We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Herne Bay, Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my sister and parents (88 and 90). The purpose of our visit was for ourt father to re-visit Berlin as he was a pilot in WW2 and part of the Berlin Airlift after the war.
We requested two twin rooms and when we arrived found we had two double rooms. Within five minutes of notifying reception of this error they had separated the beds. The hotel is ultra modern with some very strange 'art' and the rooms are typical boutique hotel style. They are on the small side and definately do not have enough storage space. The glass mural which divides the bedroom from the shower is very pretty but not practical unless you are staying as a couple. The room was immaculate with lovely fluffy towels, dressing gowns and down pillows and duvets. We couldn't find any English tv channels that had any reception but we didn't go to watch tv so it didn't bother us. There is free wifi throughout the hotel.
Breakfast is served in the bar area and was very good with a great selection. The bar was very expensive but the barman very nice as were all the staff apart from a breakfast waitress who was very curt to my sister when she requested hot water for tea and a waitress called Annika at lunchtime who was incredibly rude and unhelpful. (I don't usually 'name and shame' but this girl was so rude and offhand).
The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the tram, train, bus and tour bus stations and you can easily walk into the centre of the town where there are loads of bars and restaurants.
A word of advice if you are planning on doing a tour on the sight seeing bus. They only go in one direction so if you only want to see a few sights, then don't bother. It took us two and half hours to get back on the bus once we had visited the Brandenburg gate. The trains are very good and very cheap and had we known this would have travelled on them instead of the tour bus.
If you are visiting Berlin for business or pleasure, the Indigo is a lovely hotel which was good value for money and very comfortable just spoilt by a couple of rude waitresses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mandy15,

thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Indigo. The story of you bringing your grandfather back to Berlin touches our hearts. The times of the airlift during the blockade after WW2 are not forgotten by the Berliners. We hope you had the chance to visit the Tempelhof airfield and the exhibition at the Technikmuseum.

I also want to thank you for taking the time to write some detailed feedback. Your description on the attitude of the breakfast staff leaves me embarrassed. Please accept my apologies for this situation. We have broached the issue in our service meeting. Without looking for excuses we can only explain this by stressful circumstances in this very moment - not caused by you. This is not our standard and will not happen again.

Dear Mandy15, once again thank you very much for your five star review. Before your next stay with us please contact me on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com.

Yours truly, Dirk Dreyer - General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    261
    48
    8
    5
See reviews for
59
330
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon last fall. We arrived in Berlin at the Hauptbahnhof, took the short train ride to Alexanderplatz and walked to the hotel, about a 10 minute walk with luggage.

Check in was easy, they even gave us a drink coupon for their nice modern bar, looks like they serve dinner there too, but I didn't see a lot of takers there.

The rooms are great with a very comfy King Size Bed, the decorations were very neat of scenes of Berlin. The room we chose was facing towards Alexanderplatz, some might have an issue with Street noise, it didn't bother us. There was some construction that was going on, and looked like it could for quite some time.

One of the best showers I have had, anywhere, I also liked that they had a robe to use (very useful when we spent a Spa day at Liquidrome), as well as a few offerings of drinks in the room. We had a very, very early flight on our final day, the staff was very helpful on securing us a taxi at one of the few hours Berlin is truly at sleep!

For our taste it was a "little" pricey, and a little farther from the action that I would like. (We probably prefer staying in a Pension in Mitte), but this is a great hotel on soo many levels, I think it really appeals to my wife and I's demographic of 30's and 40's, sleek modern.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a courtyard or facing Alexanderplatz, I loved the Alexanderplatz view, but it cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear danger,

thank you very much for your review. Good hearing from you after all these months after your stay last fall !!

We are very happy that you have such a good memory on your stay at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz. Thank you sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.com !

The construction works in the neighborhood you have mentioned are finished since early 2013. Alexanderplatz is the busiest area in Berlin and a great hub for your activities. You might also walk ca 5 minutes towards the fashion & gallery district at Hackescher Markt or walk down Unter den Linden towards Friedrichstrasse and Brandenburger Tor. So we hope to see you again very soon !

Best regards, Dirk Dreyer / General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at hotel indigo. This is a lovely hotel just off alexanderplatz with very easy access to both S & U Bahn. Both hotel and our room was spotless. Although the bed was very comfortable we didn't have much sleep but I would just put this down to sleeping in a hotel bed. The down side for me was having the cleaners coming into your room when you are still in bed. This happened on a few occasions the day we were checking out and felt that we had to leave although check out wasn't until 12pm. I would have also of liked normal tea making facilities in the room and not the fancy coffee making machine that was in the room. I never attempted to use this so missed out on my morning cuppa.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel which was a big mistake as trying to find somewhere to have breakfast near to the hotel was impossible and the place we did find the Alex oase and the Bistro cafe the customer service was terrible. If you are planning to stay at hotel indigo get the breakfast. The time we were in Berlin there was lots that we didn't do and when we do return I would stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jackie D,

thank you very much for writing a review and for recommending Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderpatz ! On your next stay we are happy to explain you the usage of the Tassimo machine - we have four different complimentary teas in the rooms for our guests.
Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast. We think our breakfast with three different freshly pressed juices, fresh eggs and as much coffee or tea as you want is a great offer. Nevertheless - we would never recommend Alex Oase for breakfast. Next time just head direction Hackescher Markt. Here you find all kinds of cafes and restaurants - plus plenty of boutiques and galleries. Our reception staff is happy to give you local insider recommendations.

