We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far the restaurant in Berlin that comes closes to eating in Italy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Peppone

Ristorante Peppone
Leipziger Platz 15, 10117 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 22488156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 5,978 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So far the restaurant in Berlin that comes closes to eating in Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been looking for real Italian food for a while in Berlin and this restaurant really serves it. Great food and very nice people. It is just a bit high priced, Italian food with German prices!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were in Berlin on business and ended up eating at Peppone 3 times ! Basically we all fell in love with the service, the food, the wine and the atmosphere. The food is fabulous and the staff went out of their way to be of assistance. We tried other restaurants in this central part of Berlin but none of them compared to the experience and quality of Peppone. My tip is the Figs !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Good food; mediocre service for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I went with a friend to celebrate a special occasion. We ordered the beef carpaccio (tasty, small and had to ask for more parmesan and aurugula as they skimped on them, 14?) and a nice white wine recommended by the waiter (28?, good wine). We got a simple and tiny bread basket (untasty bread, seems old) which we only got with olive oil and balsamic vinegar after we asked for it. They did not refill our the bread basket or wine glasses unless we called them.

For the main meal we ordered buccatini amatriciana (16.5?, nice, not groundshaking) and the fettucini con tartufo (wonderful, but arrived a bit cold, 22?). We enjoyed the food, even though the portions were not large. The staff never asked how is the food, an we had to ask for parmesan cheese a it was not offered. To finish, an espresso and a cappucino (3.5?) were good.

I left the restaurant happy, as the wine surely helped and the tartufo always makes me giddy. However, when you pay such prices for food (around 40-50? per person), you expect proper service. Especially as they advertise "exquisite service". :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, very nice Italian food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended this restaurant to us and we were indeed not disappointed: very good food, skillfully prepared and graciously served. I can recommend the octopus carpaccio and strozzapreti with cream and Italian sausage. Excellent, especially the latter. Good wine and spirits choice.

What did not convince me 100% is the atmosphere: not too stiff, not too informal...just somewhere inbetween, but I personally found the place a tiny bit sterile, lacking of personality. Matter of taste!

I would still recommend this place for its nice food and good service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppone_Berlin, Manager at Ristorante Peppone, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We thank you so much for writing a review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and our food and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner with 3. Very nice designed restaurant, not too formal but also not too loose. Good reception and the food was probably the best I had in a while - and we do like eating Italian. Walking distance from the Ritz. Excellent choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Peppone also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Ristorante Peppone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Peppone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.