We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain to your Saves list
Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boxhagener Str. 17, 10245 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff was very nice. We arrived a bit earlier than check-in time, and they let us in; we had booked a standard room but got an upgrade. The room was large and clean, with a TV and a safe. The wardrobe was small, but big enough for a weekend stay. Armchair, small desk with a chair. Small lamps on the bed side table, a bigger one on the desk and of course the main light on the ceiling.Two windows on an inner patio. No air conditioning in the room.
The only really negative point were the pillows. Too big, too thick, too soft. I woke up with a headache both mornings, because my head and neck did not lie comfortably on the pillow. On the other hand the mattress was comfortable.
The bathroom was small but clean and pleasant, only partially tiled, with shower, big mirror, and hairdryer. Liquid soap and shower gel were available. No shampoo nor toothpaste.
When cleaning the room, they took one of the towels away but they didn't replace it.
We booked an offer that included breakfast, and we had a discount code. So all in all, it was good value for money for us, but if we had paid the whole price, without the breakfast included, I would have thought the room quality was not worth it.
At late evening we heard some noise, like of an engine and started to wonder if it could be the sound of an underground train, because we were too far from the roads to actually believe it was a car or a motorbike engine. BTW, we only heard it a couple of times and for a very short while, so it didn't bother us at all.
The breakfast was good, there was enough choice. In my case it was included in the deal, but, again, if I had to pay 12 euros per person for that, I wouldn't be happy. In Berlin you can have a rich breakfast anywhere for much less than that. The breakfast room was small, which was a bit annoying, but all in all I enjoyed it. I could stay there again.
The area around the hotel is really great, with loads of small restaurants and bars, with tables outside, crowded with young people. The atmosphere is very pleasant, nothing excessive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
25
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel at the best!!!!! location! Realy great neighbourhood. Quiet rooms although there are a lot of bars and restaurants around. The rooms are also very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. U-bahn around the corner. Walking distance to Eastside gallery. I would go there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very good location!
"Frankfurter tor" U-bahn (subway) station is very close, about 5 - 7 minutes to walk.
You can easily get there from Schönefeld (SXF‏) airport:

Take RB14 Airport Express train. You'll get off on "Alexanderplatz".
Change to U-bahn U5 following to "Hönow". Your stop is "Frankfurter Tor". Walk to the hotel. And the same route if you want to go back to airport.

Rooms are cozy and silent. There was a nice view to beautiful inner yard with nice flowers and trees from my room.

What I didn't like is that there was no bathroom kit. I thought I will have at least small toothpaste in bathroom. And it was chilly, at least for me in room, but in night it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friedrichschain is, so I am told. cool and hip. Certainly there are lots of places to eat and drink round and about the hotel, with very good transport links within a few minutes walk. With so much going on its doorstep, have no fears about noisy nights. All the rooms face away from the street; mine looked onto a communal courtyard. My room was spacious and spotlessly clean, clearly recently decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a sunny room (which is transformed into a quiet bar in the evenings) with added bonus of some Russian breakfast specialities. There are a total of 3 Zarenhof hotels in Berlin, and I'd be interested to try the other two sometime. Just make sure you book the one you want!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain

Address: Boxhagener Str. 17, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zarenhof Friedrichshain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.