We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lokal

Lokal
Linienstrasse 160, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
(30) 28449500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 7,099 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Arrived late after theatre trip without a booking and still enjoyed a marvellous meal! Excellent staff all very helpful. Beautiful food and very good wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debilil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I brought my boyfriend to Berlinas a surprise, researched on food blogs and booked Lokal for his birthday night. I couldn't have lucked out more. Our waiter was fantastic, spoke amazing English and was really funny. The restaurant itself is beautiful and is really enjoyable to spend time in. We went on all the waiters recommendations and the wild boar main as he promised was the best pork dish I've ever had. I eat out a lot in London and this place was close to the top of my list in terms of quality and for what you get is really reasonable. I loved it and would visit again in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
Thank Greencharliechaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, best meal of the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked late as the restaurant was already fully booked and on arrival we were squeezed in at the bar for drinks. The waitresses were very accommodating and helpful, translating when we needed help and making us comfortable.

We ate celery soup and pigeon for starters. Both of which were really tasty and for mains we had Venison and Beef. Both meals were presented beautifully which a range of veg on the plate and the taste was superb. For dessert we shared an apple crumble with was good but nothing too special.

The atmosphere was great, it felt like a weekend night even though it was midweek.

We spent €80 for dinner for 2 with drinks.

Would very much recommend eating here but dol cal ahead to book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Urban, regional, trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friendly, trendy atmosphere - maybe not for a romantic, tranquil dinner, but great for a relaxed and tasty dinner with friends.
Urban feel with rural touches (lovely wooden tables).
Food very fresh and inventive, based on regionally available products. Good choice of wines!
Service attentive and professional, and very friendly.
Overall a delightful experience, if you look for an easy-going place without sacrificing food quality or style. Happy to go back there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Lucky us, this excellent restaurant was just down the street from our hotel. Our server spoke English fluently and recommended the most delicious riesling wine - she even provided tastings beforehand. The menu changes weekly, showcasing local fresh food. My husband had "traube" (pigeon), a rich, dark meat with delicious vegetables on the side. I had Arctic char which was simply prepared to showcase it's delicate flavor. Dessert was amazing - apple strudel on rich tasting cinnamon ice cream. Make a reservation - this place is a winner!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shmacculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal also viewed

 

Been to Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing