We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freidrichshain - easy stay, lots of choise.. zuper profi & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower Hostel to your Saves list
Sunflower Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Helsingforser Str. 17 | 10243 Berlin, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Freidrichshain - easy stay, lots of choise.. zuper profi & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Go with the flow in the 'fish tank' foyer. 'All you can eat' breakfast buffet till noon ...or if you prefer whiskey-cola after nights in the neighbouring NIGHTLIFE... they will take care of you. Many rooms w/balcony’s.. Lots of doubles, en-suite, up to 8 persons & dorms, High spec apartments …..outstanding customer service.. & a sun splashed terrace. !. .free parking..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
15
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

where should I start..cozy and extraordinary atmosphere makes this hostel special. One of these occasions when I wanted to spend more time in lounge, bar and other common areas than in my room. staff was really helpful with excellent english and even though I messed up with dates and booked different date but arrived 3 days earlier, they sorted everything out and let us stay without any extra charges. All common areas(wcs, toilets) were clean and tidy. positive experience indeed, I will definitely come back some day! thank you

Room Tip: choose the room with balcony! nice view and fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I reached Sunflower Hostel by car and TomTom, which was quite easy. It is located in a quiet part of Friedrichshain, which is overall a very vibrant neighborhood.
Lots of lovely cafe's and eateries can be found within walking distance as well as public transportation.

The entrance consists out of a reception which is also a bar and surrounded by cozy places to sit and relax. This environment is accompanied by very cute paintings on the ceiling and various plants. The hallways and rooms are also very nice, happy and colorful.

The bathrooms are quite clean, but are only provided by shower curtains - no doors which can be locked. The toilets are separate and obviously provide some privacy.

The staff is very friendly and the offered breakfast is very generous and good. There is even the opportunity to have breakfast and/or drinks outside on the little provided terrace on the sidewalk, when the sun comes out to play.

I had a nice time staying at this hostel, which is relatively cheap for what they offer.
I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've just returned from a second trip to the Sunflower Hostel and found my stay exactly as pleasant as the first. The reviews on here make for interesting reading as I generally regard this place as giving a brilliant to good level of service across the board for a hostel.

The fact is, as with any hostel, you're very much at the mercy of your other guests. Perhaps I've been lucky, but i've always found the guests to be as courteous as the staff. There's sometimes a bit of noise and some yelling in the street but you're staying in a hostel afterall, not a stiff hotel full of holidaying pensioners.

In many respects the facilities are basic but the beds have been comfortable on both visits (both times I have stayed in a twin room, not a dorm), the furniture adequate and the room clean. I do think it's possibly time that Sunflower invested in some new bedsheets? They're the same ones that were there on a visit one year ago! The shared showers worked, were always hot but the shower floor was often a little dirty. The single toilet was sometimes a bit smelly and could probably do with slightly more attentive cleaning, but far from hideous.

The staff are always helpful and polite and speak excellent English. The location, I feel, is great fun. It's a bit less salubrious than Mitte or Prenzlauerberg, but being in/near Freidrichshain is far more exciting! You can see Berghain/Panorama Bar from the front door and Warschauer Strasse S-Bahn is at the top of the road (great for all night snacks and beer).

A friend and I shared a twin room, for three nights, for a total cost of 25EUR per night, each. For that sort of price I can turn a blind eye to the very minor complaints I have raised above. I'd recommend it to anybody who knew what to expect from a hostel vs a swish hotel and I'd certainly be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is by far the WORST I have ever been treated in a hostel. The receptionists are cranky and they dont really want to help you. Their internal communication is completely non existing. If you want to stay in Berlin, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights. Our room was big, but it was not cleand during all 4 days. The staff was friendly and helpful. This hostel is situated close to city centre. We bought brakfast in the hostel and it was good, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Relatively large rooms with a great atmosphere throughout. The whole decor of the hostel is slightly dated and the area it’s situated isn’t the greatest but there’s a good sense of community here with people staying at the hostel having BBQs and drink together outside in the summer.

The shower rooms are pretty poor which was a bit of a let down. Just 4 showers in each of the shower rooms with a shower curtain covering each with no lock etc.

Average stay in all. To find the hostel, look for the vegan supermarket (what a find!) on the corner and follow the road down for 100m and take a left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hostel

Address: Helsingforser Str. 17 | 10243 Berlin, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunflower Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2001 Sunflower Hostel Berlin opened its doors for guests from all over the world - an island of independent budget accommodation. Sunflower Hostel still embraces the idea of "Old School" attitude of offering a bed in a central location and a multicultural, creative and colourful environment, where communication, cultural exchange and meeting other travelling guests is more important than a television in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunflower Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.