We hope to see you soon again !

Best regards, Dirk Dreyer / General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really lovely. Probably my favourite one I have stayed in, in a city. Clean, modern and really friendly staff. The location is not one I would recommend. It is ok, but there are nicer areas in Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear LADell1,

thanks a lot for your five star review. We share your point of view regarding the cleanliness, the modernity and the friendliness of the staff - just in one point we disagree: We think Alexanderplatz is the heart of Berlin as a lot of culture- and shopping attractions can be reached by foot. And the public transport is just perfect at Alexanderplatz. Let our staff give you some local insider informations on your next stay - we are sure we will make you an Alexanderplatz lover !

Dear LADell1, it was a pleasure having you here at Hotel Indigo - please come back very soon.

Best regards, Dirk Dreyer / General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really nice, clean, trendy hotel in a great location. We stayed here for just one night but would definitely return. The hotel is located very close to Alexanderplatz with easy access to public transport, hop-on-hop-off tour busses and easy walking distance to all major tourist attractions. The staff here were very helpful, providing us with maps and advice for the city. We were given a voucher for a free glass of prosseco at the hotel bar which was a nice touch. The room had a theme and was very nice and clean, while a little on the small side it was big enough for two of us and was all we expect from a hotel room. The bed was large and very comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. The bathroom was very clean with a large shower with two options of shower heads, one from the front and one above and plenty of lovely smelling toiletries. The room had tea and coffee facilities and a minibar for use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Rowesy,

what a nice feedback!
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Carsten Brabetz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Berlin is a large city with lots of points of interest, so there are many options of where to stay. We enjoyed the location of Hotel Indigo just down the street from Alexanderplatz and easy access to public transportation. The hotel lobby and corridors were beautiful and even smelled of fresh flowers, so we were excited to see our room. As soon as we opened our door we were blasted with a toilet stench of sewage or sulfur or something nasty. Although the room was beautifully designed and clean, the smell did not go away for the entirety of our trip. We thought about asking to switch rooms but assumed the problem was not isolated to our bathroom. We did not spend a lot of time in the room, only to sleep, so we tried to ignore it. The only other thing that bothered us during our stay was housekeeping. Each morning the housekeeper opened our door without knocking while we were still in bed. A little inconsiderate. Besides those things we had a nice time. Berlin is very unique city worth exploring!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear psmeier,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am more than happy to read that you liked the design and the atmosphere at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz.

After every guest departure our housekeeping staff is disassembling and cleaning the drain of the shower to guarantee 100% cleanliness of the sink. It must have happened that the reassembling of the drain has not been done accurate and leakproof. This fact can cause the smell. Fixing the sewer could have been done very easily and quickly by our team. It would have been good, if you would have contacted us during your stay. The problem could have been fixed and we would have been able to offer you a compensation for the inconvenience to make your stay extra special. I have talked to our housekeeping department to make sure this will not happen again. I have also spoken to them about your feedback of being disturbed by cleaners in the morning. Please accept our apologies for that.

Dear psmeier, I am sorry, that the situation has affected your memories on your Berlin stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz on your next visit to Europe. You can contact me anytime on dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com.

Yours truly, Dirk Dreyer / General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 days during her birthday.this hotel was phenomenal. As Americans, I must admit we were slightly taken aback as the rooms are relatively small, but this is typical of European hotels. The service more than made up for the room size. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the city. And they gave my friend a beautiful birthday cake for her birthday, very thoughtful. fantastic deal on the price. Berlin was our second stop on our euro trip. we stayed in eight different cities and hotels This was by far the best. I can't recall his name, but the boy who worked the night shift, Andre?, was fantastic. Very professional and super nice!! Definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in Berlin.

Room Tip: Higher floor, ask for a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear JulieZhy,

Thank you very much for staying with us and this awesome review.
I will forward your praise to Andrzej, which will please him very much and shows him that he is doing a good job.

We are looking forward to maybe welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

Carsten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the centre of the city, in the "Mitte" district; surrounded by countless shopping attractions, culture and fashion highlights.Each of our bedrooms is individually designed, reflecting the best in modern urban living. All rooms artwork is inspired by the neighborhood, bringing some of the creativity of the city onto the walls. Our modern, comfortable and cozy rooms invite you to unbend. Relax in the luxury of our stylish bathroom, with a hand-picked choice of Aveda toiletries and an invigorating rainfall shower. Enjoy an authentic meal at our restaurant La Maison de L’entrecôte Mitte. Our head chef uses only the best and freshest ingredients. The Entrecôte in all its variety is the signature dish of our restaurant. In addition we offer a choice of international specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.