We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY. GERMAN. INDEED.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hofbrau Munchen Berlin

Hofbrau Munchen Berlin
Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 30 | 10178, 10178 Berlin, Germany
030 679 66 55 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 5,979 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Hofbräu in Berlin opened its doors on 4th November 2011 and has been synonymous with Bavarian spirit in the capital ever since. With nicely cooled original Hofbräu beer served in “Maßkrug” tankards and a comprehensive range of Bavarian specialities we cater to your appetite. Our staff, dressed in dirndl and lederhosen also ensure you forget that you’re actually in Berlin. The atmospheric entertainment is provided by our numerous bands of the original Hofbräuhaus Show who play in every Hofbräuhaus around the world. Experience our live band at the following times:Mornings: Mon - Sat 12:00 - 15:00 and Sun 10:00 - 15:00Afternoons: Sun - Thurs 18:00 - 23:00 and Fri - Sat 19:00 - 24:00 A must - not just for fans of Bavaria ! Whether it’s a rustic meal, birthday, corporate event, Christmas party or ‘just because’- with us, every event becomes an experience!Enjoy Bavarian specialities in a comfortable atmosphere or experience the real Oktoberfest ambience at one of our many events - the entire year round!
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“VERY. GERMAN. INDEED.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loud oompah music, massive food portions (mainly meat with more meat....don't Germans eat fish ?????), great friendly service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    438
    98
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice in our short stay because we really enjoyed the great Bavarian atmosphere here. The food was nice and reasonably priced and a great choice of beer. There was live music and a relaxed service. Great for a weekend night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beer is great, but expensive and not so friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You cant take the beer outside, they gave my bill without asking... I would prefer to drink and eat in a small place next time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Bavaria in Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

went there twice during our recent trip to Berlin as we loved it so much the 1st time. Great choice of meat dishes at a reasonable price. The 1st time we went for the sharing platter which gave us a chance to try a bit of most of the pork dishes on the menu. The second time we visited we were more selective. The portions are generous and the beers are varied . There is a great atmosphere with live music playing as you sit on wooden benches at long tables served by staff in traditional tracten and watch other staff commit amazing feats of strength by carrying trays the size of an average door to hungry customers. The staff seem to be constantly busy but never look tired or surly when you ask for another beer.
Would recommend this place for adults rather than families and to sit inside unless you want cigarette smoke with all your food.
The only thing that's stopping me from giving this review full marks is the bloke at the toilets expecting to be paid €1 for using the toilets. My husband did not have any money on him as he went to the gents and was given a sarcastic rude remark by the gentleman sitting by the toilet for not tipping him. If you are a paying customer in a restaurant you should not be expected to tip for the privilege of having a pee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Decent food & drink if you're in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Located next to the Ramada Hotel Alexanderplatz. A smaller scale recreation of the original Hofbrauhaus in Munich, and to my mind more comfortable and pleasant because it’s smaller. Decent food (somewhat limited menu), and plenty of beer and wine. Hard wooden benches and narrow tables – like the OLD Hofbrauhaus used to be 40 years ago. Not worth a special trip, but if you’re in the area and need a reasonably priced meal, it will do well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrau Munchen Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Hofbrau Munchen Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofbrau Munchen Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.