We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ARCOTEL Velvet to your Saves list
ARCOTEL Velvet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfort and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most of the other reviews covered this hotel pretty well. It is in a good location, right near a tram stop and underground station. Very handy to be able to go to the underground station to purchase travel tickets. We found the daily ticket very worthwhile for ease of popping onto the underground (U) and overground trains (S) and on the trams.
We did not use the train to get from Tegel airport to the hotel. With two suitcases and various bags and backpacks, it was easier to take a taxi than to take a train to town and change to the U6 line for one stop to get to the hotel. The taxi ride took about 30 mins (afternoon traffic) and cost 22 Euros.
We had a Junior Suite because we wanted kitchen facilities. We were staying for 5 days. There was an electric kettle, some cups and saucers with tea bags and coffee and sugar, glasses and some water and softdrinks in the bar fridge, a two burner electric stove and sink. Tiny and compact kitchen unit. No cooking utensils or plates or cutlery though. You have to ask for them at reception. We decided not to cook but we bought our own breakfast and juice supplies. We got plates and bowls and cutlery from the hotel bar.
Note. Do not eat the green apples sitting in the bracket mounted on the wall. Not sure on how long they have been there and the one my husband tried was not very good.
Bathroom was well appointed though care needs to be taken to step out of the bathtub. Only the glass screen to hold on to. Also, don't fill up the basin too much as it is extremely easy to splash water over yourself due to the curves on ALL sides.
There is a small safe to store valuables inside the wardrobe. Also nice big dressing gowns and slippers for each guest.
For food supplies, the receptionist advised us to go down Friedrichstrasse, over the bridge, to the DM markt (market). But that did not really have groceries. There was a Bio Company store before the bridge that had bio-organic milk, juice and cereal. A bit costly, but good quality products. But later we found a great supermarket at Friedrichstrasse station (ground floor), right opposite a great little bistro called Damisch where we had delicious hot leberkase sandwiches and various meats and salads. Very popular with the locals it seems. Bakery next door too. There is also a post office at the station. So very worthwhile to look around the station for supplies.
The Lucky Star chinese restaurant nearby the Arcotel was very good for dinner, good fresh ingredients and not too expensive. Not so good was the Yuuka Buffet further up the street. Not much choice and the food quality was poor. Ris-Otto, also closeby on Friedrichstrasse is ok. Though the ham, peas and tomato risotto we had was very salty. Could be from the tomato which was sun-dried. Or the stock used was too reduced and concentrated by the end of the day.
Further down Friedrichstrasse, over the river, are a lot of shops and department stores as well as major hotels. We think that the Arcotel has a lot more character and is in a more interesting area than the commercial end of Friedrichstrasse.
On Oranienburger Strasse, near the hotel, is the New Jewish Synagogue, just a short walk up the street. Just a little further along, you turn right and down the street is the bridge which connects you to Museum Island with 5 major museums to spend a day or two at. You can get the pass to get entry to all.
So the Arcotel is in a great location if you just want to walk around or you can easily hop onto public transport to get you around Berlin.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Junior suite and it was on level 6. It was great to be at that height to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin for your stay during your holidays.

We appreciate that you took the time to write such an extensive review.

It is great to hear that you liked our central location and the area surrounding the hotel.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our rooms and services.

Please be assured that the apples in the room are checked on a regular basis and that it is not standard in our house that there are bad apples. We apologize for this error.

We would be delighted if you choose our hotel again should you visit Berlin again in the future.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    185
    50
    18
    5
See reviews for
39
222
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you do not need a fancy hotel and want a decent hotel from which to base your exploration of Berlin, this is the place for you. There are no frills at this establishment, although the daily-replenished bottles of water were a wonderful touch, and the room was decently sized. What was most interesting about my room was that there was no physical wall, only a curtain, separating the bath/shower and sink from the room itself (the toilet was in a small room by itself) -- it did not bother me at all but it might be an issue for others. Most importantly, the Arcotel Velvet is a wonderfully located hotel in Mitte, across the street from the tram and around the corner from the U-bahn stop (only a stop away from a major transportation hub, Friedrichstrasse, where there is a supermarket and other useful stores. Friedrichstrasse can also be reached by tram). The S-bahn stop is only a few minutes away as well, and many of Berlin's premier attractions can be reached by walking (but if you want to save your feet, just hop on to Berlin's excellent public transport). There are lots of cafes and restaurants in the area, so it was relatively easy to find something to eat at a reasonable price and a place to relax before and after a day of exploration. The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is also quite interesting. I found the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff somewhat variable, but I had no problems per se, so I did not have too many interactions with them.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Director of Sales at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

At first we like to thank you for your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and for the taken the time to give us a feedback.
It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Berlin. We are happy that you liked the location of our hotel. We will definitely forwad all issues to our management.
If you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We wish you all the best and a nice Christmas time.

