We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in central Berlin location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver, canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in central Berlin location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Rooms at the Hotel Indigo Berlin are quite small, but that's the only downside. They are stylish and comfortable, with very nice beds and bathrooms (with Aveda amenities), and well located just a short walk from Alexanderplatz. The area itself doesn't have much to recommend itself, unless you like electronics stores and garish pink shopping centres, but it's a hub for several U-bahn lines, so it's very convenient for getting around.
The food in the downstairs bar is overpriced and not very good, so try another option; Hackescher Markt, with several nice indoor and outdoor restaurants, is a short walk or S-bahn ride away.
Make sure to ask for a hotel room that's on the inner courtyard away from the street; there's a very active tram line on the street. In my courtyard room, it was quiet enough to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear frozen.north,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for your tripadvisor review.
I am happy to read that you like the comfort and the style of the hotel and the location.

Alexanderplatz is literally the heart of Berlin. While Alexanderplatz itself is more a traffic hub with all trains and buses crossing, it is the perfect point of orgin for all your business- and leisure activities in Berlin. Within a radius of 3km you will find many attractions like the fashion- and gallery district at Hackescher Markt, the boulevard Unter den Linden with the cathedral, National Gallery and Musumisland and Brandeburger Tor.

There is so much to experience in the neighborhood and we hope you will return to Berlin and Hotel Indigo very soon. You can contact me anytime on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    309
    59
    8
    6
See reviews for
69
402
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ever since I couldn't get into the Park Inn one time I've been coming to this hotel about once a month. The staff make this the perfect hotel for a business traveller. From my very first visit they have always been incredibly friendly and helpful. On my second trip the receptionist welcomed me by name despite it being a month since my last visit. I'm always made to feel valued and welcomed and they will do their best to upgrade you if there's space. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable with a modern style and good facilities. The restaurant in really good if, like me, you enjoy a good steak. Word of warning though: it ONLY does steak! Heaven for me, but not to everyone's taste. All in all, a great hotel with exceptional employees.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 10th floor are suits with balconies that overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Not_that_Potter,

thank your for choosing Hotel Indigo and you five star review.
I am delighted to read your feedback about our staff and I will share your feedback with them knowing that this will motivate keeping it up this way.

You are right about our steak-only concept at our restaurant 'La maison de L'entrecote'. But you can order from our bar menu in the restaurant as well. So you can also go for a clubsandwich, a salad or some pasta.

See you next time at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz !!

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A modern “designer hotel” well located offering good value for money. Review based on a one night stay in May (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe).

Location:
Well located a block away from Alexanderplatz, close enough to quickly walk there but still away from the main crowds and noise. Alexanderplatz being a major transportation hub there are S and U trains as well as trams going to almost every direction in the city.

The immediate neighborhood seems to be mostly residential but there are plenty of options for shopping (such as Galeria Kaufhof department store), eating and drinking within 500m radius.

Room:
Had a regular room at 3rd floor with quite nice views towards Alexanderplatz. The room was a bit on the small side, no issue for me as a single traveler though. The room décor is modern & chic, as is the case with the rest of the hotel. Bathroom was very nice looking, too. No stains or signs of usage anywhere in the room, i.e. very clean.

Some noise due to tram going right next to the hotel, did not bother me but if you are very light sleeper then it could be an issue. No noise otherwise from the other rooms or corridor.

Etc:
Breakfast was quite all right, selection could have been perhaps bit wider but anyway it was certainly good enough to get the day started.

Complimentary glass of sparkling wine at the bar was a nice gesture.

Quick & efficient check-in & out.

Would I return there?
Yes sure, a modern hotel in a nice location offering good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear dadsasdasd,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and writing a review here on tripadvisor. The feedback of an experienced traveler like you are is extra valuable for us and I am delighted to read that you had a very good experience at the Hotel.

Whenever you are returning to Berlin we would be more than happy to have you as our guest again. You can contact me anytime on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Yours truly

DIrk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here in December with my girlfriend for four nights and we were really pleased. The Location is excellent. The room was a little small but modern and stylish. The shower was the best shower i have ever had, awesome pressure, two shower heads and the Aveda soaps were a nice touch. We ate steak one night in the restaurant which was good with well priced wine. I would try to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Hallister,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for your five star review.
Whenever you are planning to return to Berlin we would be very happy to have you as our guests again. You can contact me anytime on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel Indigo was a good clean business hotel. I stayed 3 nights here during the ITB travel convention. It's a modern hotel with a cozy atmosphere. The rooms are relatively small but clean and modern. Great shower facilities. The reception staff very polite. Breakfast staff disappointing service. I might stay here again next time, depending on the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Izzet Z,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for taking the time to write a review. The feedback from a travel pro like you are is extra valuable for us. Thank you for shariung your good experience with the tripadvisor community and with us.

Please contact me on your next Berlin visit on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Yours truly

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo at the beginning of May and overall was very pleased.

Although the rooms are fairly small (we stayed in a deluxe room), they were more than adequate for a weekend city break. Main positive notes for the room were the rainshower and the funky chairs. We had view of the TV tower on floor 9 but I know others on had an internal view of a courtyard which didnt sound great.

Location of the hotel is pretty good. Close to the U and S bahn which is all you need to get around the whole of Berlin. Based in Alexanderplatz which was ideal for me, near plenty of shops and bars.

Didnt go for the breakfast so cant comment but sounded fairly steep at 17 euros.

Nice touch of having free sausages to welcome you after a night out.

Lastly the staff were great. Very helpful with anything we asked

Would def stay there again

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Glazeyboy,

thank you for staying with us at Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room with the view to the TV tower and you had fun discovering the neighborhood.

We would be happy to have you here again on your next Berlin visit.

See you soon !

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently returned from our first long weekend break in Berlin. The city was fantastic and our stay was made undeniably easier by the location of the hotel and service of the staff. Location wise it's perfect, Alexanderplatz is both spacious and well connected with all the usual amenities very nearby, furthermore it is a stone's throw from the unmistakeable Fernsehturm (TV Tower) which offers amazing panoramic views of the city.

The hotel also offers a bike hire service which we found to be incredibly useful - as a city Berlin is optimised for cycling, we had a brilliant time cycling around the city visiting the major landmarks with great ease. In fact with it's carefully thought out cycle paths Berlin simply puts London to shame.

The Indigo Hotel is also really nice looking! The rooms aren't the biggest but they are modern as are all the facilities and the bathrooms are equipped with 'Monsoon' shower heads which is always a result. Finally, the sour sweets in a glass jar by reception are some of the best I've ever had!

All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear dippo82,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz ! Your review is really nice to read and we thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had so much fun discovering the neighborhood. Thank you for recommending us !

Whenever you are planning to return to Berlin you can contact me on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the centre of the city, in the "Mitte" district; surrounded by countless shopping attractions, culture and fashion highlights.Each of our bedrooms is individually designed, reflecting the best in modern urban living. All rooms artwork is inspired by the neighborhood, bringing some of the creativity of the city onto the walls. Our modern, comfortable and cozy rooms invite you to unbend. Relax in the luxury of our stylish bathroom, with a hand-picked choice of Aveda toiletries and an invigorating rainfall shower. Enjoy an authentic meal at our restaurant La Maison de L’entrecôte Mitte. Our head chef uses only the best and freshest ingredients. The Entrecôte in all its variety is the signature dish of our restaurant. In addition we offer a choice of international specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.