We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin chic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ARCOTEL Velvet to your Saves list
ARCOTEL Velvet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Berlin chic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I loved the quirkiness of this hotel! Might not be to everyobody's taste, but aside from that it was clean, spacious and great location. My partner and I regularly do city breaks and always aim to keep costs down but that usually means taking a gamble on the accommodation and as a result we've stayed in some questionable hotels! However, for it's price this hotel was more luxorious than others in this price range! The bathroom is an odd layout but private, clean and spacious- what more do you need? We had a room overlooking the main road with large windows but noise was minimal. The location of this hotel is a winning factor...some lovely restaurants and bars and close to the u bahn. Most evenings we walked to hackescher markt which has more choice of eateries and is only a 5 min walk. There is an s bahn station there too. Also museum island is only a short distance away from the hotel. Next door to the hotel is an intimidating looking building which is a galley and well worth a visit!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone but especially young couples who like quirky boutique type hotels. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear WhitneyMay,

Thank you so much for your kindly feedback.
We appreciate your phrases and we will forward them to our employees as a motivation to satisfy our guests.

It nice to hear that you liked the individual rooms and the location of the hotel.
Berlin is a city for every person with all its facets.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and wish you all the best for your future.

Best regards

Your Velvet Team
ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    185
    50
    18
    5
See reviews for
39
222
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I like´d it a lot. Very nice rooms, with plenty of space.

A nice location, lot´s of bars and restaurants if front of it, and walking distance from the museums and berlin wall.

The bad thing is that the showers don´t have curtains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Heliow,

thank you for beeing our guest at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

We appreciate that you have found the time to give us a feedback.
Also we like to say, we will forward this issue concerning the bathroom to our management.
For the year 2013 we are plannning structural alteration measures with our bathrooms.

We are looking forward to welcome you next time at our hotel and we wish you a good time.

Best regards,

Feeback Manager
Your Velvet Team
ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

it's pretty amazing. i've come to expect things to fall through the cracks when it comes to customer service at hotels. they're large organizations with dozens of people working different shifts, things are bound to happen. but when i mention some need no matter how small to a staff member at this hotel, it's taken care of asap. AND, the other staff are informed and on top of things as well. the rooms are small and comfy and very clean. the location is fantastic for eating out and sight seeing. mitte is a neighborhood that never leaves you wanting. frankly for the the price, you can't beat this hotel. no room service, not a fan of the breakfast in the attached restaurant. so what? there are at least two grocery stores, several restaurants and a mcdonald's all within walking distance.

Room Tip: i prefer the rooms facing the street and had no problem with noise level. request an electric ket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at Arcotel Velvet. It is a clean, comfortable & friendly hotel in a fabulous area - with good restaurant, bars & shops nearby.

Our rate didn't include breakfast, so rather than eat in the hotel we went to nearby places such as the wonderful Mogg & Melzer on Augustsrasse.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your second stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.
We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed the hotel and like the location with all the breakfast facilities.
Also we are looking forward to welcome you next time at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice, clean rooms and great neighborhood with lots of restaurants, a fabulous ice cream stand across the street and many of the major museums close by. Next to Tacheles, an artist occupied building, a center of the Berlin contemporary art scene. Good service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and for your feedback.
We are happy to hear, that you liked the art scene of Berlin. In Berlin Mitte there a lot possibilities to express yourself.
We will forward the positive feedback about clean rooms and good service to our Velvet Team.
Also we are looking forward to welcome you next time at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and wish you all best for your future.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice, modern rooms. We liked the layout of the room and the view of the bustling street below.

You are within easy walking distance of a lot of great restaurants and shops as well as subway stations to get you anywhere else quickly.

We were given a wireless router for the room which we just had to plug into the wall for wifi access for all our devices for free.

The only reason I gave this place a 4 instead of a 5 was that the bed was way to "firm" for my fiance and I, we both found it to be far to hard for our taste.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the street, which is very nice, but also a little noisier. We opted for st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your time in Berlin and that you liked the hotel and its location.

We are also sorry, that you had such problems with the bed.
In the next months we will replace step by step the mattresses at the rooms.

So we hope, we can welcome you the next time at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin

Best regards,
Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The location was perfect. Close to the U ban and in walking distance from a great choice of resturants.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#71 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#102 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARCOTEL Velvet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.