We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star worthy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schoneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 star worthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The quality of the rooms, the service and the breakfast indeed is 5 star worthy. tough thhe hotel is 'only' 4 star superior rated.. Really a splendid hotel and cannot recommend this enough. Only drawback was the lack of a nice view, but only few places in Berlin offers a beautiful view, so the quality of everything else here makes it really worthwhile and you really get an awfull lot for your money. Berlin is huge, but for a stay in the old westpart the location is fine, especially if you prefer a quiet area.

All in all cannot recommend this hotel enough - especially the breaksfast buffet with fresly made omelettes, pancakes and high quality of all foods and beverages. We wil look for a Möwenpick next time we travel somewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.
Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our breakfast buffet.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    289
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
84
358
65
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Firstly, I'd just like to say that I rarely write reviews for anything. I was so impressed by this hotel (and of course the city of Berlin) that I've decided to give my two cents, so here goes:

It's not often you get to stay in a work of art. From outside to inside, I was absolutely mesmerized. The rooms are huge in every way - you get a large modern toilet/shower room (in a wet room style) and a highly efficient (and extremely quiet!) air conditioning unit. It's so quiet, that you cannot hear a pin drop at night (even with the AC on). Unfortunately, they do have certain floors (not sure how many) dedicated to smokers, but we chose a non-smoking floor. You would think you were in a total non-smoking hotel - the smell doesn't drift like it can do with other hotels. The air was as clean as fresh linen.

The historic building was previously a Siemens factory, and what they've done with the space is amazing. We did not book for dinner or an evening meal, but I cannot fault the breakfast - there's seemingly infinite variety and quantity of tasty food, accompanied with a highly efficient waiter service. The receptionists are highly informative and personable, and provide an overall great service.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a non-smoking floor if you're not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking the time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to maintain our high standards of hospitality.

I am glad to hear your friendly feedback of our staff as well as on our quality of service. Of course I will pass on your praise of the good care and kindness to all the employees, because they are the heart of our company.

The Mövenpick Team Berlin would be delighted to welcome you in our hotel back soon.

Sincerely,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAO PAULO
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent hotel in a quiet street but close to the Wall Memorial, Potsdamer platz and many other attractions. Reception staff is top class, extremely friendly. Rooms are clean, large, comfy, airy and quietness is the rule! Very comfy beds too. It's like a sophisticated hotel but you don't drain your wallet for that! No doubt would stay there again.

Room Tip: There's a free sauna in the basement if you feel like relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location of this place couldn't be better, its right near Anhalter Bahnhof station and there's a decent Italian restaurant across the road from the S bahn station. I was a bit disappointed in the bed in the room, the pillows were paper thin and I actually hurt my neck and shoulders sleeping on it. I guess this kinda put a damper on my stay there and this would be more positive in the review had this not happen. They did give me a firmer pillow eventually but it wasn't that much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking the time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to maintain our high standards of hospitality.

We would like to apologize for your experienced inconvenience concerning the room equipment and the provided pillows.
Please be informed that we offer a wide range of different pillows including bigger soft ones or smaller harder pillows, some for allergic as well as neck support pillows. In addition we offer special pillows with millet seed or spelt grain inside. Since the space in the room is limited we provide these pillows upon request. Nevertheless we sincerely apologize if these options weren’t communicated to you properly. Please be assured that I am going to forward your comment to the relevant department and that we will train our staff again to offer the possibility to change the pillows to our guests.

Furthermore I would like to thank you very much again for your positive feedback. It is great to see that you generally enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our beautiful city. If in the meantime I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in June in a group of 21. Brilliant reception from the staff, including a welcome muffin. Service good, bar prices reasonable for a tourist hotel. My only complaint was the first nights dinner, which was included in our tour, it consisted of a soup, followed for a main course, which I, and others in the group found to be indescribable. The two modest pieces of pork were accompanied by a square thing, which I am still trying to analyse in my mind - it was awful.
Presentation was good however, but you can't eat presentation.
The rooms were good sized and clean, ample lifts, and the breakfasts made up for that first dinner.
Sorry for the negative point, the remainder of the stay was first class.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comments as it is really important for us to get feedbacks from our guests such as yours. It helps us to identify our improvement potential and to take the corrective measures to assure our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in our beautiful city.

We would like to apologize for your experienced inconvenience concerning the dinner in the evening. Please be assured that I will pass your comment to the staff members involved.
I would also like to thank you for your feedback as it is extremely important to us to know where we can still improve ourselves to transform your stay into a comfortable and memorable one.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you for your positive review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week. Staff all very pleasant and helpful, everyone seemed to speak very good English.

Great location only 7/8 minutes walk from Potsdamer Platz and just minutes along the street from Anhalter Banhof station; Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Park station is closer than Potsdamer Platz but not such a pleasant walk. Door to door under an hour from Tegel airport. Close enough to walk to Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Typography of Terrors and Checkpoint Charlie.

Had a very quiet "superior double for single occupancy" (room 151) overlooking the inner courtyard but the room was a bit smaller than I had expected (not sure what size a standard room would have been, or perhaps it was the minibar etc that was the difference?) but adequate for my needs as a single traveller - and I didn't spend much time in the room! Curtains are a bit thin but my room also had blackout curtains behind them.

Despite good intentions I didn't have a minute to spare to use the gym or the sauna.

Fantastic buffet breakfast with wide range of items on offer.

Free W-Fi in the public areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

hotel was part of the trip with Riveria Travel. 3 nights. Hotel is in an very central location and near to the most of the important attractions. Bus stop near the hotel likewise the underground train. Breakfast was superb with an excellent and wide choice of food; fresh orange juice (not from a packet) and fresh cooked eggs/omelettes etc. to order. Staff were friendly and polite especially reception staff and all spoke English My only complaint as such...was that the feather pillows on the bed were too soft for my personal liking. However, not bad enough to stop me sleeping in very comfortable bed. TV even had news in English. Cakes left at reception desk in the afternoon for guests to have...nice touch and appreciated. We found that the room was very quiet - ie no intrusive sounds from rooms above or adjoining.

Room Tip: stayed in 524. very quiet. at back of hotel. no view as such but no problem as not in room to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback about our Mövenpick Hotel Berlin.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially our famous Mövenpick breakfast.
Thank you for your comment concerning our pillows.
Please be informed that we offer a wide range of different pillows including bigger soft ones or smaller harder pillows, some for allergic as well as neck support pillows. In addition we offer special pillows with millet seed or spelt grain inside. Since the space in the room is limited we thought to provide these pillows upon request. Nevertheless we sincerely apologize if these options weren’t communicated to you properly. Please be assured that I am going to forward your comment to the relevant department and that we will train our staff again to offer the possibility to change the pillows to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and wish you a great day.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Berlin

Address: Schoneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Berlin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#55 Family Hotel in Berlin
#61 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.