We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz quality. No surprises. Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€ 40 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #22 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ritz quality. No surprises. Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for a night in June. two days of business meetings. First of all, let me say that the meeting rooms were great. Pleasant, warm & cosy which is nice compared to the usual clinical decor you see elsewhere.

Room was good. perhaps time to refresh it a bit but no real complaint. Bathroom had all you need.

Breakfast was Ritz quality. Great stuff.

enjoyed the bar of the hotel in the evening. relaxing athmosphere, friendly staff.

I would recommend this to people looking for a sure bet used to luxury.

For a romantic stay i would go for a place with more 'cachet', but that's personal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    250
    79
    19
    13
See reviews for
203
579
94
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Beware! I woke up with my legs covered in insect bites. Housekeeping was quick to check the room and denied bed bugs. They claimed I must have had the window open. (It was never opened during my stay)

No real apology and staff acted like they were doing me a favor allowing me to BORROW their burn cream for 20 minutes to relieve the symptoms. My recommendation is STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel in very good location offering 5 star accommodation and service but at a price
Although on business if your budget can stretch to the prices its a great hotel with the chance of seeing someone famous staying there
This time it was Liam Gallagher who I might add was very good and chatted to anyone who wanted to speak
The Rooms are as you would expect from a class hotel so if you want to impress someone and want to visit Berlin this is the place to take them
Enjoy and soak up the Ritz it's well worth the extra

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My family and I went house hunting for a weekend and decided to stay at this property. Excellent service, great room and friendliness is what you will find. They even have a special "check-in" area for kids. The breakfast buffet was excellent, it is a MUST if you stay there.
People tend to think that these type of hotels will not be good for families, well, they excel at it!
Location is great, with easy walking access to Berlin Mitte and the underground station just next door, can't beat that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

There were some misses but let me tell you, this staff made everything right again!
I had an amazing time.
Do get the buffet breakfast- it'll knock your socks off. Especially on the weekend. Wow. SO delicious.

Everyone is super nice. Staff very accommodating. Room was lovely. Service phenomenal. Great area to stay in.

Gym was meh. But, I wasn't in Berlin to work out anyways.

I want to come to Berlin again JUST to stay at the Ritz!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here 2 years ago in the Club Room and was really pleased by the quality of the hotel and service. Decided to return, last week, ( to the Club room) again for a special birthday.
On this return visit the club Room lounge was moved , due to renovations, to the ground floor.This arrangement is not as good as the 10th floor location and has a smaller lounge area The area is dominated by a silent TV which is permanently ''on''.
The current staff have clearly been instructed too get to know the customer well. This is all very well but the quality of service is negatively affected as they enter into lengthy conversations with guests. For our party a simple request for coffee was forgotten. The following morning a request for french toast at breakfast was also forgotten, primarily due to long chats with other customers.
A request to be directed to the 'patio' (mentioned in the booking) was greeted with a negative reply ie that there was no such thing.
Finally wishing to spend an evening in the bar lounge we had leave as a bartender made flaming cocktails with dimmed lights aligned with loud music.There was no room for these 2 paying guests.

So next time in Berlin it is to be some other hotel . This one is very good but has lost the edge as it pursues popularity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having stayed in Ritz carltons before this hotel was lacking in service . We never feld (with few exceptions ) that staff was looking after us . At check in we had to carry our luggage as no one offered ( receptionist or two bellman present ) to do so . Location is excellent in Potsdamer square and doormen extremely polite and helpful(only them ) . Room was clean and nice .The lobby was smelling food at least in two different cases (around dinner and duting breakfast time) and they charge for internet 19,95 for a day (offcourse I knew the price but still is too much , but at least it was speedy ).
Unfortunatelly the hotel has not met our expectations (caused by its name and company reputation )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berlin
#11 Family Hotel in Berlin
#14 Business Hotel in Berlin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.