We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and a good night's sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower Hostel to your Saves list
Sunflower Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Helsingforser Str. 17, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value and a good night's sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here during the world cup. It was busy but they were totally accommodating. We made our reservations in advance and enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep. The place is full of funky murals, a great bar and clean bathrooms. It was a decent walk, which we don't mind, from the major sites but well worth the cost.

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
11
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here early december last year whilst on a trip for my birthday to see the red hot chili peppers. The hostel is a 5 minute walk (if that) from the o2 arena so for anyone going to any concerts there during there stay this hostel is a must! Stayed with my girlfriend for 2 nights, room was large and comfortable, heating was excellent for the time of year. Shared bathroom facilities were spotlessly clean and the shower was by far the best i've had in any accomodation anywhere. A short walk from the train station gives easy and cheap access into the centre. breakfast was plenytful, and after a long day sight seeing you could kick back and chill with some big cheap bottles of beer. overall a very relaxed place to stay, would reccommend.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed at the Sunflower Hostel during Spring this year and was not dissapointed. The place is very Berlin-like with its alternative looking staff and decor and has nice facilities such as a cheap and filling breakfast buffet and free linen, towels etc. (the deposit of 3 euros is returned to you upon checkout). I stayed in a mixed 8 bed dorm and the room was freshly painted, quiet and comfortable. One thing, though: Don't drop anything under your bed as the cleaning staff do not find their way in there often enough for my taste :)
Over all however, I found the hostel to be really nice. The staff was friendly and down to earth and very importantly: I did not feel like they were interested in milking me of my money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I like the Sunflower Hostel, everytime i go to berlin and i find place i book there.
There is nice people hanging around and it s clean (more or less)
it s close to OstBanhoff and all the bars there so it s perfect if you wanna enjoy the berlin nightlife.

Only remark, it s near but not THAT near to underground if you have luggage

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

Super folks who took great care of me. Berlin's big. Really big. But this place is located right by both u-bahn and s-bahn lines, close to great clubs, food, grocery, bars, etc, and a couple stops or a reasonable and pleasant walk from many of the sites, and the banging nightlife district of Kreuzberg. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stay in Sunflower already for 7 years actually when im typing this on this weekend it has exactly been 7 years ago when i have been there for the first time. My passion for music brings me here every 2 months and i have been there over 40 times. It always feels like coming home. Most of the staff recognizes me, and are alway willing to help with all kinds of requests. If you act like you are home and handle with care and respect they will do that extra step for you. An extremly good price - Quality marriage. Any minute of the day and night 24/7 you can get a beer or a chat or you can simply check in. There are all kinds of rooms dorm rooms, 2-3-4-5-6 person rooms. They are clean and the matress is confortable. The showers are also nice and clean. I have never had any bad experiences there so if people say that there was something wrong they are used to luxury and maybe this was their first hostel stay. Also another nice feature it always feels safe there, you can leave youre bag on a table and for example 2 hours later it would be still standing there. So for those few hours im there i can have a good shower and the needing rest for my trip back home. Always a pleassure btw see you in 2 weeks

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Prices are good
breakfast costs extra but is good (but missing fruit juice)
rooms are very nice (big) and clean!

I forgot my charger and a akku there, they sent it to me for free!! This is the best service a hostel can give!! So lucky!

They have a nice bar with good drinks (just: please change to crude sugar for the Caipirinhas!! ;) )

Room Tip: I always have been in the same room. 8-beds. And there was 2 big windows and a balcony!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hostel

Address: Helsingforser Str. 17, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunflower Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sunflower Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.