We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Concert Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Peppone

Ristorante Peppone
Leipziger Platz 15, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 22488156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 6,035 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Brighton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pre Concert Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went here for a pre-concert supper at 6pm as our concert was at 8pm in the Philharmonic, just over the road. Not many in when we started but by 6:30 the place was getting busy. The staff were excellent and we had a very comfortable 3 course meal with plenty of time to get to the concert. Food was good, especially the truffle pasta, and there were very reasonable and drinkable wines. It was great to speak a bit of Italian with the waiters, as neither of us speak much German and we were guilty about using English all the time.

All in all a very enjoyable and relaxed meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    30
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The restaurant is located close to the Potsdamer Platz. The staff is Italian and so you can communicate in German, English or Italian if you like. The food is freshly prepared and you can select the starters from the plates shown to you. Have a look into the wine card. We tried two very nice ones: one Amarone and a Chianti from Antori which I can recommend. Of course the Amarone is a heavier one and was correctly prepared with the glasses. The typical Tiramisu is made fresh. When we had our dinner with friends there were also truffles available. But also the Ossobuco is fine.
We left after 11 p.m. and still there were some people arriving shortly before.
You have to make a reservation. www.ristorante-peppone.de

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good but there are better in Berlin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Peppone on a Thursday night was two thirds full, and with the exception of one family with two children, all fairly mature couples, which contributed to a slightly subdued atmosphere, in contrast to the nearby Essenza (see separate review). Previous reviews had criticised the service, though on this evening, apart from a rather formal start, the staff were relatively friendly. The wine list was pricey - our pleasant but not outstanding Sardinian red was 39 Euro - but the menu was varied and not overly expensive. We had mushroom based starters, with the thinly sliced cold combination with celery and parmesan better than the warm shitake. For main, the truffle pasta was good; the green spaghetti with capers and chilli rather dominated by capers and olive oil. 107 Euro without dessert and before tip (the water a relative Berlin bargain at 5 Euro) was rather more than the meal merited, so despite an enjoyable evening, we will look to try other Italian restaurants next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sophisticated food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Elegant interior (don't let the street location fool you) Discreet, helpful staff and lovely wine and food. Not cheap but worth it for a special evening!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty and innovative Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the Ritz Carlton,so this was only a 5 minute walk away
It was a beautiful summer's evening so I sat outside. I was dining alone on a Saturday evening but was made to feel very welcome.
I had tomato and mozzerella salad to start, which was very fresh and tasty. I followed with gnocchi with a tomato and basil sauce, which was excellent
Considering the location and quality of the food, the price was very reasonable

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Peppone also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Ristorante Peppone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Peppone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.