We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€ 40 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #14 of 664 hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Doha
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, the food is excellent and the service exceptional. I would definitely stay there for my next visit to Berlin. I even saw JLo who was staying there during her tour in Germany...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    966
    215
    64
    15
    10
See reviews for
179
513
89
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

So glad we chose the Ritz Carlton in Berlin. Beautiful hotel, top notch service, wonderful breakfast, and a perfect location. We were able to cover all of Berlin from here....easy walking distance to many sites, a Metro station right across the street, and a Hop-on-hop-off bus station too. When we arrived we were whisked through a security check as an Arab-Euro conference was just wrapping up. Justin Bieber had also just checked out so the place was all "abuzz". Still it went very smoothly, the security was down by that evening, and we loved our 3 nights in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely bedroom, nice bathroom, comfortable bed and great location. But then that's table stakes for a 5 star luxury hotel. Where they fell down was on the extras - which should not happen for this level of service.

What you don't expect is for your wifi not to work, and when you report it, for it not to be fixed instantly, nor the next day. If you're travelling for pleasure, this might not be a big deal, but when you're travelling for business, and your wife is in hospital at home, it is. It's even more irritating when you (not the hotel concierge, you the guest) have to spend 25 minutes on the phone to the hotel's internet provider, only for the line to go dead during a particularly long hold period. The hotel's solution? Rather rudely to leave the LAN cable out for me, as if I were an idiot. Strangely, my iPhone doesn't have a LAN port. Just to add salt into the wound, they charge for WiFi usage - which is again, a basic expectation of a business traveller. To be fair however, they did not charge me.

Furthermore, you'd expect the minibar to be appropriately stocked - it's nice to have a cool beer at the end of a long journey, but there were none in evidence. The fact that the missing drinks were subsequently charged to me (but instantly removed when I pointed it out) shows that the housekeeping hadn't even checked this when readying the room.

Breakfast - the standard breakfast option costs 35 Euros. OK they're the Ritz-Carlton, so 25, I'd accept. 35 is just insulting for what effectively would be some bacon and some eggs.

Finally, checking out - it took 3 attempts to get the bill right. Pretty basic.

All in all, they need to up the service to live up to the expectation they set. Maybe I got them on a bad series of days - I'd try it again, but it would have to be a lot better.

Room Tip: Get one with WiFi that works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz Carlton Berlin for 3 nights in October. From the first time of entry until our departure the whole experience was 5 star plus. The room was huge with a fab bathroom and a massive luxury bed, well decorated, very clean and quiet. The staff very helpfull and polite at all times. The pool and sauna area was also very clean and a pleasure to use. The position of the hotel could not be better as a base for exploring Berlin. All the sights are close buy with no need to use local transport, and the resturants, cinema, theatre, casino, nightclub are a five minute walk. We got a train and underground from just outside the airport, a 45 min journey to the door step of the hotel which cost 3.20 euro each. If you wish to visit the Reichstag you will need to apply on line before your vist Berlin, its free and very interesting I wish UK hotel managment would go to this hotel to see how its done and the correct way to treat guests.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 719 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

One of the best Ritz Carlton in urban areas. Perfect location for all tourist attractions or offices right across from S/U stations. Tiergarten is just 2 blocks away for run or walk. Sony Center, Theaters are within walking distance

Only downside for this hotel only if you're interested is Club Lounge to relax before going to show...its very tiny and service (I think it's just one person managing is just not going to work) /quality is not even matches regular Marriott Clubs..

Overall great service and very helpful concierges.. definitely will stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We felt like Rock Stars! We checked into the Ritz Carlton in Berlin, and were kindly informed that we had been upgraded to a suite. We had booked a room on the Club level. A very friendly and courteous bellman showed us to the Schinkel suite, an incredibly huge and opulent room. We were very impressed. Then, as it was cocktail hour, we decided to visit the lounge to have a drink. There, we met Josha. He was and is an incredible asset to the Ritz experience. He was friendly, polite and an enthusiastic guide to visiting Berlin. Full of great suggestions, important information and a what we felt was a genuine interest in our well being. He was so kind.

My birthday happened to fall on the third day of our stay there, we walked into the hotel after a late dinner (just after midnight) on our second night and Josha was there to welcome us back to the hotel, he was the first to wish me a happy birthday and whisk us to the piano bar, where they offered us a glass of pink champagne and a little birthday cake with a sparkler...then of course, the pianist sang to me. I felt very special.

Actually husband and I felt very special throughout our stay. We met wonderful people and everything was just lovely: right down to a manager, a concierge and a doorman standing outside, as we drove away.

I also loved that there were photographs of the actual staff in all the hotel photographs and printed material. It gave the hotel a homey albeit luxurious feeling. We loved it and we will always remember how much Josha contributed to our stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Location is ideal if you are a tourist. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The breakfast buffet is amazing and I encourage you to take a package that includes it. In addition, the lounge access package was worth it as they had great snacks and coffees on offer the entire day. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. It was truly great. Book with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Address: Potsdamer Platz 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Business Hotel in Berlin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berlin, on prestigious Potsdamer Platz, within walking distance to the Sony Center, renowned shopping galleries, the Brandenburg Gate, the Diplomatic and Government District and the heart of cultural Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Marriott, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Ritz Berlin
Ritz-Carlton Berlin
Berlin Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.