We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation simple and effective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Storkower Strasse 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great budget accommodation simple and effective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Was a short while since was there but would certainly return again. The location isn't central but was right beside a train station for easy access to the main attractions. The place was busy and general age were late teens. The bar was great, very noisy as expected but cheap beer and a good atmosphere.

Would bring my teenagers there if travelling as I think they would appreciate the surroundings more than a fine hotel.

The Big plus is I have paid lots more for much less. Great all round.
All good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    277
    154
    53
    44
See reviews for
24
117
93
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I were there for 3 nights in a private room with bathroom. It's a big building full of rooms and decorated based on teenagers interests. After a while of entering there I felt as if I entered my high school! but I like that, it took me to 15 years ago, cool! The lobby was always full and there were so much transferring between floors which cause sometimes bad traffic in using the lift. In fact, only two lifts wasn't enough for that much guests.
The breakfast was not good enough and served like canteen in high school.
The room and its bathroom were so small. Our room was located in that side of the building which is opposite of the railway station, therefore the noise was really harmful during the nights while the window was open.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here with parents and little sister in a 4-bed dorm with private bathroom, staying 4 days in Berlin in June 2012. The first night was great - what great VALUE there was, which certainly got my parent's attention. It was cheap and the room was very clean. The ensuite bathrooms were clean little pods - it wasn't a problem because we are small people, and we still used the communal bathroom/shower in the mornings (also very clean and modern).

PROS:
- value
- cleanliness
- safety
- decent breakfast buffet (5 euros)

CONS:
- must transit to areas (but tram and train is beside the hostel, and one train to Shonefeld airport).
- the NOISE
- can't comment on sociability.

The breakfast was definitely worth it - 5 euros for hot/cold beverages, bread, variety of cereal, deli meats and cheeses to fill a sandwich for the day (take-away 1 Euro) and fresh fruit salad. This seemed standard for every morning, except after the first day the fruit salad was canned. But this was fine - you can't find a larger buffet breakfast for under 5 euros! I thought the location was great. You won't be able to find a hostel in Mitte for this price or anywhere in reasonable walking distance to the core but the M6 and M5 tram brings you there and runs every 5-10 minutes. We got the small group transit pass good for all forms of transit for up to 5 people traveling together - definitely recommended (15 euros/day zones AB) and if you use it twice a day, it pays for itself.

I can't comment about the sociability of the place since we came as a family, we were just looking for a place to sleep in the evenings. Certainly commercial, the place is huge and very neon but clean, which I look for.

The only thing was when I read the reviews about the noisy groups. Please take this into account that there is a **very high possibility** of a large group of teenagers sleeping on your floor during your stay. The first night was fine; maybe even great. But the second day, there were two large buses outside and the kids were ... just too much. I know you take this chance with any hostel, but the place is NOT soundproof. You can hear what's happening down the hall, and there was music coming from the walls but you didn't know which direction. So, the hostel does attract and accommodate very large groups but our neighbours were especially annoying: they had subwoofers. We gave them till 11pm to quiet down but they were inconsiderate when confronted.

We talked to the group's chaperones and the front desk about the noise and it seemed like there was less noise the second night. The reception seemed passive though. If you're looking to socialize with kids under 18, maybe this is the place for you, but if you're looking to sleep before 1am - DON'T CONSIDER IT.

If you're at the hostel and there is noise, please TELL the FRONT DESK. If there was greater enforcement of the quiet times, maybe someone doing a quick check on the floors every hour between 10pm and 3am, I think the hostel would get 4 stars. Front desk was nice but seemed largely unconcerned. They should speak to the larger groups before they check in about socializing in the hallways and throwing things. Or even offering family groups to be placed on a higher floor AWAY from large youth groups when they checked in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Clean, safe, reasonable hostel.
Bar and restaurant on site
breakfast in morning (not included in stay rate) was very good.
very good location for transport, trains, trams etc.
could be better value for groups - we had a private room and for the same price, we could have had a hotel room in a 3* hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovran, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Plus:
The staff in this hostel was very friendly and helpfull.
There is a nice bar with pool.
In generaly good food.
Rooms were clean and safe.

Minus:
Generator hostel is a big one with a lot of people inside.
It's close to Berlin city center but still you have to use the subway.
No markets in the area but there are some fast food stores (Burger King, Kebab)
Expensive drinks in a hostel bar, you are not allowed to go inside with your drinks.
I was here in october and was very noisy.

The Hostel is not so expensive nad I have to mention that we paid the hostel in the morning but we were leaving at the night so we had a day extra in Berlin. The guy on the reception let us to leave the baggages in one room near reception so we didn't have to take it in to the town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We endured 4 nights in this place, and after reading Trip Advisor reviews, figured we had a 50/50 chance of getting a decent hostel.
Our issues were as follows:

Location- nothing within walking distance besides a few bakeries, kebab store and a burger king. So to get anywhere in Berlin, you have to catch the Ubahn (subway) or a tram which are both right outside the hostel.

Atmosphere- No atmosphere at all, this place is massive, which adds to all the problems we encountered!! Prior to booking, we noticed quite a few complaints on Trip Advisor regarding noisy school groups. We figured this was likely a one off. But no. Everyday hordes of school kids would check in, and treat the main reception/ restaurant area like a play ground (only area where wifi works in the hostel)
Additionally, the kids would run up and down the hallways throughout the night screaming and even banging on our door at 4:00am!

Facilities- besides the wifi only working on the ground floor (not in any bedrooms) 
-Bathrooms reminded us of plastic airplane/ ship bathrooms. Tinny, with a shower head which sprays a single jet of water like a high pressure hose. 
- There was no air conditioning this you have to open the window, and contend with the noise from the smokers out the front of the hostel.
-The two lifts were agonizingly slow for a building used by so many people, you can easily wait 5 minutes, to find the lift already full.

Staff- every time you needed anything from reception, there would be an enormous line of people checking-in, even though there were two staff  members at the desk, one would generally be on the phone.

We consider ourselves seasoned backpackers, having travelled the world for the past 6 months. We have had some pretty bad accommodation in our time in South America, but this place is the only time we really struggled to sleep. Seriously avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix K, Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hello again :)

I have been reading your feedback on Hostelbookers allready.
If you have a chance to contact me, please do so at felix.koegler@generatorhostels.com.

I would realy like to know what exactly you've been looking for.
You obviously didn't find it at our Hostel and that atracts my attention.

If you have a spared minute, please drop me a few lines. Please.

All the best from Berlin,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having just returned from a weekend break in Berlin with friends, I thought I had to let everyone know what a gem the Generator Hostel turned out to be. I was originally sceptical about going to a hostel as it was my first time ( I had grubby, stale smelling and noisy typical backpackers haunt) how surprised was I. One of my travelling companions had booked online on our behalf but I was delighted clean, fresh, comfortable and 10 euro per head a night, great setting,quiet. Defo thinking of return journey.

Room Tip: Book now as you will be pleasantly surprised, restaurant and bar great value, rooms all clean tidy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix K, Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hey Stewart,

well let me say thank you for trying :)
And thank you for spreading your impression!

If you realy consider to return to a hostel, you may want to try our properties in Dublin, Hamburg, Copenhagen or London. Believe me, your surprise will be extended :)
However, if Berlin convinced you, try our 2nd property opening in Summer 2013.
Hotel quality coverd in a exeptionaly desing. Same price!!!

Okay Stewart, have a good one wherever you are right now.
All the best from (right now) a little rainy Berlin.

Felix and the Generator Hostel Berlin Crew :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Storkower Strasse 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.