We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€ 40 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #17 of 665 hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is exceptional. The staff are by far the most helpful and friendly I have experienced and without a question of a doubt I would not stay in any other hotel in Berlin. The curtain club is a fabulous bar, maybe a little pricey, but its well worth a couple of nightcaps to enjoy the ambience and perfect bar service. The restaurant is a delight, and very reasonable. If you want a nice treat, perfect location and a memory to last, then The Ritz Carlton is for you. Thank you R/C, our stay was made perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    944
    216
    67
    14
    10
See reviews for
183
519
89
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Very good central location wherever you wish to visit in the city.

The staff were all extremely helpful , very friendly and cheerful, but professional at the same time.

Works going on during our stay (which we have been informed about in advance). Only drilling sound once, after 10.15am - not a problem.

Stayed in a lovely, well-appointed suite; however in common with so many European hotels in the winter, the air conditioning was not effective at all - we wondered if it was even working. We were able to open windows, though.

Breakfast very good, excellent selection. Shame the Breakfast room didn't have tablecloths, only disposable paper mats on tables. Not what you'd expect in a hotel of this quality.

Nice touch when leaving - a small gift of fruit and chocolates in a little fabric bag.

Our special thanks to the Reservations Director - you know who you are.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything you would expect from Ritz-Carlton and little more.

Very nice Excecutive suite and first class service everywhere. Also our children felt very welcome.

Good location and one of the best (if not the best) hotel breakfast I 've had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I spent six nights here while touring Berlin. The only demerit I can give them is regarding the renovation work. On occasion during the day we could hear drilling/hammering going on, but it wasn't too bad in our section of the hotel. We were offered an upgrade on check in and if you get that offer, take it! It got us on the 10th floor (concierge level) with unlimited food and cocktails (limited bar selections) and complimentary internet service (we had four devices connected, normally 99 Euro per week per device). Anna in the lounge area was very helpful with local recommendations and was very pleasant to talk with. The restaurant is very good, done as a French Bistro, although the food was quite German. The Curtain Bar makes excellent drinks. As you would expect, everything in the rooms is spotless with great maid service. The location is excellent, on Potsdamer Platz, just a short walk from the Jewish memorial, the Brandenberg Gate and the Bundestag building. Checkpoint Charlie is not too far to walk. The U-Bahn station is right out front and there's always a line of taxis waiting. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin. The price we got was amazing compared with Ritz-Carlton hotels in other cities. I asked about that and apparently, there are over 30 five-star hotels in Berlin, so the competition is strong.

Room Tip: Go for the 10th floor overlooking the Sony Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights to see the sights in Berlin. Unfortunately we only learned of the renovation work on checking in. More frustratingly, this work was to take place between 9am and 6pm, however we were disturbed from 8am on two mornings with hammering and drilling. Not exactly a 5 star experience.
The hotel looks the part, and the doormen were excellent. The rooms are well appointed, and the location on Potsdamer Platz is very handy for transport - and just a short walk from the Brandenburg Gate.
But for a hotel that has so much going for it, why not just supply tea/coffee (or at least supply the right stuff when it's then requested from room service)... why not just sort things like the smell of stale urine from the toilet, or be quick to offer a room swap.
We looked forward to this trip, but were left with the distinct impression that unless you opt for the more expensive suites and upgrades, they're not really interested. A shame, as it wouldn't take much to make this a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: If you run into problems, get a room swap as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Excelent location, great service, good breakfast, friendly staff. It was an amazing experience and would recomend to everybody. Close to subway and very easy to go walking to center city and nice
places around the Hotel. . .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay. Great location, fantastic service. Lovely large room with all the extras you would expect in a prestige hotel. Decor a little dated but very tasteful. The door staff went the extra mile and got my vote for first class service. The hotel is having building work carried out at the moment and this did affect my colleague but not me. Worth checking before booking.

Room Tip: Check building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Business Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.