We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but now looking dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of German Historical Museum

German Historical Museum
Zeughaus und Ausstellungshalle | Unter den Linden 2, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
49 0 30 20304 0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 404 Attractions in Berlin
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly an arsenal, this building will house the German History Museum.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Interesting but now looking dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You can see what the goal was , but it all looks that it stopped 15-20 years ago and now maintenance means cleaning , not looking for new exhibits .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    953
    421
    81
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

History of Berlin. Tons of things which will surprise you...including things to do with Napoleon....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Two hours was not enough to do justice to this encompassing look back at Germany from pre-history onwards. Excellent explanations in English made it accessible to our non-German speaking group.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Both the fixed exhibitions and those special ones that change during the year always provide an interesting and salutary experience. There are usually audio guides in different languages. The building of course is quite stunning anyway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I didn't know a lot about German history before visiting this museum, and we didn't make it all the way through in the time we were there, but found it fascinating nonetheless. We focused on a special exhibition called "Diversity Destroyed" and the early history sections. "Diversity Destroyed" did a great job of capturing the way that the Nazis worked to drive out or exterminate Jewish people, Romas, homosexuals, people with disabilities. I particularly appreciated the way that they appeared to have worked with others throughout Berlin to mark places where these events happened. The early history exhibit (up to WW I) had lots of fascinating artifacts, including some "touchable" ones that were designed for kids, but which we enjoyed as well (particularly the chain mail shirt, which was incredibly heavy). If we'd had more time, I would have liked to come back here to see more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to German Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Historical Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.