet. Das Suite is a two minute walk away from a beautiful lakeside beer garden which has two eateries which although serve good food are limited for choice. For more variety you will need to walk approximately 15-20 mins.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for having stayed with us and for the very positive feedback you have written. We are very pleased to know that you appreciated all areas of the hotel and hope that you will try our wonderful breakfast next time. As you have pointed out, perhaps we are not located next to the major tourist attractions, however we do posess the advantage of being really inbetween the former East and West Berlin! Also we are really only 10 minutes by foot from the famous Kudamm shopping street.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Whow. Whow. And whow.

It can´t be any better: Excellent and friendly staff, great location overlooking the Berlin Zoo, located in one the quietest areas of Berlin at the Tiergarten Park`s Embassy Row.

Did you know that "Stue" is Danish for "living room"? (The hotel is located in the former Danish Embassy) And you can tell as you will feel like home the second you walk in.
Usually,"Design" or "Boutique" Hotels are awkwardly over-designed and a design nightmare. But here, everything matches and just makes you feel great,. And by choosing my favorite furniture brand B&B Italia for the entire hotel added to that delight.

The breakfast (book a rate that includes BF) is one of the best I have seen: Try the Bison Burger (no kidding) - just out of this world.

If I may, let me use the claim of the Intercontinental hotel (located 500 meters away) and say: Stue, again and again.

Downside: Only a small terrace - but who cares, the hotel is surrounded by the Tiergarten.
And if you insist on having a subway station at your front door, stay somewhere else. Walking distance to the next bus stop is about 8 minutes.

Room Tip: the rooms in the newly attached wings have larger windows and are brigther. Ask for "zoo view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow! We are truly honoured that you consider us one of the best hotels in the world. As a team we really strive to achieve excellence. We also are happy to know that you appreciate the furniture design. Not only do we have BB Italia but of course Moroso, Kettal and Artec, all designed by Patricia Urquiola herself.

Our terrace maybe a little small as you mention but its certainly very special and exclusive with views to the zoo.

We do hope to be welcoming you back soon, thank you for having posted this review and of course of having chosen Das Stue

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Das Stue is one of the finest hotels we've ever stayed in! Everything is top notch; from the location (next to the Tiergarden and the zoo) to the decor, the comfortable rooms, and the friendliness of the staff. And the food at their restaurant is fantastic!

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to know that you consider us one of the finest and that all areas of Das Stue were able to meet our objective and convince you of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for having chosen us

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had never been to Berlin before so staying at the Das was a great find. Nothing is to much for the staff and contrary to what I read in some of the reviews , buffet breakfast was very affordable and delicious. The bar was the place to be on the weekend. The room was immaculate as was the service. Love the cascading chandelier and art throughout the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

We are happy to hear that you found us as well and thank you for having shared your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The perfect hotel. New, friendly, close to the city sights but in a peaceful enclave and very high tech. The bar is the best feature- I could lounge in those comfy chairs and sip cocktails al day. Almost perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and especially the bar. Thank you for having shared your experience and having chosen Das Stue. We hope to welcome you back very soon to enjoy more of our cocktails.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#2 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#5 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#8 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#3 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Address: Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
79 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Perez.Other facilities include a spa by Suzanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.