We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Berlin Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Berlin Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #34 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shocking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I could honestly say I will never stay with the Marriott group again. We arrived at the hotel on Monday with 3 girls and the receptionist said your room is ready for 3 people, the room was only ready for 2. They then tried to blame me and say only booked for 2 people but they mentioned to me first. I then had to wait for a bed and towels to be delivered.
The room was hit and it wasn't a hot day in Berlin, I think temp was 22. We all thought it would be a good idea to stay in the night and order room service well what a joke that was, food was delivered cold and very $$$$. To top it all off at 4:00am, 5:00am, 5:30am and 6:00am load sounds were going off, I contacted main desk to be told the fire alarm was playing up with no sorry or anything. Also no free wifi what a joke..............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Elyce S,
my deepest apologize for this inconvenient stay with us.
All our rooms are originally set up for a single use occupation. Certainly our Housekeeping Team is preparing everything in the room, if we are in the know of a multiple occupation. I am sorry for the miscommunication between our operational teams at the hotel as your room assignment has changed before your arrival and the Housekeeping Team was not informed about it.
The fire alarm was activated my an unknown person. If one of this full evacuation buttons on the guest corridors is pressed, we have to handover the building to the fire brigade and need to wait until they have cleared and set back the alarm.
Still I am very sorry for everything you had to go through. I promise we do your very best to make your stay within the Marriott family marvelous the next time.
Have a great day,
The Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    437
    113
    18
    13
See reviews for
246
374
118
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family just back from Europe. On 26-28 July, we stayed in this Hotel. Location is very good and easy to be found (just nearby the Potsdam Bahnhof Platz station). The room is big and comfortable. An extra bed was added for my son and is free of charge, we are very appreciated of this. Swimming Pool is not so big and the water is a little bit cold. Breakfast is very good and the waiters are very polite and helpful. The reception girl can speak fluent English even she is a German people. I will stay there again if I back to Berlin.

Room Tip: If book early, the price will be lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtw
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near Potsdamer Platz, the Brandenburg Tor, Jewish Memorial and Tiergarten Park. The S-Bahn is behind the hotel and plenty of places to eat nearby. I highly recommend the Indian Restaurant across the street. This is a business hotel but still comfortable if you're on vacation. The rooms are a decent size and the staff is pleasant. The Ritz Carlton is across the street if you need someplace more upscale. I recommend taking a Fat Tire Bike Tour and double decker sight seeing tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Modern and attractive classy hotel situated just a very short walk from S- and U-bahn. Very efficient check-in and allocated a spacious room overlooking Ebertsrasse. Ability to open window for fresh air instead of air con was welcome. Very comfortable bed, as usual in Marriotts. I didn't use the bar or restaurant but noticed the prices were high. Concierge very friendly and helpful. Pool fairly small, but very clean and good temperature and not busy. A unique feature in the changing room - something I've not seen elsewhere before - was a large sample dispenser of CK Encounter aftershave! My usual gripe with Marriott is the extortionate fee for wifi - easy to find somewhere nearby offering it for free (hello Starbucks next door!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights in august (2 adjoining rooms). Rooms were spacious and amenities were very nice. Close to the Brandenburg gates, metro, Tiergarten, and Mitte area. Beds were super comfy, and appreciated the down pillows. Would love to have free wi-fi (we did purchase, but wi-fi is becoming an 'expectation' not an 'extra').

Starbuck was just next door, as is another coffee place. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel (I think it was something like 30 euros, which is really pricey!).

Staff were nice when I asked where I could find a place to buy hair conditioner - they had some that they brought up to the rooms (much appreciated!)

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A modern bright hotel, situated in a very central location at Potsdamer Platz, convenient for Brandenburger Tor and the Reichstag.
Rooms were very clean and well kept, with mini bar, tea and coffee. Beds were comfortable with an assortment of firm and soft pillows so had a pretty good night's sleep. Loved the bathroom- the shower was about the best ever , featuring a rain shower and a hugely powerful conventional shower. Gorgeous. I was in there for ages. Also, loved the bath products.
Really enjoyed the breakfast as there was plenty of choice for all tastes: cereals, croissants, rolls, fruits, hot and cold items, all of really good quality and always kept topped up.
Only two things troubled me slightly: One was the wifi cost, which seemed rather pricey at 20 Euros daily. The other was the lack of dishes in the lobby bar and café for evening dining, suitable for non- meat eaters. I gazed at the menus like a lost soul. Obviously steaks are the big thing and they' re very proud of the quality but I really think they could throw in a couple of alternative dishes. It's not often veggies can find absolutely nothing at all.
Staff were really lovely and charming throughout. It's also handy having a taxi rank just round the corner and I found taxi travel to be pretty reasonable and the drivers are a mine of information.
I enjoyed the visit and would be happy to stay again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Marriott is very convenient to all of the major tourist attractions either by a short walk or by train as it is located right across the street from the UBahn and SBahn stations of Plotsdamer Platz. Using the train systems in Berlin is a breeze. The hotel has a decent gym as Marriotts go and also has an executive lounge that serves a full breakfast and a light dinner with free beer, wine, sodas and water. If you're visiting, especially in the summer, paying for access to the executive lounge (if you're not gold or platinum members) may still be worth it because you can load up on water and drinks before you go exploring, and the full breakfast and dinner helps to defray some costs. In Germany, like most of Europe, bottled water is expensive unlike the U.S. it's about €2.5 to 3.0 for a small bottle (0.25l which is about 12 oz.). The rooms themselves are like most Marriotts - clean and consistent. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Marriott Hotel

Address: Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Berlin Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Marriott Hotel is located at the Potsdamer Platz. The hotel is within walking distance to several Berlin sightseeing highlights, such as the Brandenburg Gate and Sony Center in Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Berlin Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Berlin
Berlin Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.