We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this excellent hotel. Great location, bus and underground outside your front door and if you fancy a walk 20 mins will take you in to the main shopping area.
On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful and we were quickly checked in and shown to our spacious room on the 8th floor. Disappointed to note that a hotel of this rating did not offer Tea and Coffee facilities in the room and a charge of 19 euros per day for internet connection was a bit over the top. Breakfast at 36 euros per head is expensive but there are many cafes close by
were you can get a full breakfast for 10 euros. Overall it was a great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed or stay in the hotel trip to Berlin and the Xmas Markets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    315
    115
    25
    17
See reviews for
263
687
109
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked this hotel not being informed that there would be maintenance work waking us up in the morning and continuing during the day, and also that the wellness area with the spa etc was closed.

This is a good hotel, but it is not acceptable to accept bookings without informing the guests about such conditions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is exceptional. The staff are by far the most helpful and friendly I have experienced and without a question of a doubt I would not stay in any other hotel in Berlin. The curtain club is a fabulous bar, maybe a little pricey, but its well worth a couple of nightcaps to enjoy the ambience and perfect bar service. The restaurant is a delight, and very reasonable. If you want a nice treat, perfect location and a memory to last, then The Ritz Carlton is for you. Thank you R/C, our stay was made perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Very good central location wherever you wish to visit in the city.

The staff were all extremely helpful , very friendly and cheerful, but professional at the same time.

Works going on during our stay (which we have been informed about in advance). Only drilling sound once, after 10.15am - not a problem.

Stayed in a lovely, well-appointed suite; however in common with so many European hotels in the winter, the air conditioning was not effective at all - we wondered if it was even working. We were able to open windows, though.

Breakfast very good, excellent selection. Shame the Breakfast room didn't have tablecloths, only disposable paper mats on tables. Not what you'd expect in a hotel of this quality.

Nice touch when leaving - a small gift of fruit and chocolates in a little fabric bag.

Our special thanks to the Reservations Director - you know who you are.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything you would expect from Ritz-Carlton and little more.

Very nice Excecutive suite and first class service everywhere. Also our children felt very welcome.

Good location and one of the best (if not the best) hotel breakfast I 've had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I spent six nights here while touring Berlin. The only demerit I can give them is regarding the renovation work. On occasion during the day we could hear drilling/hammering going on, but it wasn't too bad in our section of the hotel. We were offered an upgrade on check in and if you get that offer, take it! It got us on the 10th floor (concierge level) with unlimited food and cocktails (limited bar selections) and complimentary internet service (we had four devices connected, normally 99 Euro per week per device). Anna in the lounge area was very helpful with local recommendations and was very pleasant to talk with. The restaurant is very good, done as a French Bistro, although the food was quite German. The Curtain Bar makes excellent drinks. As you would expect, everything in the rooms is spotless with great maid service. The location is excellent, on Potsdamer Platz, just a short walk from the Jewish memorial, the Brandenberg Gate and the Bundestag building. Checkpoint Charlie is not too far to walk. The U-Bahn station is right out front and there's always a line of taxis waiting. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin. The price we got was amazing compared with Ritz-Carlton hotels in other cities. I asked about that and apparently, there are over 30 five-star hotels in Berlin, so the competition is strong.

Room Tip: Go for the 10th floor overlooking the Sony Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights to see the sights in Berlin. Unfortunately we only learned of the renovation work on checking in. More frustratingly, this work was to take place between 9am and 6pm, however we were disturbed from 8am on two mornings with hammering and drilling. Not exactly a 5 star experience.
The hotel looks the part, and the doormen were excellent. The rooms are well appointed, and the location on Potsdamer Platz is very handy for transport - and just a short walk from the Brandenburg Gate.
But for a hotel that has so much going for it, why not just supply tea/coffee (or at least supply the right stuff when it's then requested from room service)... why not just sort things like the smell of stale urine from the toilet, or be quick to offer a room swap.
We looked forward to this trip, but were left with the distinct impression that unless you opt for the more expensive suites and upgrades, they're not really interested. A shame, as it wouldn't take much to make this a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: If you run into problems, get a room swap as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#4 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#38 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#18 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#40 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#2 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Hotel - Berlin
Hilton Hotel - Berlin
#60 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#17 Family Hotel in Berlin
#18 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.