We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Angleterre Hotel to your Saves list
Angleterre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 31, 10696 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
North Yorks
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of an easy jet package. The hotel is clean and very comfortable.we loved the free mini bar and breakfast was excellent. We travelled from Schonenfeld on the train to Friedrichstrasse station and then walked to the hotel as the underground is having major works -this took about 20 minutes. Going back the hotel arranged a taxi which cost about 30 euro and took only 25/30 minutes.
There don't seem to be many restaurants close to the hotel but the Gendarmenmark is close by with a good selection of restaurants and bars including Bavarian, Steak house and Italian. We passed a couple of Thai ans Sushi restaurants on the way there so lots of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    347
    96
    23
    10
See reviews for
82
350
58
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days as a base for sightseeing in Berlin and couldn't fault the place.

Rooms spacious and clean. Mini bar complimentary 1 x beer, orange and apple juice, coke and 2 x bottles of water. Re-stocked daily. Right near Checkpoint Charlie and underground.

Staff helpful and knowledgeable. Free wifi and very good breakfast.

Best hotel ever stayed in for a city break as have often found lethargic service/staff in others and breakfasts sometimes abysmal. 10/10 for this one all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 10 days at this lovely hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful with one guy needing English. But not to worry one of us spoke good German. Breakfast was plentiful buffet while room service was adequate. In general I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone touring in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay. One of the best city break hotels I have experienced. The beds are so comfortable, and the rooms spotlessly clean. Bathroom was very modern, and the shower was perfect. We took full advantage of the free mini-bar which was restocked each day. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide range of cereal, fruit, pastry and traditional continental breakfast.

Couldn't have asked for a better location. Only a 2 minute walk from Checkpoint Charlie and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse which has some wonderful cafes and shops. The nearest U-Bahn Kochstraße is right outside the hotel on the U6 line. However Stadmitte station is about a 10minute walk away which has more lines running through it and get you to all the major tourist areas of the city.

All in all a wonderful stay at this hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Berlin for a city break/holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor (Floor 8) was very quiet, hardly heard anyone or anything during our stay. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Co. Laois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Angleterre Hotel is within walking distance of "Checkpoint Charlie" and the local hop-on/hop-off service. The room has a mini-bar with sm selection (beer, water & juice) but even so it's free. The staff were all very helpful & friendly and very informative. Main complaint for me was the price of drink, as l only drink vodka & diet coke everywhere charged a small fortune for it. Not only the hotel, the bar was very small & cosy and we spent 5 days there (B & B) on a city break. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. It has a great location...just steps from Checkpoint Charlie and a metro stop that can take you anywhere. Tours (popular "hop on/hop off") are also located at Checkpoint Charlie. Wihelmstrasse (the sight of another important event) is also just three blocks away.

The hotel's rooms are typically European but the beds are absolutely excellent and the rooms are clean and quiet. (Suggest a room at the back of the hotel). Did not eat here but there are limited type restaurants very close by i.e. coffee/pastry type as well as Italian and Mediterranean.

Heartily Recommend the Anggleterre

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in Angleterre Hotel for one night on May 25th. Had a great time! This is a wonderful little hotel with very friendly and helpful service. Room was very comfortable (especially the bed.) Minibar beverages were complimentary. Location is great as it is one block from the Checkpoint Charlie Museum, a MUST stop for any history buffs. Being so close to the museum was great because we went late after all of the tourists had gone and we had the place practically to ourselves. No way during the day that is even remotely possible. U-Bahn station is also very close. Very easy to get to practically any part of the city.

And just when I thought the stay couldn't get any better, we had the breakfast! Wow! Full buffet with just about anything you can think of. Great coffee and more food than you can imagine. All included in our ridiculously low price for such quality. An absolute must stay and I'm looking forward to coming back as soon as possible!

2 small critiques: 1. The restaurant was listed as being open until 11PM (last order at 10), but we went down there a little before 10 on a Saturday and it was completely closed. However, since this day was in fact the day of the Champions League football final between Munich and Dortmond, I suspect that they were like many other German establishments that shuttered their doors early to watch the big match and 2. I don't know if it was because of the football match or whether this was a regular occurrence, but there was loud music coming from the ground floor most of the night. Perhaps it was a special occasion and we were so tired that it didn't matter, but be wary if this is in fact a regular occurrence on a Saturday night.

Other than that, a great stay all the way around.

Room Tip: Stick to the outer rooms on the higher floors as the interior rooms on the lower floors get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Address: Friedrichstrasse 31, 10696 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#86 Family Hotel in Berlin
#88 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#126 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Berlin
Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angleterre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.