We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Storkower Strasse 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The generator was our first stop of 5 in Europe and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff are very nice and really try to help you, even with my phone that wasn't working. Rooms are small but nice and warm. The bar was n let down, not much of a vibe going on, but the staff try. I think we were just there in a quiet period. They try to make the bar feel clubish and that is not really our thing! Location is fine but I will recommend staying in the other generator in Berlin.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    277
    154
    53
    44
See reviews for
24
117
93
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed ther overnight on a busy Friday and stayed in a six-bedroom girl dorm. The design details of the room, the facilities and the cupboard space included by default in the price are very good not only for value for money- wise but objectively. A colourful crowd goes around in the very elegant shared spaces. Felt safe whatsoever. Only breakfast is a bit expensive for its price, but I have seen definately more expensive prices for the same couple of marmelade flavours, wurst and cheese and brotchen.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked in as a large group for a stag do. There was a bit of an issue when we first got there as the site we had booked through had shown us as having 3 8 person rooms which the hostel doesn't actually have. The staff were friendly and apologetic and sorted it out quickly.

The hostel is well located with a train station and tram stop straight into the city centre both within a 2 minute walk.

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. We didn't have toilets in the rooms so had to use the communal ones. They were clean and plentiful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Laois, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights whilst visiting friends who live in Berlin. We booked the hostel very late due to change in plans and therefore paid a little extra as it was high season and rooms were filling up.

The hostel location is questionable. it is close to the town centre and the trams serving the town centre. However unfortunately at night it is very poorly lit around the side of the hostel (the route from the tram stop) and we had quite a Scary time taking the trams back as they are very full at night and one occasion a large scale fight broke out. The tram continued to drive whilst this fight took place and these men were punching and kicking each other. One man had his head smashed of a hand rail. I believe if it was better lit around the side of the hostel my friend and I would have felt safer- this potentially doesn't worry boys as much.

The front lobby had its pros and cons too. It was brilliant at night- fun and buzzing with people and music 'the generator never sleeps' when we arrived however we were told our room was not ready and we would have to wait an hour despite it being already past check in time. We asked could we leave our bags to go see Berlin and we're directed to a luggage store with lockers that you slot money in to, to keep your bags safe. These are all over the hostel and is a great service but not when you are forced to pay to store your bag despite them not having your room ready at the agreed time.


The room was a two bed as we requested, it was small basic and mostly clean. The beds were in no way comfortable but they were already made which was a great bonus for hostel accommodation.The room was not quite but as I said the generator doesn't sleep and we were happy enough to roll with that! The bathroom was certainly compact it reminded me of what a shower on an airplane would look like if they had showers the rest of the bathroom also resembled a toilet on an airplane but the shower was lovely and hot and we had a small hairdryer and our room included some fluffy white towels which was really fantastic for a hostel. There is also a room of female and male showwe cubicles on the main corridors and toilets too which were really clean and great if you're in a larger group!

Breakfast was also included in our package. The breakfast available was pastries rolls cereals fruits coldcuts and cheeses. Juices tea coffee and hot chocolate were also available. You may order eggs or bacon if you wish but these entail further charges. The breakfast was decent but made unpleasant by a member if staff being ridiculous. She gave out to a number of lads eating bread rolls on there way out of the breakfast room informing them if they left with food they had to pay for it, they informed her they had already paid for it and didn't have time to sit and eat but she kept going so they threw them in the bin (didn't blame them) she asked a lady where she got her coffee from, gave out to a girl who had a napkin sitting on a pastry as she believed the girl was going to remove it from the breakfast room. The girl explained she was too full to eat it and didn't want to waste it and she said if she left with it she had to pay- the girl threw it in the bin.. Another woman was questioned for taking two coffees- these interrogations all happened whilst people were in the middle of there breakfast, it was very rude and undignified.
Of breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinzessinSJ, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Danielliephant,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg.
We will certainly review the lighting around the hostel at night to ensure that our guests feel more sure. We will also be speaking with our breakfast team about the customer service they provide as there is no reason why the breakfast arrangements, which are necessary, are communicated in this way. Your comment on this is very helpful.
We do hope that you stay with us or one of our Generator Hostels across Europe again.

Wishing you all the best,
Sabine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great lads holiday to Berlin in January 2010. 3 of us came and to the hostel we went. A bit out of town but the metro is very close.
The beds were comfy enough and the number of rooms are countless. For a hostel the facilities were up to scratch and the bathroom/showers were in good working & clean order.

The bar area were the standout features. Spent the last night drinking and dancing away with all the other tourists staying in the hotel.
The staff are great too and took us on a night out the first night we were there.

The Generator is truly an awesome place and there is a Burger King nearby too

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinzessinSJ, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SherwinSacki,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad your enjoyed your time at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg and hope that you will come and stay with us or one of our other Generators again soon.

Best wishes,
Sabine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend booked the accommodation and I must admit I feared what I was going to when I was told it was a £15 a night hostel...
Pleasantly surprised though, first impressions was the place was clean but the room a little small, but we were just needing it for somewhere to sleep between sight seeing and partying!
Breakfast was included in the price and I never left the place hungry in the morning!
The staff were all really friendly and knowledgeable, they were good at advising where to go and what to do and how to get where we wanted to! The hostel is good location for tram line and train but taxis around the city are not hugely expensive if you are splitting cost between a couple of you.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinzessinSJ, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cuckoo4,

Many thanks for taking the time review our hostel. We are very glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and hope that you come and stay with us or at one of our other Generator Hostels.

Best wishes,
Sabine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Storkower Strasse 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.