We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Stue

Save Saved
You added Das Stue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Das Stue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Antencion to detail.
Good design,good service,fantastic food.
Next to the Zoo.Very central.Just adorable with a sense that is like one's secret hideaway.
What really surprised me was the exquisit music.From Jamiroquay to jazz and very tastful choices.
The fact that everybody knows their place and they don't bother you with vanal talk makes it a tranquil enviroment ,perfect to create.
Inspiring indeed.
Incongratulate whoever's idea it was to make this hotel possible.

Room Tip: It depends on the budget you want to spend.They are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Your review is music to our ears! And seems we also played the right music for yours! We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. The whole team behind Das Stue, from the owners, to the designers to our employees have made this possible and will continue to do so.

Thank you for sharing your experience and having chosen Das Stue. We look forward to welcoming you back

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    46
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
156
19
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In a city famous for its reinventing itself, Das Stue has reinvented the hotel as an oasis of calm and cool. The rooms are beautifully designed, with wooden floors, big closets, and windows that open to the cool night air. The location is perfect -- near the Tiergarten and the zoo -- you can see ostriches prancing around the garden from the windows of the lobby and the bar. The public spaces have lots of fun surprises, like little libraries with art books, sculpture, and a fabulous collection of photographs curated by the very helpful concierge, Gregor Schatz. Best of all is the lovely little spa, beautifully managed by Anne-Katrine Schmidt as a sanctuary of peace and healing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Garden or the Zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for having shared your experience and of having chosen Das Stue. We do like the reference to an Oasis of calm and cool and we are also very happy to know that you appreciated all our little details.
Indeed Gregor and Anne are doing a great job and of course are supported by a fantastic team! I will share your comments with them of course.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The views from our room and the hotel's location is outstanding. The proximity to TierGarten and centrum is very convenient.. However, inside the hotel, this just gets better... The whole premise and concept of a 'living room' in which guests are invited to immerse themselves certainly lives up to, and exceeds the expectations that we had. The subtle yet perfect 'Integration' of this amazing building's architectural magnificence and heritage with the best of modern yet understated adaptions is a real aesthetic indulgence. The highly personable and professional staff combined with the uber flow and layout create a real 'laid-back' but still ultra-attentive vibe that is omnipotent throughout. The food, well what can we say, both restaurants were amazing culinary and dining experiences. The bar/cocktail lounge was probably one of best stocked and vibrant that we have experienced in a hotel. The three storey mezzanine library is breathtaking and a cosy and relaxing retreat, so well stocked with Taschen books that it would take a week just to browse through. The spa is an equally wonderful retreat, which is to a standard that you would expect in Northern Europe. We feel that the prices reflect good value for money, particularly relative to establishment of a similar calibre in the UK and in Berlin. We were attracted to stay at Das Stue as its offering appeared to be poles apart from the current local competition, we were not disappointed with our choice.

If we had to say one thing, it would be that the eggs at breakfast were inconsistently and poorly cooked, over on scrambled and under on poached. We mentioned this to the staff and this was well received and we were reassured that the matter would be rectified, we have no reason to believe that this won't be the case. We've still given excellent for value for money, as this issue does not detract from the holistic experience and we would be happy to return to Das Stue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank for taking the time to share your experience with us in such details. Your review has really moved us and and makes the whole team feel proud. This is what hospitality is about and we are very happy to have made it possible for you to have such a positive experience.

In regards to the eggs, we do apologise and i can assure you they are much better. Our breakfast is the brainchild of Paco Perez who takes these matters very seriously as do I as food plays a very important part of our hotel.

Thank you again for having chosen to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Das Stue is a real find and a wonderful 5 star addition to the Berlin hotel landscape. Its a glamorous boutique hotel with a great aesthetic and wonderful design: contemporary but not austere and all housed in a grand old building thats been comprehensively overhauled and refurbished next to the Tiergarten - so its quiet too. Service is exceptional; the check in staff were young, friendly, multilingual and efficient. The bedroom was spacious; comfy, great bathroom space adjoining the bedroom area, many mod cons. Funky but really comfortable and practical. Breakfast was delicious, creative, fresh and really as comprehensive as i think anyone could want and the dining room was light and airy. The bar area was really fun with many comfy corners, an incredibly well stocked bar and great 'visuals' on the back wall. On my second night a great blues band performed. Thank you Mr Hemigway! A taxi always appeared within a minute or two of the front desk calling, so its easy to get to anywhere. And Das Stue is an attractive 30 minute walk from Brandenburger Tor. This time I walked through it. Last time I was in Berlin I couldnt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to post it. We are very happy to hear that your stay was perfect in everyway. It also very comforting to know that eventhough we have such a wonderful building and design, that the service was perfect.

Thank you for having chosen Das Stue and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

a really lovely hotel in an elegant building (former Danish Embassy) in the Tiergarten area. The whole experience from arrival to check out was so professional and freindly in a subtle way. Location wise, there are other hotels that are closer to Mitte (the more happening part in East Berlin) if you're looking for that. My Embassy room was spotless, spacious (at least relative to other European city standards) and had some nice touches in terms of technology and design. i travel quite a lot and i do like to stay in nice hotels that are not huge and commercial, but my problem with small boutique hotels is that they often have the nice design but lack practicality and Service, but i think Das Stue had both fantastic design and impeccable serivce. Staff were all great and professional, i have no complaints there, Gregor at the concierge was incredibly helpful and really friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive review and having taken the time to post this. We are really happy to hear that design and function are able to work in our hotel as this was a must for us from the beginning.

We are even happier to hear that you were so pleased with our friendly and effecient service. We have a great team and Gregor our conceirge is indeed a fantastic addition to the team. it is an inherent part of our ethos to be friendly yet professional at all times....A must in hospitality

Thank you for having chosen Das Stue and we look forward to welcoming you back

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with another couple and we had a fantastic weekend.
Check in went smooth, doorman showed the quintessential Berliner harshness and we were swiftly taken to our rooms.
Great design in even in small details.
Breakfast is of high quality although doesn't offer too much choice - still it had everything we wanted and some tasty surprises as well.
Will visit again and can recommend this hotel to everyone wanting to have a relaxing time in Berlin (when it comes to the hotel at least)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to share your positive experience at our Hotel. We are sorry that we did not fullfill your expectations at breakfast but I am not sure what else we can add to the breakfast buffet as we do feel its quite extensive... But do please do let me know what was lacking when you return and we can ensure that we have it for you.

Thank you for having chosen our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel used to be the Danish Embassy and so it has a gorgeous entrance hall and lovely meeting rooms. The bedrooms are very well appointed with the most modern hi-tech light switches, Apple TV, etc. It suffers a little from the teething problems of a new hotel eg the remote was unreliable, the curtains didn't shut out the light, and service is a bit hit and miss. However, these will probably short term issues. This has the makings of an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the Zoo. Some of these rooms have balconies too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and for having chosen Das Stue. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I am sorry that it was not quite perfect. Indeed at the time of posting we had been open 3 months however this is no excuse for the small issues you experienced.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Address: Drakestrasse 1 | Tiergarten, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
79 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Perez.Other facilities include a spa by Suzanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Stue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.