We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mani Restaurant

Mani Restaurant
Torstrasse 136, 10119 Berlin, Germany
+49 01636359464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #681 of 5,746 Restaurants in Berlin
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
PlanoTexasgirl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chic Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our dining experience at Mani. The menu is well conceived with starters focusing on the Middle East. We order 4 small starter plates and all four were knock outs. The entrees were more European focused and those too were wonderful. Lots of layers of flavor and fresh ingredients.

The restaurant itself is very modern and comfortable. You feel like you re dining in someone's home. Roaring fireplace, cozy chairs, and black lacquer tables all create a romantic vibe. The service is great. There were two servers for the entire restuarant, but they never seemed to struggle making everyone happy. Our server was quick with recommendations. Mani also as a great cocktail menu. Their Martini's are great. The vodka was chilled to the point that it pour like syrup and the presentation was great. I spoil how they serve it, you will just have to order one for yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    30
    18
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service, odd food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my second time in a supposedly "fancy" Berlin restaurant (first was Maxwell which is now closed). Have had exactly same experience in both i.e some of the food was great and some of it was just weird.

Staff here were absolutely lovely which made it a nice experience, but to be honest it was way overpriced for what it was. We rather foolishly accepted a wine recommendation, not on the menu, which was 50 euros. We were to embarrassed to ask(how very British) so spent most of the meal worried about how much it would cost! Thankfully the food wasn't to expensive so it was ok. Had meze starter which was delicious and lamb patties and cabbage as a main. The patties were great, but the cabbage was mixed with mushrooms and was in an odd creamy sauce which didn't go with the tomato sauce of the patties. To be fair they didn't come together, and i think were supposed to be side dishes or tapas style but i would expect a waitress to advise that maybe that wasn't the best mix.

Friend had an aritchoke souffle which looked nice, and it came with a salad which had a soft egg with it - seemed like a bit of an egg overkill!

The crowd was very monied Berlin. Felt like i was having dinner in Chelsea.

All in all i enjoyed it as it was quite fancy and had a nice atmosphere, but it wasn't the sort of place i would go to at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thank You Ralph!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had booked Mani for our Wedding Anniversary on our first night in Berlin..We were really looking forward to it, I had been emailing Ralph with regards to our booking..When we arrived we were told that the extractor fans were broken and they were trying to fix them..Ralph gave us a complimentary glass of Champers each and we had starters, ahich were lovely..Sadly for us the extractors could not be fixed that night, my husband and I felt so sorry for Ralph, it was not his fault..Then he did the loveliest thing and got us booked at very short notice into a great little restaurant around the corner called Lokal, which I must say was amazing..So thank you Ralph for turning what could have been a nightmare evening into a great one!!When we come back, which we will, we hope that you will be there!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Way overpriced and the worst Irish coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We found the restaurant - which a French theme - close to the hotel we were staying. Looks impressive from the outside and indeed the inside is pretty stylish too. But it's the quality of the food that counts.. and that was a disppointment. The meatball starter was absolutely tiny and had next to no taste. The wine was way overpriced for what it was .. we paid £38 for a bottle of French stuff you could probably get at Tesco's for £6.
The waitress who served us knew nothing about the food on the menu and the Irish coffee I got at the end was truly awful. I must have looked like the things was troubling me because a waiter came over and asked if I was OK... I told him the problem and he tries to sort it, but only managed to make it worse.
Avoid and find something a bit more traditional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a great night at Mani restaurant. The waitor was excelent and had really good knowledge about both the food and drinks. I ordered a Wiskey Sour which he made himself and told me the reasons for his various choices for the drink which was very good. Very impressive. The food was not extraordinary, however it was ok value for money. The place has a really good wibe with nice urban people and nice interior.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mani Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.