We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant believe its a hostel..... GREAT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Gold Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heart of Gold Hostel to your Saves list
Heart of Gold Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Johannisstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You cant believe its a hostel..... GREAT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Great, clean rooms, pleanty of clean toilets, cheap and everyone is friendly. I went here with my best friend and we stayed almost a week, we loved it! Breakfast id quite good, the internet is quite cheap and not normally much of a wait to get on the computors, drinks were prices fairly and we loved our stay!!

  • Liked — clean, tidy and meet loads of great people.. also very cheap
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    116
    39
    16
    17
See reviews for
8
42
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

The room was hardly what we paid for, compared to other Berlin hostels. The room was depressing with really misleading pictures in thr homepage, altough the place was clean one of our beds was full of stains. There has got to be a really stingy person behind all this as well, as the private rooms had no toilets and all visitors had to pay extra for everything (breakfast, internet etc) except for the sheets which you had to give a 5€ deposit for. Ridicilious. The walls were paper thin and you couldn't sleep because of all the noise in the hallway.
The staff had always a bored and unintrested expression in their faces and never even said "hello".
For a backpacker with low expectations this is propably an allright alternative, but we would never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

The Heart of Gold is a great hostel. As long as you know you are booking budget accomodation then you should not be disappointed. I can't comment on the dorm rooms as we had booked an ensuite twin room. The only negative about the whole experience was finding out that ensuite rooms have a private shower and sink, but no toilet! That was quite annoying and should be made clear on the website.

However, other than that I cannot fault it. The location is excellent - very easy to reach on public transport, close to major attractions (the Reichstag is a 20 minute walk), and in a great area for eating out in the evening. The hostel is just behind Oranienburger Strasse which is lined with restaurants and bars, so you will be spoilt for choice. We ate in a small Thai restaurant just round the corner from the hostel and it was some of the best Thai I have ever eaten!

Back to the hostel. Accommodation is basic, but it's perfectly adequate. Beds and pillows were fine, although the bedlinen smelt slightly musty. There is a great bar area in the hostel that is open 24 hours for the insomniacs amongst us. The staff are really friendly and helpful, loaning us padlocks for the lockers and helping us make a reservation at a particular restaurant we wanted to eat at. There are loads of flyers and leaflets advertising sightseeing trips and the staff are also happy to advise. We went on a bicycle tour of Berlin run by Fat Tyre which was awesome - definitely recommended as a good way of seeing the main sights. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about Berlin's history.

Go to Berlin - it's a fantastic city. I can't wait to go back. And if I am on a budget I would not hesitate in staying at the Heart of Gold again.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, value for money
  • Disliked — No private toilet in ensuite rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

When my husband I went backpacking through Europe, the Heart of Gold Hostel was one of our favorites. The breakfast was good in the morning, and the bar was nice at night. The room was clean, and paying extra for a private shower was worth it. Only minus was our laundry took forever to dry. This place is worth staying at.

  • Liked — It was unique.
  • Disliked — The location was only OK.
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

The heart of gold is in a sort of seedy part of town. It was not bad during the day, but I would not recommend it if you plan to be out at night. Beyond that, it was very good. The rooms were spacious and clean, the bathrooms were also plentiful and nice. The lights were slightly dim in the room since they were going for the spaceship look - but that was nice in the morning when people were getting up.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

My husband and I visited Berlin in March. We had been recommended Heart of Gold by his brother who had stayed there earlier. The rooms were clean, and so were the bathrooms. The breakfast was fresh and good. However, tea and coffee wasn't included in the price of breakfast (!) and the staff were not so friendly (especially front desk, the only exception we were able to meet was Natalie). Generally, we would recommend the hostel to everyone who wants a very well located and clean place to stay.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — not really friendly staff (maybe it was beacause of the morning shift...)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

I spent a great time in Heart of Gold. Room was clean and bright; staff was helpful and friendly; the location is great: nearby to public transport and monuments.
I recommend it!

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of Gold Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Gold Hostel

Address: Johannisstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heart of Gold Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Heart of Gold Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Gold Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Gold Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.