We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in a great value city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scharnweberstrasse 21-22, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in a great value city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

My wife and I returned yesterday from an excellent 4 day trip to this fine hotel and city. My wife was a bit dubious when she heard the price of a one night stay, thinking it would be cheap and nasty. €154 - 3 nights! Meanwhile I had faith in the comments from fellow members, most of whom had nothing particulary bad to say. My wife was more than happy with everything about the hotel and location, thank god!
We had a room at the front of the hotel which was a decent size, spotlessly clean and also quiet. The local s-bahn station was quite rightly as said before about 200 yards away. From here Berlin is really accessable and quite easy to commute around. We managed to master the u-bah and s-bahn systems but didn't really have time to work out the trams & buses, maybe next time. We found Berlin to be the most reasonably priced capital city we have been to and will certainly be back next year as you can't see it all in 4 days.

  • Liked — Location & cleanliness
  • Disliked — No faults in my eyes
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't take a taxi from the airport. A train ticket to the hotel is € 2.10!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    244
    93
    22
    8
See reviews for
130
159
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Agon Frankfurter Allee. Good clean comfortable Hotel with friendly english speaking staff. We got there early, 11am, expecting to just drop our case in the luggage room but, to our surprise, they had a room available straight away. Good location for exploring Berlin - Samariterstrasse tube station literally less the 200 yards away. Taxi from Tegel airport approx 30-35 mins - 20 - 25€. Plenty of reasonably priced good quality eateries nearby.

Definitely worthwhile and great value. They even have a free internet terminal in reception!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrewshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

Just got back yesterday from 4 days in Berlin, having read all the other reviews on the city and the Hotel Agon before our trip.
Public transport in Berlin is superb, easy once you know how and extremely clean, we flew into Berlin Schonefelde from Glasgow, further out of town than the other 2, Tegel & Templehof, but well served by train or bus. We went by train to Alexanderplatz then on the U-Bahn (subway ) to the stop Samaritserstrasse which is just around the corner from Hotel Agon.
Our room was large and airy with en suite shower/loo, the reception staff spoke English and were very helpful in giving directions. Ask them for a map of the local area ( Friedrichshain) so you can check out your surroundings. The street lighting is very very DIM! However the area is quite safe. You are in the old East Berlin, tree-lined streets, lots of nice restaurants and bars, and just across Frankfurter Allee is the Plaza Passage....not quite a Mall but several nice restaurants (Italian Toscana is very good) and some pretty shops. I had read a recommendation of Bar Sando which is in Proskauer Strasse...nice cocktails and excellent food too!
I would say there is an awful lot to see in and around Berlin...the City Bus Tour is good value for money and we also went to Potsdam ( on the train) which is a lovely town with Schloss Sans Souci as the highlight.
Buy/borrow a guide book before your trip and if its a short visit like ours do your homework before you go!
Finally as they say when raising a glass...Prosit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

We stayed 3 nights for a wedding anniversary trip after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Hotel appears new, modern and clean. Our room was fine (no. 400 twin beds pushed together, even though listed as a double) - if a little plain, with comfy beds, hot powerful showers. Free internet access in reception is useful for researching sights, checking e mail etc. We arrived after 10pm and asked reception about the best place to head for something to eat. We were given a map of the local area and directed toward Simon Dach str (just head out of the hotel, cross the road and turn left along Kinzigstr. When you come to the busy crossroads go diagonally onto Grunberger Str and you will come to it - about 10 - 15 minutes walk). There are loads of good value restaurants, cafe bars, and corner shops for your bottle of wine to take back to the room! You've got to try a kebab - not greasy like in the UK, lovely salad and sauce.

Breakfast is usual continental standard - cereals, rolls, continental cheeses and meats and is served until10am which means we had a nice lie in each morning.

All reception staff we encountered were really helpful, English speaking and pleasant. There is a left luggage room which is a bonus if you have a later flight back.

Overall I would recommend you stay in this hotel for its location to local amenities (underground station 3 mins walk, and aforementioned places to eat/drink ) and for its great value rooms and service, but its not for you if you like a picturesque stroll of a night as the street lights are dim and there is a lot of graffiti (althougth not as much as Rome).

A final note on transfer from Shoenfeld Airport - if you do use the trains and U Bahn (underground) when you get off U line 5, exit in the direction of Kinzigstr. and Colbestr and then turn into Kinzigsrt. at the junction with Schamweberstr. turn left and you will be 10 mtrs from the hotel entrance. We used "German Transfers" for a return taxi to the airport (approx 40 mins each way) cost 46 euros.

  • Liked — Location to places to eat / drink at night
  • Disliked — lack of interesting decor in room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

After reading the reviews on trip advisor i was looking forward to staying at this hotel. On arrival the hotel was easy to find, just 3 mins walk to the tube station. Very efficient staff at reception, gave us the key to our room. The room was very small but very clean. It stated all room had mini bars but we did not, we had room 106 and appeared fine, however we were over the courtyard (the back of the hotel) early hours of the morning we were woken every night by screaming drunk students who rolled in after a night out. This hotel is a non smoking hotel and eveyone wishing to smoke uses the courtyard right outside our bedroom window. The hotel was full of students and school trips, one night we had to unpolug the phone as we were getting hoax calls all through the night. The room is also next to the stair well so that was constanly banging on our wall.
My friend and I are both in our mid twenties and like a drink but the students were very annoying and put me off of writing a good review.

Maybe it wasw partly our fault as we could have asked to change rooms however we were only there for 3 nights.

Good location and very good breakfast buffet, but wouldnt reccommend unless you are a deep sleeper.

REccommend a trip to the concerntration cam to sashenhausen!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy students
  • Tips/Secrets — stay elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novocastria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

Hotel Frankfurter Allee (surprisingly not on Frankfurter Allee!) is a well run, clean, economically-priced and pleasant place to stay. It has charm and character and most of the staff are very friendly.
The bar (which doubles as a reception area) is a disappointment, though.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the reception area
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

The staff is very friendly and helpful (no problem with English speaking there).
There's free Internet (one station only) near the reception - very helpful (tip: the PC is usually free at night).
The location is good - about 200 meters to a U-bahn station to Alexander Platz (5-10 minute ride).
Although the hotel isn't in the beating heart of the city - it felt "close enough" and it didn't bother me. At night - the street might be a bit too dark - but I didn't feel threatened. There are several groceries, Burger King, etc' near the hotel.
Breakfast is just fine - fruit, juice, milk, cornflakes, 3 different types of bread, cheese, etc'
The room (mine had a single bed) is excellent - clean, TV, bathroom, all good and shiny.
This hotel is indeed great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost

Address: Scharnweberstrasse 21-22, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Frankfurter Allee Berlin
Agon Frankfurter Allee Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.