We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin to your Saves list
baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Skalitzer Str. 104, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ended up staying here on new years eve because we didn't want to pay €400 for a room in our hotel which cost us €60 every other night. We still had to pay €100 for this place though which given the the facilities was way too much. I know its a hostel not a hotel and was fully prepared for a basic room but the beds were by far the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on. Thank goodness we were really drunk when we got back or I probably wouldn't have slept all night. On the up side the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The place had a nice atmosphere and is right next to the train station so it's really easy to get to. I'm sure if we hadn't had to pay such a premium price for a terrible room I would feel happier about this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    19
    9
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
12
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

tl;dr
if you are planning two days of partying and need a place to crash.. if you do not need a fully equipped kitchen and prefer being drunk than reading a book this might be your place.
You will find slightly better places for a little more money, e.g. the EastSeven Berlin Hostel or Odyssee Globetrotter Hostel!


Location:
Really well located close to the U1 "Görlitzer Bahnhof". There are so many nice restaurants, bars and cafes just around the corner.

Staff:
The "staff quality" varies heavily. In the evenings they tend to get drunk. Also sometimes I had to wait 5-10 minutes in front of the door waiting for someone to open it.

Security:
The lockers are really really baaad.. and the staff recommends putting your valuable stuff into their private locker room. This was a real hassle when you'd like to access your notebook 2-3 times per day. They really should buy new lockers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perfect place, location is excellent, just few steps from metro, and just next to main street where are pubs and restorants.
Staff is great, very helpful!!
Pool table, bar that works late: perfect! Great place to meet a lot of young people, have fun, chill out!
Wifi is a little problem: you have to take new password every little a while, but not such a big deal.
If you wanna have fun in Berlin: it's a perfect place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The atmosphere was cosy and nice.
The dorms were big and very noisy so it was hard to get some sleep.
The showers were not very confortable but kind of clean.
The hostel is well-located, near clubs and bars and not far for the center.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent location, very nice rooms and good restaurants nearby.
I have recommended this hostel to all my friends going to Berlin.
The staff was amazing! The subway is in front, and it is very easy to reach coming from the central station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Located in Kreuzberg, the best quarter of the best city in Europe!

Nearby you can find really cheap falabel & shawarma restaurants, bars, parks, nightclubs, U1 metro line and sightseeing spots.

The reception/bar is the center of a multicultural atmosphere where you always feel welcome listening to the best music while you have a nice cold drink.

The rooms are spacious and really cool painted.

This hostel is perfect for type of people that goes to Berlin to look for a job, beacuse is very easy to get along with the rest of the guest and start to make friendships.

I had the pleasure to be part of the staff in 2010, being member of the "crazy housekeepers" for 9 moths.

This hostel changed my Berlin experience and my life.

I can´t wait to go back.


PS: Ask the staff for the best parties!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Love love loved this hostel! The atmosphere is great and the staff are so friendly. The common room is a great little addition to the hostel, as is the little terrace just off the kitchen to enjoy breakfast on. Very quiet during the day, but the common room is packed at night. All in all,Just a great buzz about the place.

Room Tip: Theres a great room with a purple Volkswagon Beetle parked inside which is now used as a bed! Cool r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Mitte
baxpax Mitte Hostel
baxpax Mitte Hostel
#105 of 336 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#13 of 336 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Kreuzberg
Three Little Pigs Hostel
Three Little Pigs Hostel
#44 of 336 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Kreuzberg
Happy Bed Hostel
Happy Bed Hostel
#79 of 336 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin

Address: Skalitzer Str. 104, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.