Best regards
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't post any photos of my actual room because it looks exactly like the hotel's promo shots. The room was well sized and the big windows were great. I overlooked the main street but had no issues with noise. The staff were all incredibly friendly, the room comfortable, the bed fantastic. The location is very convenient -- literally around the corner from the U-Bahn stop and only a few minutes' walk to the S-Bahn stop. You can buy transit passes at the front desk.

I'm happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear K K,

We like to thank you for your taken time to give us such a nice feedback. It was a pleasure to welcomed you at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with all its facets. So we hope to see you soon again and we wish you a great time.

Best regards
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel and again I was very happy with the service and cleanliness. The position is really great with lots of restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast option has definitely improved with a buffet breakfast being offered at bakery only a short walk away. The breakfast was excellent and good value.

I have only one small complaint and that was my room was very warm and no matter what I tried to do with the air conditioning it seemed to make no difference.

Still I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Richard,

thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin for a second time.

We are pleased to read that we were able to convince you again with our friendly service, the cleanliness of our rooms and the great location.
We will pass on your comment about the breakfast to our colleagues at the "Berlin_Theke".

Please accept our sincere apologies about the heat in your room. We have forwarded this issue to our house technician to see what the problem was. If you have problems in the room please let us know right away so we can help you find a solution for your next stay with us.

Thank you again for leaving a comment. It is greatly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

the ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We spent 2 nights and traveled by car to Berlin (couple with our little Jack Russel dog - main reason to choose the Velvet accepting pets!) The hotel is fairly new (maybe 10 years) is clean and offers no costly thrills - exept for the 19 EUR a day Parking Garage which is an absolute must when you travel by car to Berlin. The Tram (Strassenbahn) stops directly in front of the building. We had breakfeast in the close by coffee shop and there are plenty of Restaurants and bars in the stylish, artist-type vincinity. The new center of Berlin (fancy shopping or the Pergamonn Museum etc) is only a 10 - 15 minutes walk or 5 Minutes by Tram.
We took the junior suite with mega windows (which needed a bit of outside cleaning). The shower was a bit small but the room was spacious and nicely decorated. Spring Box bed... so what else would you need.

All in all the hotel is good value for money if you dont neeed a 5 star and want a lively and young neighborhood.

Room Tip: the higher the better if you are used to quite nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you kindly for your extensive and positive review! We appreciate that you took the time to leave a comment.

It gives us great satisfaction to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our central location.

We hope that you will choose the ARCOTEL Velvet again for your next stay in our wonderful city.

Wishing you all the best,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I stayed at Velvet in December 2013 for almost one week - work related trip, shared a double room with a colleague. The location is impeccable, obviously, I reccomend this area for people in need of peace and quietness within walking distance (well...as walking distance as Berlin can be:) to both Museums Insel, ALexanderplatz, art galleries around Mitte and to nice boutiques, quaint cafes etc. Close yet far from the agitation of bigger boulevards. Close to all essential transportation means for getting around the city.
In terms of service and staff support, it is a true 4 stars, ultra-clean, the double room that we had was large and comfy. We loved the modern touch of the shower room/wet room and its lighting:). Decor a bit pop-cliche boutique but well compensated by the window wall looking into the street and the houses nearby. Our room was on the second floor facing the street and it was well insulated from street noise. Lovely moment: sitting down in the warm clean room, next to the window, gazing at Berlin passing by in the fog.
Expect less privacy than with a regular window (courtains needed when preparing for bed in the evening with lights on) and really it depends on taste with regards to the wet room (water outside designated shower area of course so if you need to dress in the bathroom maybe not so practical - but we loved it anyways!)

Also wonderful breakfast, served in a good restaurant next to the hotel. You can pay at the hotel and have an offer breakfast included - open service, great variety, excelent food, so I would rate the breakfast value for money (not expensive given the quality) - great value if you really like a big breakfast with lots of vegetarian options as I do:).

Super romantic hotel, i would come back with my partner and get a top floor room this time:).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback! We appreciate your warm words and the time you took to leave this comment.
I have gladly shared your review with our staff.
Feedback like yours gives us the motivation to keep up our high standards of hospitality.

It gives us great satisfaction to read that you were happy with every aspect of our hotel.
Beginning with our central location, our friendly service and the breakfast offer & service at the neighboring Berlin-Theke.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our great city!

Best wishes,

The ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October and loved it! We had a Junior Suite which had stunning floor to ceiling windows offering a great panorama over the city. The suite was very well appointed with a kitchenette and living area, bags of space and complimentary mini bar (only one bottle of lager, mind, so no fighting!). The hotel itself is in a great location, very close to the S line and U line stations of Oranienburgerstrasse so getting around the city was very straightforward. We didn't get breakfast but understand it is available next door for an appropriate charge. Staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, this is a fab hotel and we would thoroughly recommend it. We will definitely return. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us.
We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to send us a feedback. As always we take the thoughts and wishes of our guests very seriously.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel, especially the clean rooms, the location and the nice staff.
We would like to wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcome you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet within the near future.

Best regards
Your Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#71 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#102 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARCOTEL Velvet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.